We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the view and accomodations !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #42 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Really loved this place. We originally were not happy when we tried to check in to the wrong Marriott and were asked to move to the "other tower" down the street. I am now glad we moved. This location was much more scenic. I was thrilled to find a great place to run alongside the bay and the view was breathtaking! Got out and walked around the marina and could have stayed here all week and been happy. Had dinner in the restaurant and really enjoyed the food although it was a little pricey, as most hotel restaurants are. The rooms were very modern, comfortable, and clean. Check in and check out was a breeze. the hotel shuttle picked us up on time and we had a short ride to the airport. The best part was we were able to get a very affordable internet deal. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego that loves the water as we do.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank moorekath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,173 - 3,179 of 4,056 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2012

Not just a great convention hotel (which it is) but a really solid all round hotel facility with nicely appointed large rooms, large lobby and newly renovated common areas, superb pool/bar area with access to the marina and shopping at the village, good to great restaurants and well appointed gym and spa. We had not been there in years so it was great to be back at this location compared to other Gaslamp area hotels. Being close to just about anything downtown San Diego to the Marina and Harbor areas was great. If this is your first visit to San Diego then this hotel is a wise choice. Both towers are good with the lower street side floors getting some of the trolley/train sounds but this is also applicable to other hotels in the area. Marina side rooms with a balcony are fantastic and spacious. Front office staff and concierge desk folks are very helpful as pretty everyone else.

Room Tip: Recommend higher level rooms on the marina/pool side and, if affordable rate, go for the balcony. Ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

we have stayed in this hotel at least once a year and have been four years. But this time, we were very very disappointed at the room cleaning service at the hotel during our 4-day memorial weekend vocation.

First, when we checked in, they did NOT ask our permission and put us on their so called "green" program. (the front desk girl just said "by the way, currently we have a green program". She did NOT ask any permission such as "do you want to join this program" ). At that time, we just thought "it's weird"

Next day, when we came back to the hotel at night, we realized that they did not clean our room. So, next morning, we called in to make sure our room would be cleaned on that day. The lady who picked up the call, instead of apologizing what they did, she argued that we gave them permission to put us on the "green" program! We tried to be polite and told her we do NOT want to be on this program because we have a 4-month old baby and we want to make sure the room is clean. She said she would take us off the list.

When we got back to the room in the afternoon, the room was still unclean. So, we called in again to see when we would get room cleaning service. This time was another girl. She checked and told us we were STILL on their "green" program and said that she would take our name off. Before we went out for dinner that evening, we called in the front desk again (3rd time of the day) just wanted to make sure that our room would be cleaned since all the trash can were full.

We got back around 10:00 that night. Guess What!?! The room was STILL not clean and the trash can were full!!! We called in 4th time of the day. They said they would schedule it for next day!

Besides that, the ceiling was leaking right outside our room. They put a sign there showing "Wet Floor" but for 4 days, no one ever came to fix it. It was still leaking when we checked out.

Room Tip: They will put you on that so called "green" program without asking for permission. Plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Grace X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Our experience was amazing! My husband and I decided to spend our 5th Anniversary in San Diego. Neither of us had ever been and we heard great things about it. The hotel staff was so friendly. They went above and beyond. When they heard it was our anniversary, they upgraded us to a bay view. The view was beautiful. Our room was clean and spacious. I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherman557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This hotel works well, balancing convention functionality with luxury.

First some geography. The middle of the convention center is on the bay at Fifth St. Fifth St. (starting at the convention center) is the heart of the "Gaslamp District" which is the main restaurant (all prices), bar and gallery area. The Marriott is attached to the convention center.

This makes the location perfect. 5-10 minute walk one way to the Gaslamp District, 5 minute walk along the bay to the Seaport Village (more shopping and restaurants) and 15-20 minute walk to the Maritime, Midway and Modern Art museums. You could not ask for a better jogging/walking area than along the bay walk.

The hotel itself has very active public areas and bar. The pool area is unusually well landscaped and successfully attempts to recreate a tropical feel. Great sitting areas and bar surround the pool.

Rooms are nice, but not ultra-luxurious. Bathrooms excellent. Reception was chaotic, but concierge service top-notch (thank you Alfredo). Excellent Wi-Fi in room. Concierge lounge was excellent.

Some bay-view rooms are really more partial bay/city rooms. You want a room with a pool/bay view. Normally I like a high floor, but in this hotel I would suggest taking advantage of the beautiful pool area and get a room between the 5th and 12th floor. You can still see the bay, but the tropical landscaping really adds something.

Room Tip: Normally I like a high floor, but in this hotel I would suggest taking advantage of the beautiful po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank art89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a meeting at the convention center. The hotel is directly adjacent to the convention center at easy walking distance. I believe it was built in mid 80s but has had very recent renovation and upgrades, does look and feel very new. I had my reservation months in advance but due to high volume receptionist first told me they could not accommodate our request for a king bed. Upon my protest and reminder that I am a Marriott rewards member we were given a king room in the north tower with a beautiful view of the marina. Rooms and facilities were above average compared with other marriott properties. Elevator service was quick since we were just on the third floor. Valet was pricey, but pretty efficient. You can text message to retrieve your car. We did not try any of the food services. Location is just minutes walking to the gas lamp quarter with a variety of breakfast, lunch, and dinner choices. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pedi-dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

The hotel is located at the Convention Center, and just across the street to the Gaslamp Quarter. So, everything you need if you are in business trip.
I had very spacious room, with the city view, at the 6 level, the bead was very comfortable. The only disadvantage was the city view. Just across the street, in front of the hotel's windows there is tram and train line, quite busy in the night. Even the double glazed windows are unable to prevent you from the train noise and vibrations. So, avoid the lower levels, city view rooms.
But anyway quite decent hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dyava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,149 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#20 of 286 in San Diego
4,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 286 in San Diego
5,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#28 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $233 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Enjoy luxurious accommodations that come with many helpful and convenient amenities, like a 446-slip marina. The setting here at our San Diego hotel is superb: adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter. We are also near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and LEGOLAND(R) California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing