We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“came home with bed bugs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #31 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 23, 2010

No way of proving that it came from this hotel, but I am not a regular traveler and the bites showed up about a week after returning from this hotel. Called hotel security and they said they hadn't had a problem in quite a while, and they would check hotel room...I haven't heard from them since. I wish I had known this before I stayed in this hotel.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
5  Thank irishgirl71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2010

Dear IrishGirl71,
At the Manchester Grand Hyatt, we take substantial measures to make sure all of our rooms are clean and free of "bed bugs", not only with deep cleaning and preventative maintenance but with regular training of our room attendants. When we do receive "bed bug" claims, we follow strict protocol for the allegedly effected room. We first take the room and all surrounding rooms out of availability. We then bring in Ecolab, a third party, to test and assess the alleged effected rooms. If the testing brings positive results, Ecolab will treat the room and surrounding rooms. Twenty four to forty eight hours later, the rooms are inspected and a second treatment is administered. Then, twenty four to forty eight hours after the second treatment, the rooms are inspected and a third treatment is administered. The Manchester Grand Hyatt continuously manages these extreme precautionary measures to ensure our facilities are consistently clean and sanitary.


Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,924)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6,880 - 6,886 of 7,924 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2010

The Manchester Grand Hyatt is probably the biggest hotel in San Diego. It consists of two interconnected towers. Due to the huge size of the hotel, the atmosphere is a little bit anonymous.

I had room with a very beautiful view of the harbour bridge and the bay. My room had a decent size and the bed was very comfortable.

The lobby area is quite impressive due to ultra-high ceilings (which is not unusual for Hyatt hotels). There is a bar on one of the upper floors that offers a great view of San Diego and the Bay/Harbour. There is also a pool area which has a decent size.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kolldan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

I was in San Diego for a business convention and i stayed at the Manchester Grand Hotel and i had a wonderful stay. Upon arrival, i was exhausted so i ordered room service and I had the pleasure of speaking with Earl, Customer Service Supervisor. Earl was extremely accomodating, i could not have asked for better. Earl even delivered the food himself! Everyone was very very friendly and helpful. When i am in San Diego, i will be staying at the Manchester Grand again!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laagent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2010

Dear Juan1272,
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about us here on Trip Advisor. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during your business trip! Earl is a great associate and team member and I will be happy to pass along your nice comments to him.
We hope business (or maybe even a well-deserved vacation) takes you back out to San Diego to see us again soon.

Best Regards,

Kristin Spitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2010

My husband and I had a commitment downtown San Diego (we are locals.)
We got a AAA discount included a breakfast buffet. for a very reasonable price. They have this Internet program, where they offer upgrades at reasonable prices,so we got a huge suite (1000 sq.ft) It was wonderful. Our kids and grand kids joined us for a room service meal and some kid activities offered at the Hyatt. The Room Service food not the best,but had great service by the hotel personal. Clean Rooms. Wasn't quiet in the hallways, but then again,it's Saturday night (3am) and guests can be rude! Only stayed one night. Has a wonderful B. Buffet at one of the Hotel restaurants. while checking out,front desk informed us of a local rate. So next time we will request that while making a reservation!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank socalsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Electronic Sales & Marketing Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2010

Dear SoCalSue,
Thank you for taking the time to review us here on Trip Advisor. We are thrilled that you and your grandchildren had a great time at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego. We aim to offer accommodations geared towards children and families throughout the summer, so we are happy to hear you were able to take part in these activities. Hope you'll be back to visit us soon and to take advantage of the local rate! :)

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

I stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego for a nursing conference. The entrance, bar, restaurant and shops on the main level are truly beautiful!!! The rooms....not so much! This is one of the first hotels placed on directly on the San Diego Bay many years ago so I guess it's somewhat understandable that the rooms are dated. The furniture was somewhat older and there was a big tube TV in the dated armoire. For $250 a night, I expected a little more. However, the view of the bay was AMAZING!!!!! I could see Seaport Village, several restaurants, the Navy ships and even the bridge to Coronado Island! Who could ask for more!?! It truly made up for the older room. The windows open and the breeze coming off the water was awesome!!!

The bar poured nice strong drinks. The sports bar/restaurant food was ok....nothing to write home about. I did not go to the pool, or the other restaurants. There is a free in-room safe and a refrigerator.

The other things I did not like: NO free wifi...even in the main areas you had to pay!; $24.00 a day for parking....I guess that's the norm in a convention center area but sheesh! LOL! You also had to pay a daily fee for the fitness center (I believe it was $15.00) but I walked so much back and forth to the convention center and in Seaport Village, I didn't need to workout.

Otherwise, this Hyatt is beautiful, the staff was great and other than the dated rooms it was an overall good experience!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImDoinMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2010

First off...loved the hotel. As soon as you arrive you feel like you made the right choice. A little on the pricey side when ii came to spending within the hotel but San Diego IS expensive.

Location:
Blocks away from the GasLamp Quarter, Petco Park, Water Taxi to Coronado, and the Seaport Village is in the Hyatt's backyard. Wonderful location

Service:
Great service. I brought my golf clubs and they stored them for me for 5 days until I actually used them at no charge. Bellmen and concierge were extremely helpful.

Room:
Nothing magnificent. Stayed in the older tower overlooking the main pool and San Diego Bay. Refrige in the room helpful as drinks get expensive. Buy beer / wine outside and store in fridge.

Amenities:
Spa was awesome. We received 50% off of couple massage because the Padres hit a grand slam at the game we went to. 10% for having ticket, 30% for Padres Victory, 50% for grand slam or walk off HR. Thanks Jerry Hairston Jr!!!! Restaurants are pricey. Sally's Sushi and Happy hour were great. Breakfast Buffet at Lael's way over priced $25 per person. Parking overpriced.. $24 a night . Way to much for hotel guests.

Overall I was extremely pleased with my choice of hotels. I would recommend it if you saved a little to splurge on yourself.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahijoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Nice place, room was nice and the place was clean. The problem was the parking, we came back on a Sat. night (around 10pm) to find the hotel lot was full and there were a bunch of cars sitting waiting for some directions. I understood the $24 fee so I'm not upset with that but NOT to have enough parking for hotel guest is a serious issue for me. There were no conventions running this weekend (Memorial day) so how can a hotel of this size be out of parking for it's guest? Seems odd? I like the room and the place was nice but the parking issue would make me wonder if I would stay here again.....

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank res0wutv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSpitz, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2010

Dear TMas777_8,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed your room during your stay with us.
We apologize for the difficulties you experienced with parking. Because it was Memorial Day Weekend we had a lot more local and drive-in guests than we normally see with convention guests - this caused the full parking garage. At the time the parking garage was full the parking company who owns the garage was offering valet service for the price of self-parking. There are very few weekends throughout the year where parking is an issue for our guests so again, we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay and look forward to seeing you back in San Diego soon!

Best Regards,
Kristin Spitz
Electronic Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#21 of 286 in San Diego
4,587 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#77 of 286 in San Diego
5,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $191 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing