We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love Kings Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #30 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indio, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Love Kings Inn”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Over the past few years, we have stayed at Kings Inn and have never had a bad experience. We just recently wanted to get away for a couple of days and as always stayed at the Kings Inn. The staff was very accommodating when I was not happy with the first room due to a group staying in the next room; they upgraded us to one of the renovated rooms with a balcony and even brought us the room key and personally escorted us to the room. The best value for the money; not the newest place but the friendliest.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
It is always great to read reviews from our returning guests. Thank you for taking time to share your most recent experience. We are glad we were able to relocate you quickly and to your satisfaction when your neighbors got too loud. We hope to see you again when we have completed our room redesign in early May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,003
    849
    232
    52
    30
See reviews for
811
647
132
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stay here for 2 nights on thanksgiving 2013. Very satisfy, nice and friendly people. Clean room with nice balcony. No problem with parking at all, I parked my car right next to my room window.
Next time visiting San Diego will stay here for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
It sounds like you were in one our upgrade rooms in the main building. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. These rooms are called our 'Superior Rooms' and we have a three room suite as well as five individual King Bedrooms with private balconies along our only interior corridor. In addition, there are another three room suite and an individual King Bedroom across the hall that do not have balconies. Typically, these rooms are a modest upgrade fee over our rooms available online and must be booked with us directly. We are happy you had a chance to stay there and are thankful for your awesome review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We recently stayed at Kings Inn. Kings Inn is a older Hotel but I was very happy with our choice to stay there. Our room was clean and nice. The staff was very friendly and accommodating and extremely helpful. What I really liked was that both days we were there the cleaning I saw on the property was awesome. They were cleaning the small areas as well as the big areas to me that says a lot. for the price I got on this property I was very happy I stayed here an I will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa1111travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for recognizing the diligence of our housekeeping team. They truly are the unsung heroes of our hotel and we are very thankful to have them. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit. We know it gets hot in Phoenix come may so start planning your summer escape weekend early as we are already seeing sold out weekends in June and July.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Staying in Vegas we wanted to drive down to San Diego to check out the attractions and wanted something which was clean and cheap. I reserached the area before booking of course through trip advisor and seemed to get good reviews. This is a family run hotel and it all honesty it was perfect for what we needed it for. We only stayed one night but the rooms were cleaner than I expected and the staff were very friendly. The location of the hotel is very close to the freeway so you we were only 10 minutes away from everything. Two rooms as there was 5 of us cost me $112 which I think converted into £67 which was great. My only objection and this is a small one for the hotel - dont have your cleaners go round and knock on doors too early :( -- If I'm in San Diego for a short quick stay I would stay here again..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joey4815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are glad you were able to squeeze in a quick trip to San Diego on your recent U.S. visit. Thank you for staying at Kings Inn. We are pleased you found great value in your stay and comfort and cleanliness in your room. We apologize if our housekeeping knocked too early. With rooms due to check out, it is sometimes difficult to discern which rooms are still occupied unless they knock. A good tip for any hotel stay is to utilize the do not disturb sign whenever you are in the room and especially when you are sleeping. We are glad that their zealous efforts did not completely blemish your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Clean room, very helpful staff, reasonable food, good craic around bar. Whole place very friendly. Shared a few beers with fascinating vet (Nam not animals) and a Paralympic ski instructor. You don't meet people like that in 5 star hotels. Comparable with a Travelodge in UK but with swimming pool, more atmosphere & cheaper. As we were out sightseeing from almost dawn till after dusk this was great. We stayed 3/4 October. Would definitely go back when next in San Diego. Would recommend if your needs are similar. Need car as out of city centre.

Room Tip: The front faces highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We truly appreciate your review. Thank you for sharing your experience at Kings Inn. We like to think all our guests have a great opportunity for a unique and special experience when they stay with us. We are glad your stay exemplifies this notion. We hope any potential guests from the U.K. will be encouraged by your words and choose our hotel for their San Diego adventures as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marlton
2 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Thanks Ana for your friendliness and help. The renovated room was very clean and well kept. The only thing I did not like was the sounds made by the heater every time it went off. Felt very safe and location was great. If your looking For a safe, clean, well kept place, this is the spot. Restaurant and staff also great. Coffee kiosk was great too. Thanks for a great 5 day stay. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had an interior room which was great! Newly renovated so it was very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank williamz41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
We are happy to know Ana took great care of you during your recent visit. Thank you for your great review. Many guests overlook the complimentary coffee and filtered water kiosk in our lobby that is available all day. Thanks for taking advantage of this amenity. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yellowknife
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Many Pros & Cons for Kings Inn.
We booked 2 rooms, 261 was updated and nice with a Kings bed but 264 (also King) was malodorous and older with a less nice deck, bathroom and room. I think they may be updating the hotel slowly. For the price the inn was great although the smell in the lounge and main parts of the hotel bothered some of my party.
We probably would stay here again but request room 261 if possible or another one besides 264. There is a movie theatre and mall about 15 minute walk from the Inn

Room Tip: Don't book room 264.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
You caught us! It is true, we have recently begun a year long renovation project and because we are at the beginning stages, not all rooms reflect the final product we are striving to achieve. In fact your room, 261, was a design model specifically created to sell our owners on the remodel. It is also part of suite, so it has a few of the upgrades expected for a suite bedroom. But all rooms are going to have a huge transformation in the spring, with a projected completion date in early May. We will actually post pictures here and on our website blog to keep everyone abreast of our progress.

In the meantime, thank you for your review and for choosing Kings Inn. We hope you will return to see the many great changes we have planned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hacienda Hotel Old Town
Downtown
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
Wyndham San Diego Bayside
#122 of 278 in San Diego
2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing