We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Setting, Price, Quality!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
“Location, Setting, Price, Quality!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After a long day at Sea World (less than 10 minutes away) we rolled into this Motel at 1030pm and were greeted with a smile. We had requested a first floor room, and got it. The place was packed, probably sold out. The front desk clerk was pleasant, helpful, and seemed to actually enjoy her job, which is a rarity in most small motels as of late. We parked the car and went into the room. Decent size for 3, the beds were comfortable and the shower was hot.

We noticed a family next door with a couple of young kids, and had concerns about noise. Silence all night and morning. The bathroom was small but served us well, was nice to have the sink outside the bathroom, especially with a group traveling together.

Ate at The Waffle Spot. AH-MAZ-ING. Best breakfast of the trip, just wish we could have charged the cost to our room, to use up the $50 deposit for "incidentals" (which we were then unsure of what you could actually charge to incur incidentals) Check out was quick and easy, and a member of the staff overheard our discussion on how to get back to Sea World and gave us an insider tip on the quickest route.

We make a lot of trips to San Diego, and this will be our new "Vacation Home".

Room Tip: Ask for first floor if stairs/walking are not what you want to do every day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOSinLAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you for your AH-MAZ-ING review. We are glad that you were welcomed so warmly and that you enjoyed your visit. We are very proud of both our restaurants and thank you for trying our Waffle Spot.

The $50 hold is more of a security deposit than for incidentals. We have every confidence it reconciled back to your account shortly after your stay as the hold is released on the day of check out.

We are most excited to see that you will make Kings Inn a part of your future visits to San Diego. Our little family owned and independent truly treasures our loyal guests and with all the exciting changes we are in the process of making hotel wide it will be nice to have more returning guests to share our ongoing progress.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    837
    229
    51
    30
See reviews for
788
637
132
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Ulm, MN
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I brought a busload of 55 folks to Kings Inn and we had an enjoyable 3 night stay. As others have noted, the customer service is excellent. The pool and hot tub are very nice...well placed in the center of the motel in a garden-like setting.
I say motel because you need to understand that is what it is. There are not interior corridors and only one small service elevator that was quite a ways from our rooms. It is a two floor facility so if you have difficulty carrying bags up stairs request a room on first floor.
The location is very centrally located with convenient freeway access.
The rooms are clean, small, and I felt the decor was nice...just not necessarily modern. There was no fridge, microwave, or coffee in the room.
I ate in the Amigo Spot restaurant...good food with hefty portions and great deals on happy hour appetizers! Mention that you are a hotel guest for an additional discount. Waitress was fantastic.
Summary:
Pros: Good value, good location, good staff, good pool, clean, comfortable
Cons: small rooms, motel, 2nd floor concerns

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlumniGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for bringing your group to Kings Inn and for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased that everyone enjoyed themselves and appreciate you sharing your tips for our potential guests as a travel insider. We hope you will consider Kings Inn for your next group in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Working in the hotel industry for over 15+... so I know what's good and what's bad. Like they say "NEVER JUDGE A BOOK BY IT'S COVER": this independent hotel, has an Amazing Staff "Friendly" with 2 restaurants the Amigo Spot and the Waffle Spot that I really enjoy; people dine from other hotels and also the locals.

My room was very clean, bright with a comfortable bed; as we know sleeping is very important.

Room Tip: Eastside Sleeping Rooms, since I like to wake-up when the Sun Rises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. We understand that as an industry insider you have a discerning eye and we are pleased to know our hotel and our friendly hotel staff both passed with flying colors. We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit San Diego and to stay at Kings Inn again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location. It has a very nice pool and hot tube. The waffle spot is a great place for breakfast and the amigo spot is good for dinner. The room was a little outdated but very clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bandit0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our great amenities at Kings Inn during your stay. We believe we have the best pool in Mission Valley, especially because it is not only huge and goes to a nine foot depth but also is heated year round. And our Waffle Spot and Amigo Spot restaurants are definitely a must try. We hope your travels will bring you back to San Diego and Kings Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Staff very friendly and helpful. Waffle spot good place to eat breakfast. Rooms clean and comfortable. Good location. The staff recommended places to go and see in the area. The pool was nice and clean around the area.

Room Tip: Nicely remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beverly J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to San Diego and your stay at Kings Inn. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for the San Diego Marathon. The hotel rooms are very basic, but have everything you need. The pool area and spa are probably my favorite part of the place. Very nice spa and pool area for playing or relaxing. The Amigo's restaurant is good as well.

We paid just over 100 bucks a night and compared to other places near by it was the best value around. I would recommend this place if you are looking for the best bang for the buck.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewakeboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn for your hotel during your participation in the Rock-n-Roll Marathon. We are glad you found comfort and value in your stay and enjoyed our pool and restaurants. We hope that we will be your destination hotel whenever you return to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho Falls, ID
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We weren’t impressed but more so disappointed, the property is minimal in updates and amenities but for the price made sense. I don't regret staying here as the room was kind of dismal but the staff made up for that by being overly helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Lower level is recemended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed that you were unimpressed with our hotel and could not percieve the impact of our ongoing improvements that have included new lighting, new plumbing fixtures, new paint and wall art, new 32 inch LCD TV's, new mattresses and new double-paned windows.

We understand that we have a ways to go to achieve the full wow factor we are working towards but know we are well on our way with exciting changes in progress even now.We are pleased that you did find value in your rate and that our staff excelled in attending you. We hope you will consider future stays to witness our ongoing improvements first hand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town Inn
#17 of 278 in San Diego
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing