We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Jose, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel!”
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Pros:
The pool has a lot of activities, and has a play area too! The staff were very friendly.Seaport Village was literally at the back of the hotel. Rooms were VERY comfy, quiet and spacious and not to mention clean! Great view of San Diego and the marina from every floor. Smores every night down at the pools fire pits. Gaslamp District just a walking distance from the hotel, Seaworld and San Diego Zoo and other amusement parks were a good distance from the hotel. Got a good price for the room! Family friendly too!

Cons:
The sounds of the train horns made falling asleep hard. Wi-fi came with a fee of about $12. Parking also very expensive, but somewhat reasonable, for $1 an hour which is all in all $24 a day.

Great hotel! We enjoyed staying here a lot! Hopefully, we will come back again! :D
5/5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alk123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,250
    2,134
    663
    238
    180
See reviews for
1,451
1,538
222
3,533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Rooms did not match elegance of lobby. rooms were average. could not get a served breakfast, it was all buffet. food cold by time got back to your table. Alcohol Beverages very over priced. Regency level lounge very small for size of hotel. Had a very reduced rate otherwise would not stay at this hotel. Location is superb & views were beyond description. Left a written message for manager & never heard from him. He must not be concerned about the comments of his customers

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, July 28, 2010
Dear NanaArizona,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We are very much involved with all comments from our customers and sincerely appreciate the feedback, both positive and negative. We are thrilled you enjoyed the bay views during your stay. Concerning your guest room comments, we are in the planning stages for a complete room renovation. Also, we do offer a sit-down all-day breakfast at our Sally’s Seafood on the Water restaurant and apologize that this was not communicated to you during your stay. Again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you back in sunny San Diego soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The Manchester Grand Hyatt is a perfect destination in downtown San Diego. From there you can visit all the important sights of SD. The service was great and the room was such a nice place. Especially with the big windows in nearly all directions. I would stay here again...the only negative thing is, that it is quiet far to the beaches.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torben22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Room was very spacious. Impressive views (ours was of the harbor and Coronado bridge).

Location - right on harbor, next to Seaport Village. Less than 5min walk to Gaslamp Quarter. Easy driving access to highways and Balboa Park/San Diego Zoo.

Friendly staff.

Only downside was parking fee - charged nightly and no discount for hotel guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MangoTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Love this hotel. If you can get one of the corner rooms on the west side of the Seaport Tower. Great view of the Harbor and a nice view of the city, pool and other tower. Top of the Hyatt is a great place to watch the sunset while sipping on a martini and eating the wonderful hot crab dip.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelbearAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

We have stayed here several times and can't wait to go back!. Used priceline and have got a room for $75 to $100 a night. The pool area is awesome, during the summer they have movies poolside and a childrens play area, basketball courts, shuffel board and tons more. Seaport village is right behind the hotel and Gaslamp is within a few blocks!! The best experience we have found for a family!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodgerfan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear Dodgerfan1981,
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed yourselves and made good use of our outdoor activities at Camp Hyatt. We hope to see back soon on future family vacations!

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2010

From the outside, the Manchester Grand Hyatt looks like a 5 star resort. The location is awesome, and the lobby is beautiful, but beyond that...yikes! I traveled with my wife and 2 young boys mainly to see some of the local attractoins (the USS Midway tour is well worth the visit). Once in our room (we stayed in the Harbor Tower) I noticed immediately how old everything looked. I would expect a "Grand Hyatt" to be a little nicer than this. I've stayed in much nicer Best Western's for a third of the price. Everything is totally outdated. other than the view, there's not one good quality to the room. So as long as you keep staring out the window I guess you'll be fine. The pool is pretty tiny for such a big hotel. The water looked uninviting to say the least. The water looked like a combination of pee, sunscreen, and chlorine...I wouldn't go in. The coctail service was extremely slow too. In the room, my wife ordered an extra coffee (they give you only one regular packet for 1 cup!) and they never delivered it. She had to walk down the hallway and swipe one off a maid's cart. I am normally not very difficult to please when it comes to hotel accomidations, but for some reason it seemed everything about this place was wrong. If you're planning on forking out the money to stay here, just lower your expectations and maybe you'll find it worth while.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pfitz4pfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, July 20, 2010
Dear pfitz4pfs,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I apologize that your stay was anything less than extraordinary. Here at the Manchester Grand Hyatt we constantly strive for impeccable customer service and providing our guests the absolute best in accommodations and amenities. You'll be happy to hear we are also currently in the planning process for room renovations. Please contact me directly if you do decide to come and visit us again. I welcome your call.

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,322 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing