We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent place at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
ny
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Decent place at a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

We flew in late and our destination was 40minutes away so we found this hotel near the airport to spend the night. The staff was very helpful in helping us find something to eat that late. The room was clean and spacious with a nice balcony. I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
We always enjoy reading that our first time guests liked their stay and would book again. Thank you for your review. We hope we do see you again and that you have a chance to enjoy our new room designs being installed over the next three weeks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    795
    220
    50
    28
See reviews for
712
584
126
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New London, Iowa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This is a sweet hidden gem in San Diego! The staff is great! The hotel is under going some renovation, as it is a little older...didn't bother us at all! This hotel sits right along hotel circle, in the middle of huge corporate hotels, but the quiet difference, the beautiful pool- surrounded by Palm trees, protected by a rot-iron fence& safety gates, makes it an oasis in the middle of a huge city! What a wonderful place to spend time with our family (we were visiting, and were allowed to have our grandchildren come to swim), awesome rest &relaxation! They also have The Waffle Spot--yummy food, nice & clean, great servers! Also The Amigo restaurant , we didn't make it there...(kids like other foods) but looked really good. The room was a little crowded, (I said it was an older hotel) but not so much as to make us uncomfortable, the only thing, in my opinion, the bathroom should be larger. I did say they are remodeling....this is probably going to be part of that?? All said, we will definitely stay there again if we ever get back to San Diego! Don't change it too much! We loved it,....the bath was nice, just not big, outside sink and mirror...love that!

Room Tip: (There is no fitness center, ) the rooms around pool are extremely convenient. Out side entrance to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BUSYGIRL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are so happy you chose to stay with us and that even your grandchildren enjoyed Kings Inn. We like to think we have something pretty special and unique here and even with new room designs this will carry over. Bathrooms will not be enlarged but we do have modifications in the works. We are glad you also enjoyed the Waffle Spot and hope you have a chance to visit again and try our Amigo Spot for dinner. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014

We stayed at the Kings Inn for one night since we were attending a graduation ceremony at the convention center. The staff were entirely pleasant and helpful. They accommodated my interest in a ground floor room and upgraded us to a room pool side at no additional charge. Price was excellent with free parking. My only complaint was the room smelled musty, like an old hotel room. It would have helped if they had opened the window to let it air out. Another nice thing about the hotel was, the window opens, so we opened the window and this helped with the musty smell. Otherwise room was simple, clean and well located. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary-the-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your recent visit to San Diego. We are glad to read that overall you were pleased with your accommodations and the service you received during your stay. We apologize if there your room seemed musty. Because we had temperatures in the high 90's last weeks, all rooms had been sealed shut to maintain a cool temperature for arriving guests and this may have been a factor. Fortunately, as you acknowledged, we have fantastic and easy to use windows on the front and back of the majority of our rooms which makes it easy to create a nice breeze of fresh air. We look forward to having you as a guest your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

PROS: Staff were very professional, personable and helpful with all requests and questions. Rooms were clean with fresh sheets each day. Mattresses were firm and gave good back support. Outdoor area including pool was clean and well maintained. Air conditioning cooled the room very well. Good food at reasonable price at their Waffle Spot restaurant.

CONS: Shower and bath water running through pipes from upstairs was noisy and could be heard through walls and ceiling. Other mechanical noises could be heard through the walls and were disturbing at night while trying to sleep. I recommend that the hotel provide floor fans to each room which could be run at night creating "white noise" which would drown out the other nuisance noises.

Room Tip: Any room adjacent to the pool is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We were happy you chose Kings Inn for your Grandpa/Grandson spring break. It was nice having you and Adrian with us. Thank you for your review, both pros and cons. We can only get better when we hear where we need to improve. Because our plumbing is stacked room over room, the second floor would have fewer issues should you choose to stay with us again. Our maintenance will inspect your particular room to see what else can be done to make it quieter for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I stayed at the Kings Inn Hotel Circle and, what really impressed me was the customer service. The Front Desk Staff are very polite and kind. My rooms was very small, didn't really like the idea of walking in and the first thing I found is the restroom by my door, I thought I was entering a Rest room. Comfortable bed and enough to sleep comfortable when traveling on a budget, but the most important thing is the customer service that the hotel provided. The Kings Inn is a great sample of what customer service is about. Keep going this way and you will be getting customers back as I will. Thank you for excellent Service! Also the restaurant the have on property is famous for the Waffles, customer service was excellent too.

Joab Flores

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OCWelccomeCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for your review and for recognizing our staff for their excellent service.We like to think we have something pretty special here at Kings Inn. And it will be getting even better when our new room furniture arrives in the next two weeks. But our friendly staff are truly the jewels in our crown at Kings Inn. In regards to your room, on your next visit you can request a room that has the restroom on the back and not at the entrance. We actually only have a handful of rooms with the layout that you had so that will be an easy adjustment to better suit your tastes. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I was in San Diego for a convention and needed a quiet place to stay the night before the convention began so I could write and unwind from the drive. King's Inn proved to be an ideal place to stay. The two restaurants both had good food. The waiter at the Amigo Spot went out of his way to make sure I was well cared for and provided excellent recommendations. The room itself was pleasant and quiet with a nice balcony and plenty of room. The air conditioner worked well, which was a relief after a long drive. My only concern about the hotel was that I didn't see any sign of an elevator and all the rooms appeared to be upstairs. This would clearly be an issue for anyone with disabilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are glad to hear you were as comfortable at Kings Inn as you were in the more expensive hotels downtown. Thank you for your review and for mentioning your server in the Amigo Spot. The room you had was one of only a few with private balconies that can only be negotiated directly with our hotel reservations. Though all those rooms are upstairs, 40% of our traditional rooms are ground floor and we are happy to block them for any guest uncomfortable climbing one flight of stairs. We hope you will consider us for your next conference stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days. After a long flight and drive I was greeted by a very helpful and friendly Jacob who went out of his way to help us. This is a budget hotel with quality service and wonderful value. Both restaurants on premise has great food. We were very happy with our stay.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joyce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for staying at Kings Inn and for sharing your experience. We are happy to see that Jacob gave you a warm reception and the both restaurants provided great dining experiences. We hope now that you have tried our independent hotel, you will consider staying with us anytime you return to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#95 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing