We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent for conference, not great for children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #42 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 14, 2011

We reserved a room for duration of our daughter's conference as we wanted to see her & to babysit 8-yr old grandson. Asked for a room in vicinity of theirs (which was bayview & paid by her company) we opted for the less expensive city view; but upon arrival were upgraded & it was adjoining; a real plus- 18th floor; great views.

Lovely grounds, 2 pools, nice bar area; food was so-so there. Nothing much for younger children to do. There is a playground nearby also the Children Museum which unfortunately was closed for renovations, so can't comment on that.

No comfort foods on location restaurant, need to walk a few blocks to get to family-friendly eateries. Suggest reservations for any place at night to get a nice table & bay view if available.

Room Tip: higher floors, bay view are a bit more expensive but nice. We had 1807 which they upgraded us to in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LILY45AZ23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,992)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,291 - 3,297 of 3,992 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2011

The last time I was in town I stayed at this Marriott and had a terrible experience with the elevators in the south tower. My previous review states that very clearly. This trip I was in the north tower with a bay view king room. Excellent. Elevators were quick if you didn't go during rush hour. But even if you did, if you take the stairs down one floor toward the fitness center. there is no line and elevators come right away. Food was great as usual. The staff was very friendly and attentive. I will return.

Room Tip: You need to be in the NORTH TOWER!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perryspires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

The Hotel was quite nice. clean, roomy, lots to offer. The customer service, was excellant! Every Employee seemed to really like their job and it showed - very pleasant.

Room Tip: The view of the San Diego Bay is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed here for a convention I was attending and found this hotel to be very convienant to the convention center. The property is very large and nicely located in downtown San Diego. Everything is very close and the gaslamp district is just blocks away.

The hotel public areas were very nice, well kept and open. The water front was beautiful.

The rooms were standard marriot fare, however, the views were stunning.

Room Tip: Pick your view...water or city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBFNCNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

While it certainly doesn't hurt to have Gold Status with Marriott, this hotel lived up to and exceeded my expectations for business travel.
Prompt, courtesy front desk staff. Great selection of food and beverage in concierge lounge. Wonderful views of the bay. They let me check in at 11am (early), no problems. Great workout facility. Fun and relaxing pool and pool bar scene. I enjoyed my stay here. I would take my family here and stay for pleasure as well. Great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valor155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Stayed for 4 nights during a conference at the convention center. Location is optimal. Staff is friendly though some verge on obsequious which seems fake. Get a room above the 10th floor because it can get loud around the multiple lagoon like pools and hot tub. Busy when arrived and my room wasn't cleaned as well as it probably could have been. Fine for a business trip not sure about a vacation. Beds were comfy.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorkTraveler27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

It would be hard to top this hotel. The location right on the bay adjacent to the convention center and the Gaslamp quarter and the baseball stadium a very short walk. The hotel has recently been renovated and rooms, lobby and pool area are all very nice.

We live near San Diego and we made a couple of weekend "staycation" stays at this hotel. Check-in was easy and pleasant and we were given a few perks as Marriot Rewards members. We felt very welcomed here. The recent renovation turned out great. The rooms were modern and luxurious, the public areas are upscale and inviting and the pool area has a tropical, relaxing feel. If you get a harbor view room (we were upgraded on one of our visits), the view across the harbor to Coronado and the ocean below is fantastic. The city views are not bad either, looking out to the Gaslamp quarter.

We ordered drinks and snacks at the pool and they were good as was the service. We did not try any of the restaurants at the hotel because there are so many very good restaurants just a few blocks away in the Gaslamp.

Room Tip: For a fantastic breakfast, walk a few blocks to Cafe 222
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 279 in San Diego
5,051 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 279 in San Diego
2,054 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#32 of 279 in San Diego
5,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#16 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $171 - $618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style in sunny Southern California at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Our hotel in downtown San Diego provides an environment that perfectly suits business and leisure travel. Enjoy luxurious accommodations that come with many helpful and convenient amenities, like a 446-slip marina. The setting here at our San Diego hotel is superb: adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter. We are also near Balboa Park, Seaport Village and LEGOLAND(R) California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing