We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXPERIENCE GETAWAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #27 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 3, 2010

A hotel that provides great accommodation to it's guest. Its location captures the beauty of San Diego, California. A hotel that will service to your needs. On the 40th floor...Top of the Hyatt, is a bar with outstanding view of San Diego.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antram88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,607 - 6,613 of 7,641 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed in the Presidential Suite on the highest corner room in the hotel. It had a nice foyer, an office with a computer, a kitchenette, a dining room, a living room with several couches, table, TV, and Bose Radio. The suite had 3 closets, one off the foyer and the others attached to a divisable bathroom. The bedroom had a king size bed and another large TV.
The bathrooms (which was one large one with a movable separating door) had two marble lined showers, two toilets, two vanities, one large Jacuzzi tub.
The living room and in particular the bedroom had a fantastic view of the harbor, the island and the ocean beyond.
What the suite didn't have was a single drawer for underwear, socks and other non-hangable clothing so one has to keep the suitcase out in the open just to access those things.
The large marble lined showers had no shelves for anything. I don't remember if it had a soap shelf but I usually shave, shampoo and brush my teeth while showering. That means all the stuff had to be set on the floor. One would think that a rail in the shower would be handy to hold onto while washing a foot but there was none.
So if you happen to rent this suite sometime in the future, the claw marks you see in the marble are mine from clawing my way to an erect position.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mongo1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We visit SD several times a year and this particular visit combined business with pleasure. Normally we gravitate to Hilton, but thought we would try the Hyatt. We made a fantastic choice. The hotel staff was very personable and welcoming. We received an upgrade to floor 28 with a beautiful view of the harbor. Package included breakfast buffet which was wonderful. Sunday morning there was quite a wait for buffet (about 25 mins) but they had self serve coffee available during the wait. Recommend getting to buffet early to avoid the wait. The beds weren't the best we've ever had at a hotel, but were certainly adequate. They had a free family movie outdoors by the pool which was thoroughly enjoyable. Location is great, right by Seaport Village and other dowtown sights.. Was surprised by the big tube TV (no flat screen), but aside from being old school we didn't really mind it a bit since we weren't there to watch TV. Fridge and safe in the room are both great conveniences. The bar on the 40th floor had the most unbelievable views in SD. Ordered cocktails and a cheese platter for 3 for about $50 including tip. Within walking distance of Roys of Hawaii (recommend for a fantastic meal) Very long line for checkout, but they had a convention coming in. Check in was a breeze. All in all a very enjoyable stay and we will certainly consider the Hyatt for our next trip to SD. A classy recommendation for valet parking which we experienced at the Beverly HIlton---leave a couple of water bottles in the car when the customer picks it up. For $39 a night (plus tips) for parking, a little amenity would make it feel a little better!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ckatla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

Dear Ckatla,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and were able to enjoy our breakfast buffet, outdoor family movie by the pool and Top of the Hyatt views, to name a few. You'll be happy to hear we are in the process of swapping out our old TVs for new flatscreens. Perhaps next time you come back and visit you will see the upgraded 46" Samsungs.
Take care and we hope to see you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2010

We travel a lot and frequently at chain hotels. This "Grand" Hyatt has the same amenities as the Regency rooms but the property is more extensive. The hospitality was excellent everyone was very nice and accomodating. Housekeeping was spotty. A wad of gum was stuck on the clock/radio which the housekeeper had missed. When we came back to the room after breakfast, the room had already been made up, which was nice. The door was not latched however......which wasn't..... another oversight. The property is well kept, service is first rate, prices are high. We stayed at the nearby Hilton Bayside recently also. Except that the Hilton is newer and has a different feel, they were fairly comparable. We had a discount for the room which was nice because parking and internet use added another $40/nite which wasn't. Had we paid full price for the room, I suspect we would have been less pleased. On the other hand we paid $15 to park for a couple of hours at the US Grant for a wedding, perhaps the tariff to park in San Diego is average.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chingachgook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

Dear Chingachgook,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel along with our authentic service and hospitality. I have brought up your concerns regarding housekeeping with our Housekeeping Managers and they will speak with the staff about the issues you experienced. Unfortunately, we do not own the parking garage where our guests park, and prices are competitive with most properties in downtown San Diego.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your overall stay with us and we hope to see you back again soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

Have just returned from 10 day stay here. Would thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel Fantastic harbour front location Staff v helpful and efficient We had one disturbed night by v noisy guests No fault of hotel but rec'd profuse apologies by Manager next day and compensated. This hotel is probably the best place to stay in San Diego Tower Bar has awesome views. Thank u Hyatt for a great holiday Carol Baillie/John Grainger date of stay 10 th to 20 June 2010

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandCarolanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2010

Dear Carolanne,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you back here on future vacations! Take care...

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Well when you go in the pool and you wear you goggles, you can barely see anything underwater.Drinks cost too much, and they were not that nice.The brunch was very expensive. Nobody was there to put our luggage on a bag cart, but the location was great. Downtown beautiful at night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbbgirl901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2010

No way of proving that it came from this hotel, but I am not a regular traveler and the bites showed up about a week after returning from this hotel. Called hotel security and they said they hadn't had a problem in quite a while, and they would check hotel room...I haven't heard from them since. I wish I had known this before I stayed in this hotel.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
5  Thank irishgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Dear IrishGirl71,
At the Manchester Grand Hyatt, we take substantial measures to make sure all of our rooms are clean and free of "bed bugs", not only with deep cleaning and preventative maintenance but with regular training of our room attendants. When we do receive "bed bug" claims, we follow strict protocol for the allegedly effected room. We first take the room and all surrounding rooms out of availability. We then bring in Ecolab, a third party, to test and assess the alleged effected rooms. If the testing brings positive results, Ecolab will treat the room and surrounding rooms. Twenty four to forty eight hours later, the rooms are inspected and a second treatment is administered. Then, twenty four to forty eight hours after the second treatment, the rooms are inspected and a third treatment is administered. The Manchester Grand Hyatt continuously manages these extreme precautionary measures to ensure our facilities are consistently clean and sanitary.


Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,458 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,334 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $145 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing