We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better off down staying down the street for half the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
seattle, Wa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Better off down staying down the street for half the price”
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed at this hotel because our conference was held here. The lobby area is beautiful and the service and location were great but unfortunately the negatives outweigh the positives on this one. I think Hyatt spent all of their efforts and money on the common areas because the rooms are outdated, especially the bathrooms, and the windows are dirty on the outside so you can't really appreciate the wonderful view. The tub drain wouldn't stay up so I had to hold it while all of the water drained out. The next day we had ants up on the bathroom counter (and we hadn't had any food in there). we had the same old TV in our house 15 years ago. I agree with a previous review that the valets and doormen were excellent and very helpful in getting cabs and providing information. The beds were comfortable.Overall, we had a better experience for half the price down the street at another chain hotel the first half of the week with breakfast, fitness center and happy hour receptions included!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emtoothfxr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,055
    2,049
    631
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,480
208
3,377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

beautiful hotel. great views from the room of the bay.

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank aopigirl595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego came highly recommended by our meeting planner as the "perfect" hotel to impress a prospective client. I was embarrassed to have organized my company meeting at this hotel. This is a filthy, disgusting and dirty hotel. Rooms are tiny, very dated, in disrepair. Bathroom has cracked tiles, dirty shower curtain and half used tub of tooth paste. The bedroom had filthy, stained carpets, dirty drapes and the windows were so dirty you could not see the $400 view. Beware ... this hotel is a complete disappoint, much like many of the Hyatt properties that are in total disrepair.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown md
2 reviews
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My wife and I spent a 4 day mini-vacation at the Manchester Grand and even though the view was spectacular the rooms could use some updating i.e. replace the crt tvs with flat screens and get better reception. The food was very good albiet a tad pricey. The cleaning satf was very courteous and efficient , the same could not be said for the Bell staff. The main pool was under repair, an email alerting patrons would have soothed some ruffled feathers. Overall experience was fine.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dizgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Although I never had any real problems, this Hyatt isn't up to the standard I associate with the chain. Rooms are average quality; mine was very clean and nicely maintained by the housekeeping staff. It bothered me that the used room service trays seemed to remain in the hall ways for almost 24 hours.

I appreciated the location being so close to the village and nearby the convention center, but the Marriott is closer still and seemed nicer. With proximity comes noise though and I found the rooms exceptionally noisy between external horns (trains or boats?) and poor sound insulation between rooms.

The restaurants within the building have good food but are very overpriced. Lael's breakfast buffet was about $25 per person and had good selections. I LOVE breakfast buffets and will always use one but when all I want is eggs and sausage there sure is a penalty for my indulgence. The lobby bar service was exceptionally slow, so bring a newspaper.

The highlight of the hotel was the terrific doorman staff. They efficiently got my taxis for me and made sure the drivers knew exactly where I wanted to go. A small touch that is very appreciated for an out of towner.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nochmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

The location is great if you are attending a meeting at the convention center. Great view. The food was average, the rooms could be renovated and the cleaning staff could do a better job. The common areas, the lobby and bar were great. There are no real options for breakfast, just buffet for $50 for 2 people! There is a small shopping village behind hte hotel where you can grab a reasonable lunch. Concierge is very helpful and most restaurants in the gaslamp district are walkable, cheaper and have better food. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinamagill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

My husband and I decided on a "staycation" and got a great rate at the Hyatt for a Friday night. It is a great location as it is right next to Seaport Village and the Gaslamp district which is a must for any tourist visiting downtown. The room was beautifully appointed with a wondeful bed. The shower was fantastic but there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. They dont yet have flat screen TV's in their rooms but we werent there to watch TV so we could care less. We had a wonderful view of the bay. The staff was very nice and check in via the web was a nice feature. They had a nice breakfast buffet at Lael's restaurant and good service. This one is a no brainer. Worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,125 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,967 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing