We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location but crowded Concierge Lounge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #41 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Alamos
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Location but crowded Concierge Lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Excellent hotel with an outstanding location in downtown San Diego. On/off highway easy to find, easy to park. Hotel was extremely crowded, but it was Labor Day weekend. Great view on the 25th floor, room was well maintained with the usual Marriott touches (comfy beds, refrigerator, coffee maker, numerous cable channels, etc.) Had a dinner at the Marina Restaurant in the lobby which was good with excellent service.

Labor Day weekend meant very crowded pool, very crowded Starbucks and very crowded Snack Bar. The Concierge Lounge was not prepared for the crowds on Sunday night and Monday. Valet parking was a bit slow, but the attendants gave fair warning to expect a wait the following day, which was much appreciated. Warning -- if you are staying on the bay side, music

All in all I would stay at the property again for the views and the location. Not sure if I would stay during a holiday weekend though.

Room Tip: High floor, bay side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dczerkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,836
    1,269
    353
    127
    90
See reviews for
666
728
113
1,698
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,317)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Beautiful property with impeccably kept grounds, 15 minutes away from the airport. A cab from the airport costs $15. Great urban location were you can walk to the Gaslamp district and enjoy all the shops, restaurants and night life,
I stayed at this hotel for a large meeting and was pleased with the room, the service, and the meeting rooms. The staff courteous and eager to help. Special kudos to the chef : the food is creative, visually appealing and good)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I decided to book a Sunday night stay over Labor Day with friends at the San Diego Marriott Marquis like we did last year..the weather wasn't the best last year, but this year the sun was blazin....and the weather was perfect to enjoy the pool, the outdoor restuarants, the service was great and the drinks were cold,,,we went away saying... man that was fun... with a promise of lets do it again next year.
Our room was in the south tower on the 20th floor with a bay view of the point loma peninsula, tremendous, I highly recommend the bay view but the city side view with downtown and the new public library building is interesting as well. Either way take a high room to enjoy the view, but to be honest I only stayed in my room to sleep,,, I must mention my king sized mattress was sloping in the middle on the outside of the mattress, which mademe wonder WTF happened here to make this happen.... i'm not a complainer and by the time I hit the rack... I was dying to sleep so it didn't matter....I'm sure if I had called down to the front desk they would have moved me to a suite for my trouble....
We started our stay dropping our bags at the Bell Desk and headed to our meeting place with the other couples at the Tequila bar and grill for lunch and drinks. Then we headed to the pool enjoying the sun, the scenery....and some more drinks..oh the drinks,,,with the crowd of peolpe who travel with their kids... drinks are a necessity...after a beautiful sunset we returned to our rooms and cleaned up for a dinner out at the Harbor House, which is just a short walk to Seaport Village.
Monday morning the kid scene had subsided with a more open pool area, breakfast down the road toward Seaport village followed by a nice stroll the opposite direction toward the 5th street pier where the mega yachts are docked to view, WOW, the life they must lead..then back to the Marriott to enjoy the pool and the even warmer sun today,,,ohh the drinks were great to,,,what a relaxing day finished off by an early dinner at the Tequila bar,,I reccommed the baja ceviche as an appetizer with the carne asada Torta sandwich..both filling and delicious...my woman loved the weekend and we will do it again next year,,,,cant be beat!

Room Tip: High floors have a tremendous view of the big bay or the downtown city lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Styaed over Labor day weekend. great location next to marina and seaport village. Easy walk to Little Italy and gaslamp dist. Stayed in the south tower, bay view. Room good size, comforatble king size bed with 5 pillows. Small bathroom, poor water pressure. Liked refrig in room. maids cleaned well, no complaints. Pool area reminded me of their Maui property. Very tropical. very nice. Used valet service that was not bad as long as you called down for car 10 minutes before you needed. All in all, a good stay but something was missing. Can't explain but would proabbly try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macdad25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is in such a wonderful area! It is within walking distance of the Seaport Village and downtown Gas Lamp District. There are restaraunts within the hotel itself and poolside! The views from our room were awesome! We could see out onto the bay and also the cityscape! Our room was cozy and clean. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasGal806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel twice and both times were amazing! Hotel staff were extremely professional and accommodating! They really knew how to take care of their guests! Location could not be better - everything is walking distance! Best Hotel in San Diego!

Room Tip: Pool view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetotravel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husbnd and I stay at the Marriot Marquis on a fluke. I had originally booked a room at the Embassy Suites Downtown San Diego. Somehow my reservation at Embassy Suites got screwed up and there were no more rooms available. The rep from embassy offered me a room at Hampton Inn and some place that sounded like the Homeless Inn. I declined his offer and began to cry. Then, I googled the first hotel I could find in the same area. I found Marriot and the rep said she had no availability at the location I requested, but she did have a room very close to it. She offered me the Marriot Marquis and I took it. The Marriot Marquis was absolutly perfect! The location was better than the Embassy suites and the service was better that anything I could have imagined. The staff nearly competed over who could give us better service. I loved it!.....Thanks to Roland and the rest of the staff for helping my husband and I have a great weekend getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shopalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,627 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#43 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,900 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#17 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing