We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful presentation, lovely staff and sensational admenities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #43 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Beautiful presentation, lovely staff and sensational admenities”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff here are extremely helpful and attentive. Having not eaten since brunch, Nisha at the bar late in the evenong was attentive, generous and genuine. The hotel floors, with so many seminars attending is still sparkling.
The staff throughout the complex welcome you and are attentive to your needs. Very impressive.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiddHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    1,319
    362
    131
    98
See reviews for
694
760
116
1,774
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,367)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I travel to San Diego every year to attend a conference. The Marriott Marquis is a lovely hotel, very clean and modern, with wonderful new restaurants that feature locally-farmed, sustainable foods. The close proximity to the convention center is a big plus for business visitors.

The only real concern I have with the Marriott Marquis is that as a Gold patron, I was afforded a room that faced downtown (vs. the harbor) and that lined the tolley line, thus heard the inessent ringing of the oncoming train throughout the night.

Room Tip: Choose the north tower for quieter sleeping rooms. Farther away from the convention center but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked this hotel through Hotwire and got a pretty good deal. It's a HUGE hotel that sits right on the harbor next to the convention center within walking distance of tons of restaurants and shopping - really good location. It is a newer hotel and the rooms were very nice and well appointed. I also appreciated the Starbucks in the lobby so you did not have to buy $5.00 hotel coffee! The beds were very comfy, the bathroom nice, views excellent (we had "city" views ie the less desirable side of the hotel and they were still great views) - definitely an upscale hotel. We did not use the pool, but it was gorgeous! A few negatives - the bathroom smelled a little musty, the shower head was a water saver variety and there was almost no water pressure. It was noisy in the halls (a Saturday night, but still.....) and the parking was $28.00 which seems steep (and we discovered - too late- a much cheaper 24 hour lot one block away). I also still don't understand how places like Motel 6 can provide free internet, but a nicer hotel charges to go on line? Having said all this, I would come back again.

Room Tip: Water view would be nice, but city views are just fine. And the higher the floor, the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We go to San Diego about once a year and this time we wanted to stay closer to the Gaslamp district so we chose The Marriott Marquis. Overall the place is nice. It's a very good location because it's within walking distance to a lot of dining and shopping and it has very nice views of the bay.

We had a room with a bay view and a balcony. However, our balcony had a nice big floor to ceiling window that appeared to be the next room. We assumed that the window was just part of the architecture but we couldn't tell for sure if they room next to us could see us from their room or not so I called but the guy didn't know. If the room next to us can watch us from the balcony, that's quite awkward with no privacy. The bathroom was pretty small and the springs on my side of the bed was broken so sleeping was not very comfortable.

Our biggest complaint was the parking. The hotel has over 1300 rooms but the parking was almost non existent. We drove around for over 20 minutes and never found one single parking spot. They must have purposefully designed it so the self parking is non existent to force guests into the valet parking to charge more money.

Overall - it's a good location and it would be a good place to stay if you don't have to worry about parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Ridge, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The Marriott Marquis & Marina was a great place for meetings at the Convention Center (next door) and for "just for fun" touring and seeing San Diego! It is a very short walk to Gas Lamp Square with great restaurants and shopping. There is a light rail stop just across the street to take you to an Outlet Mall. The walk along the along the harbo to to a small shopping area with several good restaurants and a waterfront park was delightful. It is a somewhat longer walk to the Air craft carrier, TheUSS Midway" which you can tour. Another short walk along the harbor is the ferry dock which you can take over to Coronado. The Marriott is ideally situated to see the best of San Diego!!
The hotel itself is just what you would expect in a Marriott hotel, comfortable rooms, updated and very clean, super service, a very good breakfast buffet and a excellent value for the cost! We want to return soon!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view. It is worth it to watch the pleasure boats and the Navy ships pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times for business in the past and recently came here with my husband for a two day visit. I was disappointed to learn that this hotel really caters to convention attendees only, and not the rest of us. Even though i had confirmed our room reservation for a room facing the bay several times, that is not what we were given when we arrived after a long flight. We arrived at about 9 PM on a Thursday night, and we were tired. We had trouble finding a bellman to help us haul the luggage in, and I checked in. The person at the front desk never said they couldn't give us the room I requested. But when we went into the room, it was a room facing the street. That location can be problematic for light sleepers like us since the San Diego Trolley runs across the street until around midnight, and the periodic crossing gates with loud bells are noisy. When I complained to the desk, they moved us to another room, which again didn't match my request. But were too tired to do anything, and we didn't sleep well that night.

It was clear that they were much more interested in the convention attendees. It makes sense since they're attached to the convention. So I dont recommend this place to vacationers, at least not during the week.

To be fair to the hotel, it is in great shape. It's clearly been renovated in the last few years so the sleeping rooms, bathrooms, hallways, lobby and pools were in great shape. It's also a great location since it sits on the bay with plenty of boats, shops, and restaurants nearby. The U.S.S. Midway is only a mile away, and it's a great retired air craft carrier to visit.

So if you're attending a convention, this is the place. Otherwise, I'd suggest the Gaslamp Marriott or the Omni, both of which are nearby. Or if you can afford it and want to feel like a king or queen for a day, stay at the Grand del Mar, which is only 20-30 minutes away. That place is the best and worth every penny.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaimeSommers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We had a small sales meeting and I must say that I was impressed with every part of this hotel. The check in was smooth, friendly staff and excellent service. My room had an amazing view (I suggest you stay on the Bay side as it is quieter). The food for our meeting was much better than other Marriotts. Self parking was fine, the gift shop had great variety and the restaurants were good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank businessmap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,819 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#42 of 278 in San Diego
1,980 reviews
Downtown
The US Grant
The US Grant
#45 of 278 in San Diego
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing