We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and inexpensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #37 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean and inexpensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Not the most fancy place, but it was clean, recently renovated, and convenient to various San Diego attractions. Having spent a week at a much fancier hotel downtown, it was a change in style, but perfectly functional and reasonably comfortable. The sink is outside of the rest of the bathroom, which is convenient for multi-person bathroom usage. The waffles in the lobby restaurant were great for breakfast - go early to avoid the crowd.

Make sure to get a room away from the pool and the main lobby - I can imagine it would be noisy in those areas, especially at night with the potentially lively restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buffysnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for making Kings Inn a part of your San Diego visit. We are definitely a different experience than what you must have had downtown. We were probably less fancy but we are glad you were comfortable and happy with the cleanliness. We are sure that wherever you stayed downtown you did not have free parking and probably not free WiFi either as the average for both those features downtown runs about forrty dollars per night in addition to the higher room rates. We appreciate your review and hope you will consider staying with us for your entire stay the next time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    875
    795
    220
    50
    28
See reviews for
713
586
126
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We were here for 2 nights and the location was excellent - a short drive from the San Diego Zoo and other tourist spots. Staff were helpful and the room was very clean. Breakfast is not included but the restaurant in the hotel is great for pancakes, waffles etc (portions are large). The hotel has a decent pool and a great hot tub and provides separate towels for this on request. Overall we had a great time and would love to visit again.

Ps this is a genuine review - we booked through booking.com. Only point to bear in mind is that you may want to ask for a room not adjacent to the freeway, this didn't bother us in the slightest as any noise was drowned out by the air con but may be worth considering for lighter sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and for challenging the accusations of another reviewer. We value our Tripadvisor reviews because they do go through great lengths to prevent fraudulent activity or multiple posts by the same reviewer for the same stay. They actually will not post a review by a guest, good or bad, if the review is sent from the internet IP address of the hotel, for example if you review a hotel using their free WiFi. They are strict policies.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and your breakfasts at the Waffle Spot. Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your San Diego adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

I love the fact that this place has stuck to its retro roots. Great kitsch signage, awesome breakfast place called the Waffle Spot and a great retro Mexican bar/restaurant called the Amigo Spot. Both places are like stepping back in time. Great food, great drinks, great happy hour... Even a mariachi band on Fridays! The rooms have been updated, which is nice... But I hope they keep the rest of the place the same! Too much of hotel circle has been remodeled beyond recognition. The Kings Inn has stayed perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
You are not the first guest to embrace the Midcentury charm at Kings Inn and to express concern that with our renovations we will lose our identity. Fear not! We love that we are not a cookie cutter hotel and in all our efforts both in renovations and how we take care of our guests we will remain true to the character.

When we decided on the direction of the redesign for the hotel we had two objectives. We wanted to create a look that had a playful retro vibe and we wanted to eliminate the English Country Charm theme that had been the focus of previous endeavors and infuse a little southern California into the decor.

We had custom made furniture built from original drawings to add a clean and light look without being too serious. We searched through hundreds of images at the Historical Society to find great 1960's San Diego Surfer photography to use as artwork. We went from browns and forest greens to aqua blue tones to reflect the culture of our 22 miles of pristine beaches. And we chose accents and lighting and even pool furniture to support the design.

All of this and all that is planned is the collective effort of members of our staff, people who know Kings Inn, love Kings Inn and want to bring it back to the glory of its earlier years. Of course, we are also listening to what guests in the 21st century want and incorporating things like raised shower heads, built-in usb ports, flat screen TV's, elite pillows, and adding refrigerators, coffeemakers, irons and boards as in room amenities.

Whatever we do for Kings Inn will be balanced between embracing our classic 1960's lodge design and creating a new vision that for anyone walking through the doors for the first time may convince them that they have stepped into a time capsule and at the same time never slight them of the comfort they have come to expect in this modern era. We hope you visit again to see all we have planned. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

We visited this hotel based on the reviews on this site. I'm pretty sure the reviews are rigged (fraudulent). But since trip advisor doesn't really help in us users reporting that, the only thing I can do is report what happened to me.

We spoke to another couple while we were in the pool area, and they had had the same problem. They picked the hotel based on the reviews and we very disappointed.

Unfortunately, this review will probably be buried by several 5 star reviews soon, done by whoever these people are hiring to hype their reviews.

Negative:

Place is a Motel, not a Hotel, don't be fooled. Look at the images, there's no special service that makes this place look or feel better. It's as bad as you see there.

Carpet in room is dirty (read other posts, even the positive ones say this). It was wet the day we arrived (someone used a wet vacuum). It smelled a bit like beer the day we arrived. It's still smelled funny after that.

The motel has a 80's/70s vibe. Like it hasn't been updated since then. The waffle house is depressing and so is the lobby.

The hotel staff somehow couldn't get the payment through our credit card (the one we used the whole trip for everything with no issues), so we had to pay cash. It's funny that the persona behind us who was being assisted by another staff member was having issues with her credit card too. The staff are less friendly than other hotels I've been in, so nothing amazing there. They weren't rude, though.

The bathroom is small and it smelled worse than the room.

The wifi connectivity is bad. It's very spotty and I was only able to connect during certain times of the day.

The motel is close to the highway so it was very noisy if you opened the windows (thing that you will want to because of the smelly room).

Positive:
Good plugs for mobile devices to charge on the side table, although this is kind of standard on hotels now a days.
Beds were clean.
Location is good.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squalx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hotels can only be successful if their guests are satisfied. All too clearly, we realize by your review you were definitely not happy. This we accept as our failure to you, our guest, and we offer our apology now, as you never offered any communication to us directly during your stay.

Even though from the onset your review appears antagonistic, we assure you that we take your underlying issues to heart. Regarding your accusations of fraud, we do take exception and we hope others will quickly discern the diversity and validity of all our reviews. Since there is a somewhat vindictive tone in the wording of your review, we have confidence it will quickly lose merit when held against the overall positive experiences expressed on Tripadvisor. Genuine and constructive feedback will always garner more reverence.

Onto your comments about the hotel, we are in the midst of a renovation with newly furnished rooms that will still see new drapes, carpeting and bathroom tile once our busy summer season ends. Not only are we remodeling our guest rooms, the lobby will be completely gutted in October and we will showcase a fantastic new design by the holidays. Next on the list, will be updates and patios to both our restaurants and then plans for a pool and patio expansion and a fitness room to cap things off. All this must happen in our slower season and we are going to be documenting the transformation with links on our website for the curious as well as photo updates here on Tripadvisor.com.

Hopefully, between our mostly positive reviews and our ongoing efforts to keep improving Kings Inn our potential guests will not be discouraged by your comments. Any guest with questions or concerns is welcome to contact us directly before booking with us. There is always more than one side to a story, and we are happy to share ours. Even as we strive to be the best hotel we can be we are not impervious to an occasional stumble along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Yeah your feet turn black from the carpet, (wear slippers) but everything else was great. Waffle restaurant was super. Dinner restaurant OK. Really weak margaritas. Rooms are comfortable and very quiet. Pool is great in the evening. Nice blue lights and palm trees as well as hot tub. Would surely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joeboe57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn and for being a senior reviewer and sharing your experience at our hotel. We are glad you slept comfortably and that our pool and spa were a hit. We are also happy you tried both our restaurants. We have great waffles at the Waffle Spot and we are proud of our Mexican food at the Amigo Spot, though we understand if your palate has been spoiled by the rich chiles of Hatch since you are from New Mexico. We are glad to know you would choose us again and hope you do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Was pleasantly surprised at how clean the room was! Very comfortable, fridge in room very helpful. Lots of families stay here so lots of children but when door is closed it's very quiet. The only complaint would be it advertised heated pool but it didn't feel heated. Very pleasant and friendly staff. Asked for air filter on ac to be changed to improve ac and it was taken care of right away! Would definitely stay again. Stayed for 6 nights this time.

Room Tip: No elevator so stay on bottom if you have stroller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thanks for staying with us for six nights and for sharing your experience. We are glad you found our guestroom to be clean and comfortable and relatively quiet. Our pool is definitely heated; we keep it at 80 degrees year round. But when San Diego is in its hottest two weeks of the year, this may not be as evident and we hope it actually serves the general purpose of cooling our guests down. We are glad to know you would stay with us again and we look forward to another visit from you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

We had to wear our shoes at all times, when in our hotel room and had to have the shoes ready, when we got out of the shower, because the carpet was so disgusting, it turned our feet black immediately. Another hotel member was complaining of the same thing in their room & said he thought it was new tar that was tracked in. Either way, it was horrible. Also, there's such a large gap under the doors, that several bugs get in the rooms. Also, they only allow you 2 large towels in the room. You have to give 2 back, to get 2 more.....and they're like sand paper towels. I use a towel for my hair & a towel for my body, so this was an inconvenience for me. The positive's are a nice pool & hot tub....and restaurants onsite are convenient, but it amazes me that the Waffle Spot has about 13 tables, with 6 waitresses and you still get slow service. I waited tables when I was young and could have handled this place by myself, it's so small. The front desk was very friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykitty06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Keeping up with carpet shampooing can be a challenge for any hotel. Ideally and typically all our rooms are shampooed quarterly (four times per year at minimum). There is actually a scheduled rotation we follow cleaning 10 to 20 rooms each week. The summer quarter works a little differently in that due to the immense volume of business and high occupancy we shampoo all carpets in June before our busiest weeks of the year in July and August and again at the end of August and first week of September coinciding with the weekday lull before and after Labor Day. Your comments about the carpet are taken to heart and we want you to be encouraged that we will be addressing the matter.

Harder to address is your feedback about the towels since all rooms are furnished with a minimum of three bath towels and the experience you described is not our practice or policy. Allow us simply to apologize for this or any miscommunication. Service is a major priority for all of our associates and we are sorry if you were slighted in any fashion.

Clearly your experience in our hotel and even our restaurant fell short of your expectations. Luckily for us, you found some redemption in our fantastic pool and the friendliness of our staff as well as our location. Any constructive feedback from our guests helps us to grow and to become better for all our guests. We appreciate yours even as we regret that you never approached us directly with your concerns to allow us an opportunity possibly to turn your experience around. Satisfaction can be a lofty goal when a guest tells us he or she is not happy, but we enthusiastically embrace the challenge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#96 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing