We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rochester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Service”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at Doubletree next door next time will stay at Kings Inn. Tried both Restaurants good food and service. Great bar drinks. They helped line up a Taxi and Trolly ride for us. Everyone was so friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our Guest Service Agents are happy to make it easy for our visitors to explore all the exciting things San Diego has to see and do. We are glad to know that their helpfulness has won you over and that our two restaurants were a great experience for you. We look forward to your return to San Diego and to Kings Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    978
    838
    231
    51
    30
See reviews for
790
637
132
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antigua, Guatemala
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Thank You kings Inn,
When I'm staying in San Diego you have been very accommodating by giving me great rates for being a regular, always allowing, me to check-in early, and consistently providing clean and comfortable rooms. Your location in Mission valley gives me excellent access to all the freeways and major areas. Your staff is always very cheerful and attentive, willing to provide that extra attention.
Overall I would recommend The Kings Inn, it's an better value and experience than hotels costing twice as much. Also I really enjoy Happy Hour at the Amigo Spot!!

P. Lawrence
Antigua, Guatemala

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for making Kings Inn your first choice whenever you are in San Diego. We are happy to hear that the service of our valued staff is a great part of why you return. Have a great few months in Guatemala. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I went here with my family for spring break and I have hardly anything but good to say about this place! It was clean, a large room, comfortable bed, hot showers, bright bathroom lights, good price and amazing and friendly staff. The only complaint I could say is that our drawers for the dresser were broken and the maids are supposed to check them after every visitor checks out and seeing that they were STILL broken could mean that they might not check. There's also an amazing heated pool, really big, and a steaming Jacuzzi. Not to forget the Waffle Spot, the on site breakfast restaurant with amazing food, reasonable prices and a cute, homey atmosphere. A great hotel with an old-timey retro feel. You can expect a happy stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the great review. You are absolutely right to mention the dresser drawers. Training is ongoing with all staff members and with the influx of new associates to prepare for our busy summer this will be a great point for us to share with our team. We apologize that this repair was not addressed before or during your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again any time you visit San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We live in Santa Monica, and drive down to San Diego about twice a year, to visit the Zoo, SeaWorld, and friends. We've been staying at the Kings Inn for years now, and we love it. The price is always very reasonable, the pool and Jacuzzi are fantastic, the rooms are nice and quiet, the staff is very accommodating and easy to deal with, and the breakfast restaurant, "The Waffle Spot" is a super tasty place to have breakfast everyday making for a great start to each day we are there. It's always easy to find negative things to say about hotels, but for the value, the Kings Inn is fantastic. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the 2nd floor, at any hotel. That way I won't have to listen to peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KampungboySM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for making your stay at Kings Inn your inaugural review. We love to hear from our guests who have stayed with us throughout the years and are especially excited to have you back to see all the positive improvements happening here. We look forward to your next visit now that you have the all year passes to Seaworld!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, IL
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed in hundreds of hotels including some of the finest in the world and you need to have proper expecations when only paying $50 for a night. Just needed a place near the airport for an early flight the next a.m. after spending the week at the in-laws in El Cajon. Asked for a room in the back and it was clean, nice, and the hotel looked very good for an old school place from 1959. Only problem was the heating system was very loud when it came on and off which bothered my wife and she would have downgraded my rating to 3 stars. Service was excellent, parked right in front of the room, pool looked fine, and the room actually exceeded my expectations for looking good and being clean. Also the back of the hotel is a hill so no noise back there and things were quiet other than the noise from the heating system. A good deal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadaBingosMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy you found a little peace and quiet with us after staying with family. We are sorry to hear your wife did not sleep well due to the heater. We definitely like to hear these comments so that we can address them proactively. We hope to see you again the when you next visit your in-laws. Maybe you can spend the entire visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend. The hotel rooms were comparable to LaQuinta or Best Western. Free internet but no free breakfast. They have a great restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Have the waffles. They are the best I've ever had. There is also a Mexican restaurant that has a great happy hour and drinks for 1/2 price with free heavy h'orderves. We at dinner at the restaurant but I thought the food was very bland for Mexican. Tasted like a white boy cooked it. The pool is very nice. This is a no smoking hotel but they have 2 really nice patio areas where you can smoke. The staff go out of their way to ensure your stay is very nice. The king size bed I had SUCKED; like sleeping on a board. However, when I mentioned this to the front desk, the attendant searched for an egg crate topper. I never got it BUT the very fact that she went above and beyond to make sure I was comfortable, i thought was very nice. My sister had a room with 2 queen beds and they seemed very comfortable.

This a great deal for the money. Is it the Marriot? No, but you get a lot of nice for what you pay for and it's relatively quiet too. I would actually give this a 3.5 rating.

Room Tip: There is no fitness center but there was no N/A option. Go with the queen room as the king beds are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merimedicn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
We are happy to know you and your family enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn over Easter. Thank you for taking your time to share the highlights of your stay. We are sorry to hear you did not sleep well due to the firmness of your mattress. We hope you will feel encouraged to know that we are budgeting for all pillow top mattresses later this year.

We agree with you that our waffles are the best. We are glad you also took advantage of our great happy hour. As for the Mexican food, our kitchen has flavored the menu items to appeal to a wider range of tastes. They are always happy to spice things to your preference upon request.

We appreciate your review and look forward to your next visit to San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel. The rooms are filthy. Sheets with holes, no blankets on bed. Mold on curtains. Mold in shower. The smell alone was just the worst! Parking was free, but not enough spots. Homeless people camped out in the hallways. Didn't feel safe there at all. Staff was rude. Room was not as described. This should be listed as a 1 star hotel. Felt like a hostel. We ended up leaving (and fighting with the hotel manager to get a refund for the nights we refused to stay) and going across the street to a much better hotel for $40 more. This may seem like a bargain... it is too good to be true though. You couldn't pay me to stay here!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danceswithjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The easiest place to start in our response to your review is to say that we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. You are well remembered as our Front Desk Manager did offer to relocate you to another room. When you declined this reasonable alternative she took no issue with your decision to depart early.

We are sorry that you had to go through additional negotiations to have your final two nights refunded because your payment was processed through an online reservation to a third party booking agent. We are confident you were rebated as we received confirmation stating this. We understand if in your moment of frustration, our efforts to follow procedure seemed to antagonize your situation and apologize for this misguided perception.

Beyond that we will appeal to our potential guests to refer to the overall strongly positive reviews we consistently receive from our guests. We feel no need to respond to the mostly exaggerated and at times blatantly false statements in your review. We understand as a general rule in business as in life that we cannot please all the people all of the time. We are regretful that you fall into this category and are happy for you that you found accommodations that met your approval elsewhere so that the final two days of your vacation were not blemished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#93 of 278 in San Diego
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing