We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anaheim, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend getaway”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel in a great location everything is about 10 minutes away. Room are a great size for families. They have a nice big pool (heated too). Veronica at the front desk was really nice and helpful!! Can't wait for our next getaway to San Diego!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Christy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the trip down from Anaheim and staying with us for the weekend. We are glad you enjoyed our pool that is heated year round. Thank you for mentioning Veronica as well. We hope you will have a chance to get away again soon. And we look forward to sharing all the improvements that we will be making during the first part of 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    976
    837
    229
    51
    30
See reviews for
787
637
132
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fraser Valley
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We booked this hotel via Expedia because it was located in Hotel Circle, had reasonable room rates, and a pool and Jacuzzi. We didn't know it also had a great breakfast place, the Waffle Spot, and a good Mexican restaurant, the Amigo Spot. But what was really outstanding was the staff: friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable. We can't say enough about the service we received, always delivered with a smile. It also was a pleasant surprise to find the Old Town Trolley picked up from right in front of the hotel. A very pleasant stay and we certainly will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morkula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that the service you received from our great staff was a highlight. Kings Inn has been improving our rooms and restaurants and will continue to make some fantastic upgrades in 2014, but we realize what really makes our hotel special is the collection of dynamic and friendly individuals working with us. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2013

front desk staff was super nice and helpful. they were able to get us a shuttle for a trip downtown and to the football game. very nice staff compared to other places I've stayed in San Diego. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdacton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay at Kings Inn. We definitely try to offer fair pricing along with comfort and service. Now that we are entering cooler weather (which is not saying much because this is San Diego) we will have great offers and specials all fall and winter. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Inn at the end of September 2013 for four nights. When I was looking for a place to stay while in San Diego, I looked at this location and was almost scared off by the low price. I thought for sure that it had to be a seedy place. I couldn't have been more wrong. The rooms were clean, well kept and had a nostalgic feel to them, the pool was clean and well maintained as well. The hot tub was great too. The waffle spot in the lobby was a great place for breakfast and the staff was friendly and professional. Security walked the parking lots and the hotel is in. Great location on Hotel Circle. As a police officer, I would have no problem bringing my family here to stay again. Don't waste your money somewhere else. However, if you're looking for 5 star luxury, this isn't the place, but if you're looking for a clean, nice and comfortable place that doesn't kill the wallet, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We really appreciate you highlighting the sense of safety you felt as police officer. Our hotel has always been a family-friendly place and we strive to make sure that safety is part of the comfort our guests feel while staying with us. We also thank you for realizing that even though we are not a luxury hotel that your satisfaction with your entire stay is what merits the high marks. We hope other families will book with confidence after reading your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would back up all the positive comments others have written about this place.

The staff really understand customer service in a genuine way, going out of their way to help. It made my stay.

Just be aware that the place was built in the 1950's, which means its got character instead of being a faceless chain that could be anywhere.

No elevator, so pack light or ask for ground floor room.

The give you discount vouchers for the restaurants, which are ace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodBadNotEvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for truly appreciating the vintage charm and character we have maintained at Kings Inn. We are very proud of our unique design and mid century heritage. To balance things out, we have been adding 21st century comforts to show that we are not stuck in the mid 20th century. This year we updated lighting and added 32" flatscreen TV's, compact refrigerators and upgraded our WiFi.

In 2014, all our rooms will be refurnished and our lobby and restaurants will see remodeling as well. But we promise to keep the unique charm and the exceptional service that already make us a great hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidel, France
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stay 7 nights in this hotel.
Rooms are very well maintained and the housekeeping is excellent.
Highly recommended, great deal.
The Waffle spot for the breakfast is absolutely perfect!
I try solely once the Amigo spot for dinner, it was very good. I take a tilapia filet.... excellent!

Room Tip: Ask room in the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked both our restaurants. We appreciate your seven night stay and hope you will have another opportunity to visit San Diego and stay at Kings Inn when you return to the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Honest Review. The review you need to read and believe. Background: My family and I decided to go out to San Diego once again, as it is the closest Ocean destination to our home in Tucson, AZ. Concerning the accommodations, for a place to stay that was comfortable, well lite parking and secure, nice pool, family atmosphere all around, great house keeping, super clean, easy access to everything, and pleasant check in and check out service. Kings Inn has proved they literally care about their customers, like an extension of their own family. We will be back to San Diego in the future, and this Hotel has now captured the heart of the everyday family man. To David the manager: You sir are awesome. Your staff reflect your leadership. Thank you so very much, Ben & Jen

Room Tip: Any room that accommodates your family. They have joining rooms as well! By the way, the double que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are happy we met your family's needs for comfort and value and that you felt safe in our hotel. We never tire of being identified as a family friendly hotel and hope other young families will be encouraged by your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town Inn
#16 of 278 in San Diego
1,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing