We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, close to convention center, restaurants and ball park!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #44 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 3, 2011

I had the opportunity to stay at the Marriott Marquis while in town for a convention. Check-in and out were made easy.Fruit-infused water was available as a refreshment.The room was clean, well stocked, excellent housekeeping staff! We chose this hotel due to location of the convention hall, restaurants, a boat dinner cruise and walking distance of the harbor promenade. After the work day we could relax and enjoy drinks at pool side with gas fireplaces. Did not take advantage of the restaurants they offered but did walk to Joe's Crab Shack. Easy access to taxis, trolley and the restaurant row.

Room Tip: Leave a note for room staff and tip nightly. You do not know your housekeepers schedule and I like t...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CherylAnnRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,916)
There are newer reviews for Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,224 - 3,230 of 3,916 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great location, easy walk to the Gaslamp district with tons of restaurants and activities;
Banquet services: Varied considerably. Banquet mgr of all was fabulous, some events were perfectly orchestrated, others not so much.
Rooms: averaged size, adequate outlets. Definitely needed more sound proofing between rooms, and see above comment about trains.
Suites- gorgeous view;
Foods- wide variety of restaurants near or on premises.
Aside from the fact I literally could not sleep through the train noises (hotel was full, couldn't switch room), the location was perfect. Only if I could guarantee a marina side room would I return to this hotel.
One more comment for mgmt: Train your staff better. We held 5 events at the hotel and frequently the staff at the main front desk got the room names confused and their locations wrong. I would highly suggest re-naming some of the rooms to avoid the confusion. The hotel is large and with some similar sounding room names, very confusing regarding their respective locations in hotel.

Room Tip: Whatever you do, avoid rooms facing the front street. ( My room was 2152- aweful train noises!)The n...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hope1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I love everything about this hotel. We stayed here in July and it was the perfect hotel. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms at a higher level on the N side are fun
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duffeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Wow--LOVED this hotel. I'm a frequent traveler with Marriott, and this was my first time with the Marriott Marina. Room on the 24th Floor, amazing view, outstanding service, and a STARBUCKS in the lobby! Who could ask for more! :) Stayed for 3 days and really enjoyed it; located in the heart of downtown. Very enjoyable. Now THAT's why I stay with Marriott! :)

Room Tip: Marina View was wonderful; even the 'street' side view couldn't have been that bad!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

This hotel has everything you could want and more, and has thereby contributed to the enjoyment of our trips to San Diego. With its fantastic location, you are able to walk to anywhere (shopping, restaurants, clubs, baseball stadium, waterfront, convention center). The rooms are comfortable, quiet, and very clean. The views of the San Diego waterfront and Coronado Island are second to none. The lobby and other common areas of the hotel are spacious and inviting. Staff is friendly and personable. The food is even good which I scarcely say for a hotel! And then, there is the pool. Wonderful. The pool area is gorgeous and feels much like a beautiful resort in an exotic and tropical paradise. Huge palm trees, comfortable lawn chairs, two hot tubs, two pools, a bar, firepits, a lagoon, waterfalls... what more can you ask for, really? Our only complaint is the parking fees which are quite high. We will continue to frequent this spot for all of our San Diego escapes!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAM314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

A group of us stayed here for a dear friend's birthday celebration. The rooms were lovely, with a great view of the bay and very clean and modern. The property is located downtown so we could walk anywhere. Park once and leave it. What set this hotel apart from the rest was the staff. They went out of their way to accomodate eight of us. They even allowed early check in. Every time we called down to the desk they addressed us by name and sent up whatever items we needed (example sewing kit). We had a problem with getting all of us on the ferry to Coronado for dinner so the concierge set up a very reasonable limosine service within one hour. Simply put, they were exceptionally helpful, responsive and went out of their way to make our stay outstanding.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoCalBijou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Beautiful pool/lagoon area with a great location. Rooms are a little small but nice, worth paying extra for a room with a patio.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerri47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,405 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#39 of 278 in San Diego
2,025 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#18 Green Hotel in San Diego
#18 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $210 - $659 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing