We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #26 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 8, 2014

I was surprised by the number of hotels in San Diego and the ranking of Kings Inn so that very fact drew me in. My main purpose for the trip to San Diego was for a training so I knew I would not really be in the hotel for any great length of time except to sleep. Because of this reason, I chose the hotel based on it's ranking and pricing. I am glad that I did as it served it's purpose.
The hotel is an older hotel, somewhat tired and worn (and smelly) although there is an obvious attempt to keep it looking attractive. However when you first walk into the lobby, you are hit with an odor typically found in old hotels. The carpet is well worn... well you get the picture. With that aside, the hotel actually has some pluses. It's great value, and my room was very clean (although a lingering "old & musty" odor and the bathtub had a little bit of mold). It is a very busy hotel and you basically park at your door (unless someone has take that spot). But even with it being busy, I did not notice a high level of noise. Not even from the room upstairs. The only time I really "heard" the noise is when someone was running on the balcony above. So that made for a good sleep. The bed was firm with a good choice of pillows. Both the room and bathroom was clean. The worst part of this room was the carpet. That and the odor are my biggest complaints. I was in the room for 4 nights and despite the smell, I would definitely use this hotel again for the purpose of sleeping only. Why? Because the price was extremely good and I knew that I would be spending very little time there. It also had a small fridge, blow-dryer and it's quieter then many other hotels I've been in. So I give Kings Inn credit for keeping the prices down while maintaining a clean hotel. Now if they could do something about the "old/musty" smell then I'd give it a 5 star rating. If you can deal with an older, musty smelling hotel then I highly recommend for its value, comfort and quietness (well at least in my room area).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abqnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

We appreciate you. We appreciate that you took the time to research on Tripadvisor and decided to try Kings Inn based on our reviews. We are glad that overall, we lived up to the reputation established by our guest reviews. And we thank you for taking the time to share the good, the bad and the ugly in your review. Usually, our response is that we can only get better when we know where our deficits are. Now we have every confidence we will be a better hotel.

In 2014, we are embarking on a year long transformation that addresses many of the less than stellar facets of our 50 year old property. Currently, we are working outside, with a newly paved parking lot, resurfaced walkways and stairs and a refreshed pool area complete with new furniture due in March.

In our rooms, we will be repainting, tiling out bathrooms, changing drapery and furniture in time for our summer season. In addition, new carpets will be installed in rooms over the next 18 months and this will definitely make our rooms more comfortable, offering not only a fresh look but a helping with the aged feel (and smell).

Our lobby will be seeing a complete redesign in the fall, and we are looking forward to showcasing a warm and welcoming lobby with many contemporary comforts like a complimentary guest office, comfortable seating and lounging areas, and a mini mart kiosk for essentials like soft drinks, snacks and sundries as well as fun gift ideas.

We are glad you decided to stay with us and look forward to your future visits. We are truly excited to share all of our progress with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,563 - 1,569 of 2,304 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful stay at Kings Inn San Diego - October 2013. We were greeted warmly by the manager when I called to confirm our reservation. Upon arrival - we experienced the same warm reception by the manager. We stayed for 4 nights and enjoyed a clean, comfortable hotel with a very convenient location. During our stay, we ate at The Amigo Spot two evenings - rib special (absolutely delicious) and traditional Mexican cuisine. The bar staff were friendly and by the second visit - knew that we would enjoy a Margarita (we had two drinks the previous night - so, we weren't known for our big liquor bill). We at at The Waffle Spot 2 mornings and were delighted with the home-style food and friendly staff.
I happened to mention to the manager that it was John's 60th birthday. The staff surprised us by posting a Happy 60th Birthday greeting on the marquee for the weekend.
I would definitely recommend King Inns to anyone who likes to support local business, enjoy warm hospitality, and good food/drink.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jkarrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for your great review. We remember you because we don't always have an opportunity to post birthday messages on our electronic marquee, and usually reserve that for our younger guests because we know they get a kick seeing their names in lights. We are glad that you husband and you enjoyed the sentiment just as much. We are also happy you enjoyed your meals and services in both our restaurants. We like to think our restaurants are awesome, too.
We hope you have a chance to visit San Diego and stay with us again soon. We have great rates and much warmer temperatures than Canada this time of year if you need an escape.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We enjoyed our two night stay, the location is great to visit Balboa Park, SD Zoo and fashion valley mall and other atractions!!
The room was clean but with a funny old-wood smell, the staff was very helpful and since the pool was out of order they mentioned we could use the hotel next-door's (we didn't, it was cloudy and cold) but good to know....

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ericka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for staying at Kings Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad the location was convenient for your excursions and that you were comfortable and well cared for by our team. We hope you will stay with us again on your next San Diego adventure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Stayed at Kings Inn between the dates of January 23rd to 28th and enjoyed our stay. The rooms were older but cozy and clean. Bed was comfortable and outside noise was minimal. The Waffle Spot onsite restaurant served up great breakfasts that we enjoyed each morning! The front desk and all restaurant staff were pleasant and great to deal with. This hotel was close enough to some of the attractions San Diego has to offer. Overall service and value was fantastic and we would stay here again!
Thanks again!
Anna

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We love our winter visitors from the north and hope you enjoyed the escape from the crazy winter storms you all have been getting. Thank you for choosing Kings Inn and for your kind review. According to Punxsutawney Phil, the winter is going to be a little longer this year. Just let us know if you need another opportunity to defrost before the spring comes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Before we decided to go with Kings Inn, read review here and impressed with manager posting back so often. Also checked out their website, very nice one.
We visited over the weekend. Staff was very friendly, and helpful like showing direction in nice manner. very polite & took time with us. The room was small but very clean. We did finger swipe over the lamp shade, mirror & picture frames, no dust at all. Impressive! (watch too much Hotel Impossible!) Bed was very comfortable. The room had refrigerator, we also loved.
A few things I say need fixing are lobby and room had some odor, not sure what it was. and carpet in front of vanity, wish it were tile or linoleum. needs few more hangers. Furniture in room need updating.
Waffle spot had great waffles :) need to try. Inn was very close to Old town and Downtown, very close to freeway entrance. Overall I enjoyed stay. Great value for price.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shigemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

We truly appreciate your contribution to the positive reviews that influenced your decision to stay with us. We are glad we met your expectations and even passed your finger dusting test. Your suggestions are absolutely valid and we hope you will be encouraged to know that we are addressing all of them in our established renovation plans we are executing throughout 2014.

The Bathroom Vanity areas will all be tiled in our new room design that includes new paint accents, new draperies, an entirely new look in furniture, and new lighting and art accents. We hope you will not be too disappointed to learn that the canopies over the beds will not be included in our new design.

Our Lobby is schedule for a complete makeover in the fall when it will be reconfigured and updated with a new reception, a complimentary guest office and small gift and convenience center.

We just finished resurfacing our pool and will have new pool furniture soon. Our lot is being repaved and soon all walkways and staircases will receive some TLC.

We are very excited about all the improvements in store for Kings Inn and hope you will have an opportunity to enjoy them during your next visit to San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Staff were welcoming, informative and friendly. The room was nicely decorated and clean. The waffle spot was a great place for breakfast before heading into San Diego for the day. I especially enjoyed the pool-side view from my room. The pool was really refreshing too! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 169canuck77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

We are happy to see you enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn. Thank you for your review. We hope that you will have another opportunity to visit San Diego and stay with us and look forward to showing off our new rooms as early as May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Over the past few years, we have stayed at Kings Inn and have never had a bad experience. We just recently wanted to get away for a couple of days and as always stayed at the Kings Inn. The staff was very accommodating when I was not happy with the first room due to a group staying in the next room; they upgraded us to one of the renovated rooms with a balcony and even brought us the room key and personally escorted us to the room. The best value for the money; not the newest place but the friendliest.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

It is always great to read reviews from our returning guests. Thank you for taking time to share your most recent experience. We are glad we were able to relocate you quickly and to your satisfaction when your neighbors got too loud. We hope to see you again when we have completed our room redesign in early May.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town Inn
#10 of 279 in San Diego
1,932 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108-3408
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $79 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn San Diego has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Family-owned and family-friendly, Kings Inn San Diego is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing