We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cali Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kings Inn San Diego
Ranked #38 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NJ
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cali Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel was terrific! Right in the middle of everything. zoo, safari park, beaches and shopping.

Room Tip: For the price I thought it was excellent. Didnt need more. Was 10 min ride to the zoo and close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csk103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    871
    795
    220
    50
    28
See reviews for
712
584
126
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

we turned up in san diego with no reservation and got a great deal here. $50 for the night big clean room, nice bathroom. Great budget accomodation with good free wifi.
The waffle spot was awesome for breakie too!
location worked for us as we had a car, not sure if it would be much good without own transport.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPHANIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL PASO TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and have nothing bad to say about it. The staff was great and helpful with directions and any question i had. my kids loved the pool as my wife and i loved the heated hot tub after a long drive to san diego.Its located really close to sea world and surrounding attractions, it has two great restaurants on site which we only did the waffle house ( really good waffles), and there were several restuarants in the area for other choices. As you read other comments here the only suggestion i have and did leave with them is that the only thing missing in the rooms is a mini refrigerator.that is the only thing missing that i can think of, other than thatlike i said great service, rooms were properly cleaned, and for a family on a budget it was a great place to crash. I will stay here again when we go back to san diego.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBERT V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Valley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

We recently had a tragic loss in our family and I decided to distract and cheer my wife up a bit by taking her to see some of the museums at Balboa Park, San Diego, yesterday. We booked the accommodation at Kings Inn on the same web site where we purchased the Balboa Park Stay-for-the-Day Passes. We prepaid the accommodation and Passes and received a confirmation email showing nothing was due at check in at the hotel (the email clearly showed $0 due at check-in in black and white).
We arrived at approximately 4:45 p.m. after spending a very relaxing day at the museums and attempted to book in for our stay. The staff informed us that they would need to place a charge against our credit card for $25 as a security deposit. We told them that this particular card was “maxed out” and that we would prefer to pay the deposit in cash. They refused and said that they did not handle cash at all and that their policy is to charge a card. My wife pointed out to them that they had a sign up that said they accepted cash upon check out, presumably for outstanding balances. The assistant, Ana, said that they could not complete the check in without charging the card regardless of this fact. I asked to see the manager but was told that she was not available. When I asked why they then had a sign on the counter that said "Manager on Duty", they again just said she was unavailable; no explanation, no reasonable “she had to step out to deal with a family emergency” or something like that, just No.
When we showed them that our confirmation e-mail showed that nothing was due at check in at the hotel, she just said it is wrong and started reading through the fine print to find a loophole. When she could not find anything, she said that the booking agent was wrong and simply went back to her “I won’t budge on this” position.
I entirely understand that they wanted to charge a security deposit to ensure that they can cover minor, accidental damages to a room or property if something happened. I have stayed in a *lot* of hotels, both domestically and internationally and I have never, not once, had damage to a room or hotel property. Yet, I do not have a problem with them wanting to cover their bases just in case and we were entirely willing to pay the deposit, just in cold, hard cash not a charge to the card. Instead, because of their inflexibility and refusal to see reason on something this absurd, we decided to have them reverse the room charge back to our card and drive the hour and a bit back home and go out for dinner to our favorite sushi restaurant instead.
It amazes me how customer service has deteriorated to the point where someone would turn good business away because of a policy that nobody would dare to think logically about with sense and reason. Because of this, they lost a night's room revenue, as well as whatever we would have paid for dinner, for no good reason. To make it worse there was no manager that we could talk to and we were simply turned away point blank. No discussion, no reasonableness, no customer service, period.
Even the travel agent we booked the hotel and purchased the Balboa Passes through was shocked when we phoned them to confirm that the hotel reversed the room charges; the agent said she has never heard of something like this and would be taking it up with her manager as well because it may reflect badly on their services. Other reviewers have posted similar reviews at a different review site about being turned away last year, I cannot help but think this is something that has been happening for a while and they have not seen the need to change it.
We come to San Diego relatively frequently because we live about a 90 minutes' drive north and find it is a great place to go for impulsive, short notice breakaways for romantic or de-stressing weekend getaways. It is a downright shame how bad customers are treated these days because nobody is allowed to think anymore, especially in this economy. I wonder what their policy would have been had we been international travelers using just traveler’s checks. My advice to all travelers would be to look elsewhere and stay far away from bad customer service like this. I am sure that Kings Inn might possibly have lived up to the good reviews on several web sites that we saw, but we definitely did not see it or have the chance to experience it.
Stay away and take your business elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ravelstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco G, General Manager at Kings Inn San Diego, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I'm sorry that you were not able to enjoy your vacation due to our $25 deposit policy but we make that public both when booking directly with our reservation agents or utilizing mainstream online travel agencies. It is our policy to require a valid credit or debit card at check-in for many reasons the most important being our guests' security. This has become a common practice for most hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed here with my 7 year old twins over spring break. What a great find! Right on Hotel Circle in San Diego, close to everything. Freeway, shopping, all the major attractions & of course the beach! Hotel staff was very friendly & very helpful. Two nice restaurants on site. Heated pool & hot tub right outside our door. Grounds were kept spotless by maintenance people. I decided to extend our stay & the front desk beat the online price of Priceline & Expedia. Very pleased & will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenmccann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

dont let the exterior fool you, this is a great hotel for the money. close to everything and the wafflespot is a great place to get breakfast on site. they are in the process of remodeling the rooms to update them but even the older rooms are as clean as they can be. the staff is euper nice and friendly. if youre looking for a good location at a reasonable price this it it

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

This motel is located within 'hotel circle' which provides easy access to everything in San Diego. This is a basic 2-star motel, its fairly clean, and its a place to crash. They call it 'vintage' but I think its just old and sorta rundown. That is, you'll see things that need to be fixed... for instance, in the bathrooms they have motion sensors but the plastic where the sensor is has been broken off and looks tacky. The shower/tub is from the 60s/70s and has some chips, rust here and there, etc. The bed sucks, its pretty hard, and the sheets don't quite fit it, for that reason alone, I would not return.

The room is what you might expect from a budget motel room, just the basics. Old tube TV, 50 channels or so, no flat screen HDTV's here. Basic white thin towels, the tiniest bars of soap and a shampoo/conditioner mix.

Last, there is free parking, free internet (speed is like 56k and spotty - disconnects frequently), and two places to eat onsite (Waffle Spot and Amigo Spot). Both are OK, nothing to write home about.

DO:
-Bring your own bath amenities (soap, shampoo, lotion, etc.)

DONT:
-Bring high expectations, this is a cheap budget motel---if you come back to the room for a shower and to pass-out from a busy day, this will do the trick

For me, I won't be returning, we almost left right after we checked in, and debated it every day of our stay (5 nights pre-paid). For us, our idea of a budget hotel is something like a Hampton Inn, and saving a few bucks just isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are going to be noisy, ask for a quiet room if you care about noise. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lostdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town Inn
#19 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,807 reviews
Good Nite Inn near SeaWorld
#96 of 279 in San Diego
3.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kings Inn San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Inn San Diego

Property: Kings Inn San Diego
Address: 1333 Hotel Circle South, San Diego, CA 92108
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Valley / Hotel Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in San Diego
#16 Green Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kings Inn San Diego 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kings Inn has been serving excellence in San Diego for over fifty years. Located in Hotel Circle of Interstate 8, we are three miles from SeaWorld and The San Diego Zoo and within fifteen minutes from nearly everything you will want to see and do while visiting America's Finest City. Our Full Service Hotel features all newly remodeled nonsmoking rooms, two restaurants and a lounge, a sparkling pool and spa that are heated year round, guest fitness room and over 2,000 feet of meeting and banquet facilities. Guests can enjoy the added benefits of free parking, free local calls and free WiFi. Kings Inn is privately owned and operated and is committed to providing comfortable accommodations, exceptional service and optimal affordability to our valued guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kings Inn San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Hotel San Diego
Kings San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing