We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lobby and property, average rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Beautiful lobby and property, average rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2004

I stayed in the Manchester Grand Hyatt for a weekend in September. The hotel is incredible. Enormous lobby, beautiful pools, great facilities. However, the rooms are very blah, although the harbor tower has goregous views from the top floors.

Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,996
    2,021
    621
    224
    170
See reviews for
1,354
1,472
208
3,304
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2004

The hotel is very nice, but try not to be put in the seaport tower. We were on the 11th floor and could hear the trolly, the train and a tugboat at 2:30 in the morning. Try to stay in the harbor tower...we had colleagues stay there and they did not hear any of these noises.

The rooms are nice, but lack drawer space and we had to constantly ask for more towels and soap and lotion were not replaced regularly.

It is centrally located...good but not my favorite place I have stayed.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Marcia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2004

Before our cruise we spent 3 days at this wonderful hotel.

We got the hotel through bidding on Priceline at a VERY reasonable price, almost unbelievable!!

We were on the 23rd floor overlooking the swimming pool and a water area where sailboats were constantly sailing and right next to SeaPort Village. Every night there was a fireworks display. A trolley line runs right in front of the hotel that will take you to popular sites within San Diego area for a nominal fee. We walked to Horton Plaza mall and the Gaslamp area

The lobby is a knockout! The rooms were cool, quiet with very comfortable beds and lots of hangers for clothes plus hair dryer, iron and ironing board and a place to hook up your lap top.

There was never a wait for an elevator which quickly took you to your floor.

The only thing that would be nice for this hotel to offer is a shuttle from airport to hotel (a little surprising since most hotels give this perk) and I was also surprised that there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom to keep the air fresh.

Otherwise---I was totally spoiled and there is no question that I would WANT to go to the hotel again, especially if I was lucky enough to bid right on Priceline!

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olaydt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2004

A lot of times I book 4 star hotels and discover I was mislead and that the hotel is a 3 star.

My experience at the Manchester Grand Hyatt was just the opposite. This is a 5 star hotel that is advertised as a 4 star. The lobby is incredible. The staff is outstanding.

They do need to wash the windows but that is aminor complaint.

Within a five minute walk of Petco Park and the Gaslamp Quarter.

Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2004

The hotel is nice, in a great location. The pool and location are is top selling points. I had heard great things about the rooms in the "new tower" but was a little disappointed. The decor is very cheesy. A little underwhelmed. Service was consistently average.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2004

When you first enter this hotel, prepared to be amazed by the grandeur of the lobby area. This has to be the hotel's best feature. This hotel is so big, too big to be personal. It was quite an adjustment coming from Hilton La Jolla, just 20 min. up the road, in which we had a very pleasant stay the night before. The room that was given to us was on the 27th floor and admittedly was very good size with plenty of space, however, the decor seemed very outdated and ugly (dark green flower beddings, the kind you would find in your grandma's house). We had a partial (like 10 %) water view and the rest was overlooking the city, but windows were dirty which kind of reduced the impact of the view. By the way, there is no balcony. The bathroom floor had hairs and we had to call to request some bath robes as there were none present in the room. They took forever to bring them and we found stains on them when they finally arrived. The major disappointment was the swimming pool/spa area. Too small for a hotel this size (it was like my friend's apartment swimming pool) and we were packed like sardines in the jaccuzi. If you fancy a peaceful swim, you need to get up early). We had a AAA deal which included free breakfast buffet. When you enter the restaurant the first thing you see is an amazing gourmet brunch buffet. But don't be fooled, we discovered that this was not part of the AAA deal, and we were shown to a smaller lesser value breakfast selection. It was still nice, but it was like dangling candy in front of a child and then taking it away. Parking is expensive, $16 overnight. The checking staff and concierge were very helpful, but restaurant hostess came across very rude. We liked our waitress though. The hotel is only a few blocks from the gaslamp district and 5 min. walk from the marina. We don't think we would stay again, not for the price we paid.

Helpful?
3 Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2004

It was a great place to stay and everything was right there. The fitness center was better than the gym I go to. People were great and they went out of the way to help.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,063 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,893 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing