We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Staycation and perfect location for the tourist in San Diego” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great Staycation and perfect location for the tourist in San Diego”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

The hotel is huge. It reminded me of one of those large convention hotels. It has two towers, around 4-5 restaurants, a Starbucks, Roy's Hawaiian fusion restaurant, and a very large pool and bar scene. It reminded me of something out of Vegas (but suitable for families).

I was very impressed with the decor. Everything seemed spacious, very clean and filled with bright colors. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms had real wood in them in full length mirrors on the backs of the bathroom doors.

It’s a great hotel for business. As a matter of fact, the convention center is literally next door to the hotel.

I think the main highlight of this place was the pool/bar. I apologize for not having pics of it; I honestly was too busy drinking pina coladas to remember to take those pics :). The staff is very nice and attentive and its definitely one of those hotels that can cater to the family with young children, the energetic 20-somethings and the more mature ones that just want to sit back and talk over a beer…or two... or three. I admit the largest area of the pool was closed that day so I didn’t go in but it looked amazing.

The Marriott is right on Seaport village, next to the embarcadero and 3 blocks down and across the street from the Gaslamp.

Some tidbits to those going to SD for the first time... the Gaslamp is filled with restaurants and bars so make sure to check that out. Seaport village is a tourist trap but very nice and fun to walk around. The zoo and balboa park are MUSTs. If you have the time (and love Mexican food) check out the carnitas at the Old Town Mexican Cafe. If you love desserts, I recommend you go to Extraordinary Desserts. If you ove burgers, go to Hodad's. Parking in downtown is horrible and expensive but its worth it. if you love crab, check out Joe's Crab Shack. For steaks, Mortons or Loui and Mickies. For breakfast you must go to Hash House a-Gogo. A fun date night with live music at Anthropology. If you love biking and walking, you can get from downtown ( aslamp/Seaport Village) to Balboa and Hilcrest/NorthPark/Banker Hill without a taxi. Also, this hotel is pretty close to the airport and I beleive they have an airport shuttle.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbuglove83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    1,254
    349
    124
    88
See reviews for
657
716
113
1,671
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Checked in this past weekend to a line of cars 8 or 10 deep in all four lanes of the poorly run front driveway ( which once you are in you can't bypass). Check in took 45 minutes with only 5 people trying to check in about 100 guests. Waited another 10 at elevator banks to get upstairs to South Tower room. Shared elevator with 2 dogs that exited on different floors. Apparently dogs can stay wherever they want in this building so look out those with allergies! Room was adequate and clean, but there was no High Def television. Really? is this 2001? Attempted "newly renovated pool experience" with children which consists of about 700 lounge chairs, all oocupied, and packed in like sardines. Both pools was cloudy with filth , oh and on the 4th the large pool was actually closed due to someone's child or dog crapping in it..that left 1200 people to share the "children's" pool with Max Occupancy of 80 listed on the signage. Poolside drink service was spotty, my server who finally appeared after about 35 minutes said I could order my drink but would have to close out my tab. When I asked for a cup of water for my 3 year old, I was told quite rudely "there are water stations by the pool" so don't expect to get tap water or ice from the bar! After 15 minutes my bill appeared and she asked me to sign and close out before I had even received my drink. Went out to dinner and returned to signs indicating the self parking lots were full ( despite the fact I am paying $26 per night to self park) and need to proceed to the valet. Back to the front drive for another 35 minutes of complete chaos, no traffic control, and seemingly 1 valet on duty to park every single car.
Sort of reminded me of the Starbucks line all mornings of our stay, about 40 people deep with one person making coffee.
If Marquis means waiting 45 minutes for everything in the hotel, and paying extra for these amenities, then you should stay here and enjoy your $15.00 in room movie in non high def. I will not stay again.

Room Tip: Stay away,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moholo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I've stayed at almost all of the Marriott's in downtown SD and this is by far my favorite!

I attended a convention at the Convention Center so the location was perfect. I checked in around 8pm and had to wait, which normally annoys me but they had plenty of people working and it was quite busy. The concierge floor was full but I was offered a room in the North Tower one level down. I asked for a balcony and all they had was the South Tower (no concierge in that tower) and I accepted because I really wanted to sit on the balcony with a glass of wine.

The room was great- definitely renovated and had a nice flat screen. I used the gym a few times it is definitely top of the line for hotels. There were more free weights and machines than some regular gyms. The concierge lounge was top notch as always with great warm apps at night and a fantastic hot breakfast. I allowed myself extra time to walk over and up there to visit the lounge. I didn't go to the pool but I have in the past and love it. They have bar service and you feel like you on a tropical island when you are down there.

The cons; parking. I dread doing the self park but also hate waiting for valet for my car so I do it. It's hard to find a spot and annoying (esp being a female traveling alone) to walk back to the hotel at night. I don't see how they can fix this but here's hoping!

Great hotel, look forward to going back!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony in the South Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

I just returned from a quick three-night stay at the Marriot Marquis and found the place to be nearly perfect. The customer service was simply amazing. Every employee I encountered was very professional and accommodation. The location was very convenient to plenty of shopping and dining. I had some extra time and took the boat ride over to Coronado and it was a lot of fun. The facilities at the hotel were very good. The fitness center was open 24 hours and had attendants most of the day. All of the equipment was in working order and there was normally someone handing out water. The hotel also had fresh fruit out along with cold water at several locations. I’m normally not a Marriott person but had no choice with this hotel as my work booked. I can honestly say it is better than most of the places I’ve picked in the past. The bottom line is a nice hotel close to many things and the service and amenities are great!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barryvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Recently stayed here for an event at the Zoo and a weekend in San Diego. Great location steps away from Shopping Resturants and all the Gaslamp has to offer. We love the Marriott Gaslamp as well, but this offered a great pool area to take advantage of the great SoCal weather. Standard Marriott room- nothing special. Tiny balcony (we were in the North Tower) and we enjoyed the balcony. Mini Fridge in room was nice for Water and sodas. Employees were genuinely helpful and nice.

The only complain was average housekeeping (think the same spot on the floor or night table for 3 days and it came at FOUR PM (!!!) both days. As a Marriott Platinum I was a little more hopeful than that.

Concierge Lounge is nice with a great view, but dont expect any "extras" bar wise- prices are the exact same as in the lobby bar, perhaps a little higher given the lobby lounge specials. Starbucks in lobby....but be prepared to wait in an epic line.

Pool area large and nice, but chairs are packed in like sardines....bring the headphones! Fitness center large, new and impressive for a hotel gym.

Overall, I would stay again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ilovelamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed here 3 nights while attending a conferance at the convention center, which the hotel is very convenient too. I was on the 15th floor with a view over the convention center. The room was adequate, nice furnishings except for a cheap plastic toilet seat. The bed was very comfortable. I am a light sleeper, but was never awakened by the train or anything else. I was also right next to the vending room and elevators, and the noise from them were also not a bother. The front desk staff were good, and all the public areas were clean. The pool area was open and nice, but it was in the 60's the days I was there, so only kids were in the pool. Again, from the previous reviews I was a little concerned, but the hotel met all my needs and was better than expected.

Room Tip: Ask for a north tower room to get a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chillinfool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed at two hotels during a week long conference in San Diego. The Grand Hyatt Manchester and the San Diego Marriott Marquis - the difference was night and day. the staff at the Hyatt was ok - the staff at the Marriott was exceptional. The Marriott is new, fresh, modern. The Hyatt is dated. Both look nice from the outside and both have nice lobbies. the Marriott is much more user friendly in terms of gift shops, restaurants, pool service. The guest rooms couldn't have been more different. The Hyatt felt old and dated. The Marriott was modern and comfortable. Oh, and the Hyatt has art in the lobby that makes absolutely no sense. It's just weird ... it might be more appropriate in colonial Williamsburg but on the bay in San Diego. The Marriott was outstanding ... we're planning to return for leisure travel. One of the best hotels I have had the pleasure to visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MI1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,989 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,576 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
Kimpton Solamar Hotel
#45 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina

Property: Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina
Address: 333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101-7709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#15 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
#24 Business Hotel in San Diego
#29 Family Hotel in San Diego
#29 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 1305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up the sun in style at Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina. Unique to other downtown San Diego hotels, Marriott provides an environment that easily transitions from dynamic meetings to resort-style relaxation with luxury guest rooms, 280,000 square feet of meeting space and a 446-slip marina. Adjacent to the San Diego Convention Center and steps from the Gaslamp Quarter, our San Diego hotel in downtown is at the center of many popular attractions including Balboa Park, the San Diego Zoo, Seaport Village, SeaWorld(R) San Diego & LEGOLAND(R) California. Experience grand service and thoughtful amenities during your stay with exceptional dining options, a resort-style pool with cabanas and a bar, spa and state-of-the-art fitness center. Relax at the end of the day in well-appointed guest rooms featuring plush bedding, the latest technology and breathtaking views of San Diego Bay. No matter what kind of getaway you're craving, our luxury hotel in downtown San Diego delivers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Marriott Marquis San Diego Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Diego Marriott Marquis & Marina Hotel San Diego
San Diego Marriott Marquis And Marina
Marriott San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing