We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty and run down!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #32 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dirty and run down!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Do not stay at this hotel. The rooms are filthy. Sheets with holes, no blankets on bed. Mold on curtains. Mold in shower. The smell alone was just the worst! Parking was free, but not enough spots. Homeless people camped out in the hallways. Didn't feel safe there at all. Staff was rude. Room was not as described. This should be listed as a 1 star hotel. Felt like a hostel. We ended up leaving (and fighting with the hotel manager to get a refund for the nights we refused to stay) and going across the street to a much better hotel for $40 more. This may seem like a bargain... it is too good to be true though. You couldn't pay me to stay here!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danceswithjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
The easiest place to start in our response to your review is to say that we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. You are well remembered as our Front Desk Manager did offer to relocate you to another room. When you declined this reasonable alternative she took no issue with your decision to depart early.

We are sorry that you had to go through additional negotiations to have your final two nights refunded because your payment was processed through an online reservation to a third party booking agent. We are confident you were rebated as we received confirmation stating this. We understand if in your moment of frustration, our efforts to follow procedure seemed to antagonize your situation and apologize for this misguided perception.

Beyond that we will appeal to our potential guests to refer to the overall strongly positive reviews we consistently receive from our guests. We feel no need to respond to the mostly exaggerated and at times blatantly false statements in your review. We understand as a general rule in business as in life that we cannot please all the people all of the time. We are regretful that you fall into this category and are happy for you that you found accommodations that met your approval elsewhere so that the final two days of your vacation were not blemished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    837
    229
    51
    30
See reviews for
788
637
132
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Kings Inn two nights. Overall, the place was nicer than we expected. The room was clean and the only thing not in working order was an outlet on a lamp. The spa was well-separated from the pool, so we weren't splashed by playing children, and it was spacious, which was a good thing, since we had company 2 of the 3 times we used it. We asked for extra towels, since they only provided one bath towel each. Both restaurants were excellent and gave good value, despite the poor reputation of restaurants attached to hotels. The Waffle Spot serves HUGE portions, so definitely share a meal. Also, make sure to ask for crisp bacon if you don't want it floppy and fatty. The Amigo Spot looks dated, but the food was very good. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Unfortunately, we were glad to leave, because both of us got up each morning with aching backs. Our bed at home is very firm, but the bed at the Kings Inn was rock hard. I think if they just put a pillow top or memory foam top on it, it would have been much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for a very thorough review of Kings Inn. We appreciate your compliments and your constructive criticism. It is definitely a challenge to meet the exact comfort expectations of every guest when it comes to bedding, but part of our ongoing improvements to our hotel includes new pillow-top mattresses to be placed in all our rooms later this year. We hope that you will consider staying with us again and also that you book directly and specify your bedding preferences so that we can better anticipate your individual needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great location, in hotel row. Price is fair, a bargain compared to what you find at twice the price. Property was clean, beds on the hard side. There was a lot of outside noise (guests arriving) but I didn't notice room to room noise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDave_at_CHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We are happy you found great value in your stay at Kings Inn and that you were overall pleased with our hotel. We have had the great fourtune to be filled to capacity for the past few weeks. Many of those guests are familes with children on spring break who are enjoying our beautiful San Diego weather and our fantastic heated swimming pool, so we understand your comment about hearing guests outside your room. We hope that with our scheduled installation of double-paned windows in the next few months this will become less of a factor.
We appreciate you taking the time to review Kings Inn and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

After an uncomfortable previous night at another local property I was a little hesitant to stay here. I got to the resort at around 1 I tried to check in but was told there would be.a $10 early check in fee would apply. I said I will wait and the sweet desk clerk kenetta recommended me a couple restaurants close by. She also gave me a free appitizer oupon for the restaurant she recommended. I chose to go there and the food was amazing!! Returned after 3 and was given a room. The room was clean, large and was comfortable. A little highway nise but not too bad. Definitely will stay here again. I recommended this property

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannyA23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kings Inn, especially after leaving a hotel that did not meet your needs. Thank you for mentioning Kenyetta and her service. She is definitely an asset to our hotel and your experience demonstrates why.

Our early check-in fee is actually more of a convenience upgrade because of the high demand for rooms and the limited supply earlier than our 4pm guaranteed check in time . This fee only applies to the first night of our guests' stay and can be waived if they dine in our Breakfast and Lunch Diner, The Waffle Spot, prior to room registration. We do offer complimentary early check in between 2pm and 4pm based on the availability of clean rooms. And as an added note, we are considering making this a courtesy upgrade for our guests who choose to book with us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This place is like taking a step into the 70's. The great thing is, the beds are comfortable, and everything is just updated enough that you can enjoy the retro experience without feeling like its gross and outdated. I paid a great price on hotels.com, and I am so glad I took a chance on this place. I don't think you can find a better deal in San Diego. Don't expect the Hilton, but enjoy it for what it is.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldwidemeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you took a chance on us, too! We understand the weight of your decision when you are choosing a hotel for your family vacation and that choosing an independent family-owned hotel like Kings Inn can feel like a bit of a leap of faith. That is why we love when our guests share there experience on Tripadvisor. We hope that your review will help our future guests as they look for an awesome hotel with great rates, a stellar location and full service amenities in San Diego.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great hotel for the price. Excellent location. Front office staff friendly. The room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The only negative was that there was no coffee and coffee maker in the room, which is standard for most hotels these days.

Room Tip: Location near the pool is great, but a bit noisy until 10 pm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtwsjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit to Kings Inn. We cannot take much credit for our location alone, though Hotel Circle is ideally set up to get you just about anywhere you want to go within fifteen minutes. But we will gladly take pride in our exceptional staff who helped to make your stay enjoyable.

It is true that we do not offer coffee makers in our guest rooms. We are sorry that this affected your stay. Years ago we transitioned to a coffee station in our Lobby with complimentary delicious and fresh hot coffee and tea for our guests. Last summer we added a filtered water feature for refilling water bottles. We hope on your next visit you can take advantage of this great feature of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Old Town Inn
#17 of 278 in San Diego
1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing