We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #31 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
291 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“A Great Time”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here last week for three nights off the recommendations of tripadvisor and had a great time. Heated, clean pool that goes to 9ft and a large hot jacuzzi, and a pool area with over 20 lounge chairs and about 7 or 8 round table with chairs. They supply pool towels, also. The room was a bit small but big enough with 2 queens/6 pillows and quite comfortable beds. Bathroom was a bit tight too but had a tub/shower and an outside vanity. Air/heat worked well. Our room was across from the pool on the ground floor across from two ice machines. They have a smoking area outside the pool area with pop and snack machines. They cleaned the area every day too. The workers were all personable and helpful. They have a breakfast joint and a restaurant/lounge with a happy hour EVERY day. And Carlos, the cool cat tending bar, can pour a drink. I think it was 80 bucks a night for the weekend. I'm not a 4 seasons type of guy. This is the type of place I look for when traveling. It's got a vibe. The shuttle bus for San Diego tours pick up/drop off right on the street in front of the hotel. Everywhere you head to in the SD area is hop, skip, and a jump away from this place. A large place with free parking-it was packed every night. I will/am going back.

Room Tip: Best pina colada west of the Mississippi. See you around, Carlos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripperAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for recognizing Carlos and his friendly service. We can appreciate our guests who do not want the cookie cutter experience in their hotel and it sounds like you took full advantage of all the great amenities Kings Inn has to offer. We appreciate your high marks and hope your travels bring you back to San Diego and to Kings Inn very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    945
    825
    227
    50
    30
See reviews for
761
622
131
158
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The room we had was clean, and the bed was comfortable. We felt the people were friendly and helpful. The bed was relaxing and I think the bed must have been new because I had deep sleep. The jacuzzi was wonderful and the pool was heated. Overall we had a nice anniversary there. The Hotel staff recommended Albie's steak house next door. Some of the best prime rib I have ever had. The resturant is old but the food is delicious. I will stay and eat here again.

Room Tip: I Loved the upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delana84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are honored that you chose Kings Inn to celebrate your anniversary. Though our staff is biased to recommend our on site restaurants, we are fortunate to be near many awesome dining options and Albie's is also one of our favorites. We are glad your room and bed were comfortable and hope that you will not wait for another special occasion to stay with us again. Thank you for sharing your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

After the first three days we were happy to book a further week later in the holiday.
We found the staff very helpful, the price attractive, the rooms clean and the location useful for our interest in exploring the city & playing golf in the county.

Room Tip: In a good spot, our room overlooked the pool and was on the quieter (south) side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn during your U.S. holiday. We are happy you enjoyed our city and our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Mirage, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was too cold to use the pool, but we had a great time anyway. Two good restaurants (one morning, one evening) are excellent quality, and can be very romantic. The Waffles are AMAZING, and the mexican food at night is also very good. We had no real transportation, so we took the bus, which stops right in front of the hotel. There is a large transfer center at a nearby mall, from which you can take trams, which are pretty fun. Being in hotel circle, you are either close to a great many attractions, or have easy access to them.
The rooms are a little small, but cozy. Smallish TVs. Service was exceptional, and they were able to make a few custom accommodations for us, time-wise.
As an added note, every morning, you get discount slips for the restaurants.

Room Tip: We stayed on the south side, which was very comfortable, far away from the road noise, and almost fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for choosing Kings Inn and for taking advantage of our two great restaurants. We are happy to know you enjoyed your visit, even if you didn't get to swim in our heated pool. We are fortunate to have a city bus stop directly out front and are glad you took advantage of it to explore our great city. We hope to see you again, perhaps in the summer when you are ready to escape the Arizona summer heat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We have stayed at this property several times, our latest stay being in March 2012.
On arrival the staff are always friendly, and always on hand to answer any questions.
The room we had was on the upper level and was as always very comfortable and well equipped.
We stayed for 3 nights after flying in from the UK, and used it as a base to visit Sea World and San Diego Zoo.
The whirlpool was a great bonus after a long day at Sea World and the children enjoyed the pool, although it was a little on the cold side this time!
The on site restaurant was great, the staff were very friendly and offered a decent choice of food.
Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kings Inn and would certainly recommend it and hope to return in the not too distant future!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for bookending your U.S. trip with stays at Kings Inn. We are happy that our staff looked after you and that you enjoyed our hotel and its amenities. We wish you safe travels and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

this hotel was fine. parking sucked if you got there late, since it is free I think everyone parks there; even Non tnt's. The pool does not look like the one it the picture either. but room was clean, and it served its need. I would stay there again for a one night...

Room Tip: 2nd floor... you can hear the water of the upstairs people if you are on bottom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Kings Inn. We apologize that you felt inconvenienced with our parking. Though not all parking spaces are directly outside the guest rooms, we are fortunate to have a huge overflow parking lot to accommodate all our guest vehicles. Our sparkling heated pool is one of the many jewels in our crown and we are also sorry that you did not feel it lived up to its photos. Ultimately, we are happy that we did meet your overall expectations and that you would choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy, California
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

From the minute we walked into the lobby, I was impressed with how friendly and helpful the front desk was. They offered me directions to all the parks we visited, which made driving easier, since I was'nt from around there. Even though they don't have elevators, they did offer to help with luggage by using the service elevator.They really go above and beyond! The rooms were VERY clean and the hot tub and pool were too.Both restaurants have great food and service as well. I will definantly stay there again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David P, Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Our guest service desk staff is awesome and we love to see them recognized in the reviews. We are happy they made you feel instantly welcome. Thank you for also mentioning our two restaurants and the cleanliness of our rooms and property. We like to think that everyone in our Kings Inn family is a stellar employee and we are glad their efforts showed. We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#16 of 279 in San Diego
1,840 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#91 of 279 in San Diego
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing