We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kings Inn for Prince's price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
“Kings Inn for Prince's price”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

front desk staff was super nice and helpful. they were able to get us a shuttle for a trip downtown and to the football game. very nice staff compared to other places I've stayed in San Diego. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdacton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for reviewing your stay at Kings Inn. We definitely try to offer fair pricing along with comfort and service. Now that we are entering cooler weather (which is not saying much because this is San Diego) we will have great offers and specials all fall and winter. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    837
    229
    51
    30
See reviews for
788
637
132
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Inn at the end of September 2013 for four nights. When I was looking for a place to stay while in San Diego, I looked at this location and was almost scared off by the low price. I thought for sure that it had to be a seedy place. I couldn't have been more wrong. The rooms were clean, well kept and had a nostalgic feel to them, the pool was clean and well maintained as well. The hot tub was great too. The waffle spot in the lobby was a great place for breakfast and the staff was friendly and professional. Security walked the parking lots and the hotel is in. Great location on Hotel Circle. As a police officer, I would have no problem bringing my family here to stay again. Don't waste your money somewhere else. However, if you're looking for 5 star luxury, this isn't the place, but if you're looking for a clean, nice and comfortable place that doesn't kill the wallet, look no further.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We really appreciate you highlighting the sense of safety you felt as police officer. Our hotel has always been a family-friendly place and we strive to make sure that safety is part of the comfort our guests feel while staying with us. We also thank you for realizing that even though we are not a luxury hotel that your satisfaction with your entire stay is what merits the high marks. We hope other families will book with confidence after reading your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would back up all the positive comments others have written about this place.

The staff really understand customer service in a genuine way, going out of their way to help. It made my stay.

Just be aware that the place was built in the 1950's, which means its got character instead of being a faceless chain that could be anywhere.

No elevator, so pack light or ask for ground floor room.

The give you discount vouchers for the restaurants, which are ace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodBadNotEvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for truly appreciating the vintage charm and character we have maintained at Kings Inn. We are very proud of our unique design and mid century heritage. To balance things out, we have been adding 21st century comforts to show that we are not stuck in the mid 20th century. This year we updated lighting and added 32" flatscreen TV's, compact refrigerators and upgraded our WiFi.

In 2014, all our rooms will be refurnished and our lobby and restaurants will see remodeling as well. But we promise to keep the unique charm and the exceptional service that already make us a great hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guidel, France
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stay 7 nights in this hotel.
Rooms are very well maintained and the housekeeping is excellent.
Highly recommended, great deal.
The Waffle spot for the breakfast is absolutely perfect!
I try solely once the Amigo spot for dinner, it was very good. I take a tilapia filet.... excellent!

Room Tip: Ask room in the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christian r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that you liked both our restaurants. We appreciate your seven night stay and hope you will have another opportunity to visit San Diego and stay at Kings Inn when you return to the United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Honest Review. The review you need to read and believe. Background: My family and I decided to go out to San Diego once again, as it is the closest Ocean destination to our home in Tucson, AZ. Concerning the accommodations, for a place to stay that was comfortable, well lite parking and secure, nice pool, family atmosphere all around, great house keeping, super clean, easy access to everything, and pleasant check in and check out service. Kings Inn has proved they literally care about their customers, like an extension of their own family. We will be back to San Diego in the future, and this Hotel has now captured the heart of the everyday family man. To David the manager: You sir are awesome. Your staff reflect your leadership. Thank you so very much, Ben & Jen

Room Tip: Any room that accommodates your family. They have joining rooms as well! By the way, the double que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benjamin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are happy we met your family's needs for comfort and value and that you felt safe in our hotel. We never tire of being identified as a family friendly hotel and hope other young families will be encouraged by your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield Park, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Long time visitor to San Diego - 1st time staying at Kings Inn Hotel. Came in town to attend a baseball game, staying for one night. Accomodations were very very nice! Management staff was over the top, helped us setup a ride to the ballpark so we didn't have to drive and park. Thank you, thank you for having this service available -it was an awesome! Had dinner in the Amigo Spot - excellent Mexican food for our taste.

We were extremely pleased and will be returning. I was told they are remodeling with new furniture - can't wait to see it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cpayneaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We are glad you finally gave Kings Inn a try and that the service our staff provided hit the ball out of the park for you. We look forward to your return and to showing you the great new room design we plan to install in the beginning of 2014. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Basically just somewhere to rest our head before heading back home after a long weekend. I made a mistake when booking the room and the person in charge at the time help fix it. I really appreciated that. It was an overall easy in easy out experience. Location wasn't too great. It was late check in we ha to drive miles to find something to eat. But overall satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bbgirl0614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy our desk agent was able to sort out the reservation and get you into a comfortable room. Late night dining is not as great of a challenge as you may have assumed as we have some great restaurants (not just pizza) that deliver late and we are less than a mile from Hillcrest and Old Town which are two vibrant night life spots. Please feel free to ask for great recommendations next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town Inn
#15 of 278 in San Diego
1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing