We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful Value and a Beautiful Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #36 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Value and a Beautiful Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

I stayed in the South Tower overlooking the Marina for a conference. The view was absolutely breathtaking, and for no extra price, I got one of the few rooms in that tower with a balcony, which was very nice because I could sit outside and enjoy the fresh air while surfing on the Wifi (they have two networks: Guest, which works in the rooms and you have to pay for, or Public: which is free works in the common areas, including out on the balcony. . . if you don't mind not being able to curl up on your bed, its perfectly fine). I didn't get to try any of the restaurants since most of the conference meals were provided, but I heard that they were good. The cleaning staff kept the room very clean and were very helpful when I had issues (for one, when I checked in, the clock was several hours off, and I couldn't figure out how to reset it, so I left a note, and they changed it for me while they were cleaning the next day). The pool was nice and warm even when the evenings got chilly after dark. Also, I LOVE the Marriott's Orange Ginger toiletries. Best smelling hotel toiletries I have ever had!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,772
    1,221
    340
    122
    85
See reviews for
643
702
112
1,619
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

This is an excellent choice if you are attending a conference, as we were, at the convention center next door. The restaurants in the hotel were very good. We also had a superb meal at Sally's restaurant at the Hyatt next door- truly memorable. Unfortunately we had a room adjoining a large suite in which a group of young women were partying Big Time with a dozen extras. Our complaint call to reception was handled very courteously and the problem eventually resolved.

Room Tip: If you value quiet Do Not have a room with an adjoining door to another room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenGirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed over the weekend while visiting our son at CP. The hotel is in a great location for walking to tons of restaurants in the Gas Lamp District and Little Italy. There are so many places to choose from! Our room was nice, we had a harbor view and one night there were fireworks going off! We ate at the hotel breakfast brunch one morning and it was pricey, no suprise, but the next day we walked to the Broken Yolk. Much better food and price! Walked through the Seaport Village on our way to the Midway. Lots of shopping there. Watched part of the Verteran's Day parade on the way back. Over all very good experience and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scout303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Quick check-in. Friendly & pleasant staff. They were all very helpful & easy to work worth & understanding during a "locked-out, left my key in the room" incident. Clean room, great housekeeping staff. Both bay-view & city-view was nice. Easy access to the Convention Center. Business office in UPS Store is open 24-hours & Boarding Passes are printed free. Room service staff were prompt & friendly; but the food was very disappointing (over-priced, lackluster bland boring taste, and served room-temp [burger was cold, salad was warm]).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a good, large conference hotel, but it is very big and impersonal. The rooms are nice, but not exceptional The water views are pretty and you can walk to the gas lamp district and around the marina. Overall the hotet is very good, but it lacked personality and warmth. The food choices are adequate, but there are better restaurants near by.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1301chadwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for a work conference. Great view. Decent location that is across the street from public transportation. My check in was strange... I checked in with a group and everyone in the line next to me was checked in within minutes and in the tower where our conference was being held. Nearly 20 minutes later I was checked in with a room on the opposite side of the hotel with no balcony.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pklemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Stayed here for a conference and it was great. Great meeting space and wonderful meeting staff to make you feel at home. Meals for the conference we good and served hot even to a large group!

Did not get a view room of the bay but had a nice view of the city. Only bad part as the room was noisy between 10 and 11 or so b/c of the street and train traffic but we got used to it after a few days.

Pool area was great! Would stay here again with work or leisure for sure!

Room Tip: As for a room with a view not a room that looks toward downtown (unless that is what you want to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtoutdoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#16 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,892 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 278 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,463 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#15 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing