We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the perfect location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #22 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Hamilton, Bermuda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the perfect location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My family of 5 recently stayed here and loved every minute of our stay! We got two adjoining rooms for added space, but the rooms were a good size, modern, gorgeous decor and huge bathrooms! Views were awesome! We all loved the pool, hot tubs and the kids enjoyed the games area. The pool attendants were excellent and even remembered our names the next day which was a nice touch. The pool deck at night time was a lot of fun - they were showing kids movies the night we arrived and even had beds set up to snuggle in! And making s'mores at the fire pit is a must! The location of this hotel is great - close to the seaport village, USS Midway, Gaslamp and Convention Center. We had breakfast at Lael's twice and can honestly say it is probably one of the best breakfast buffets we have ever had. So much to choose from - waffle bar, omelette station, eggs, bacon etc, cereals, breads, muffins...even freshly squeezed watermelon juice! Very yummy! The one thing that we noticed was that access from the main lobby to the pool deck and all the room floors was not restricted by key card, so essentially anyone could wander around. This was surprising given the high level of security experienced in other hotels and the fact that this is a major hotel in SD. Could be concerning for guest and employee safety (especially housekeeping staff). Despite this, we would definitely stay here again and cannot wait to plan our next trip!

Green Features: Mini recycling bins in each room and a reuse towels policy.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback as it is very valuable to us when making improvements. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed our hotel and restaurant. With regards to your concerns with security, we have a full security staff, camera system and each and every employee plays a part in this as well. This is a valid concern and we will be sharing this with hotel security to see what other steps we can take to make our guests feel safe. Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,218
    1,738
    541
    183
    150
See reviews for
1,130
1,214
189
2,688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,337)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed at the Hyatt many times. It is always very pleasant. Fabulous location, nice pool, and the proximity to the Gas Lamp District is excellent. The staff has always been helpful and courteous. The rooms very clean and the views across the bay are terrific. I highly recommend this hotel if you are planning a stay in San Diego.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEAN D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Hi Sean,
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. It means a lot to us that you were pleased with the staff and hotel as a whole. Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your trip to San Diego and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Manchester Grand Hyatt far exceeded my expectations. I was staying with my family of four (including an infant) and we all could fit comfortably into the stylish, well-appointed rooms.

What a perfect location! Close to shopping, the water, restaurants, museums, the train. And if you have to be coming for San Diego ComicCon, which we were, or another convention there are hardly any hotels closer to the convention center.

The pool was great (although the splurge for the bungalow wasn't really worth it because it turned out to be an overcast day with plenty of free chairs open.) Room service was timely and tasty although the kids menu was trying to be too healthy for it's own good.

I would definitely put this hotel at the top of my list when I return to SD.

Room Tip: The view from rooms on high floors are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djrhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi djrhoffman,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is so great to hear that you and your family enjoyed staying with us during Comic Con and we hope to welcome you all back to a more sun filled San Diego soon.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Arrived early in the day and our room was not ready but I could understand that considering that we were there long before check in time. They take your phone number and text you when your room is ready and they also check your bags for you so it is not a problem. I had plenty to setting up for a trade show so I got that done and the room was ready when I was. We were on the 14th floor in the Village Tower. The room had a decent view but I was so busy with the trade show, I did not get to see too much of it. This hotel is very convenient to the Seaport Village where you can eat or shop to your heart's content. The room was very quiet and the quality of sleep was very good. The beds are comfortable and the air conditioning works quite well and is quiet. All of the staff I interacted with were the utmost professionals and they were always pleasant to work with. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickZ255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Rick,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. It is a pleasure to hear that your arrival went swiftly with your room and luggage being taken care. We would be happy to welcome you back soon and hope that you will be able to enjoy the room a bit more next time around.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights on business and it was wonderful. Very helpful people working at the hotel. Great amenities and relaxing adult pool area! Bottled water very expensive, but free at the pool and conference areas. Very close to Seaport Village which has quaint shops and eateries. USS Midway an easy walk and we could see it from our room's window. Wish the windows were a little cleaner though, it would have vastly improved the views. I was able to reach out the opening of the window and clear a small area. Look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: We asked for a harbor view and the higher up the better.
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling area in the room for bottles and cans, excellent!
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cee102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi Cee,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the time our guests take to comment on how their stay went and we are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the adult pool and amenities while staying with us. It is understandable that you would feel in such a way about the windows not being clean enough to see the view. The purpose of these reviews is to help us improve our service to our guests and you have done just that. Your comments have been shared with our Director of Housekeeping to ensure there is proper cleaning of the hotel windows regularly.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
springfield, mo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Before my stay at this property I had read some reviews warning of the standards of this hotel. I was hopeful that I wouldn't be disappointed in my stay but I was as a result of the lack of housekeeping standards I experienced.

My main complaints are that the room had no safe when I looked in the closet. It took several calls and people visiting the room to determine that Yes..there was no safe in the room..and no explanations as to why it was missing.

There was a partially used water bottle in the safe upon check in.

There was a dirty towel and opened soaps in the bathroom. I almost thought i had entered an occupied room as a result of all of these problems, however I was wrong. It was just a major lack of housekeeping.

The hotel itself is very upscale. The public spaces are large and spacious. The breakfast in the restaurant was included in my room fee and was ok. The restaurant fills up quickly so be prepared to wait if your not there when they open. The staff in the restaurant was overall very friendly and the juices were great. The selections were ok and it's disappointing they have two levels of buffet .. meaning you can pay less and get a smaller selection on the buffet. Not sure it would be worth the price if it wasn't included in my room.

For me, I would not stay here again due to the housekeeping problem. There are many options in the area and I would try another hotel before risking it at this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Marketing Coordinator at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hi David,

We do sincerely apologize for the condition your room was in upon your arrival. I have shared your comments with the Director of Housekeeping so that he communicates to his team that this is unacceptable and to ensure that it will never happen again. We can assure you that this is not a regular occurrence at our hotel and are very sorry for the unpleasant experience you had.

We understand that you are displeased with the service you were given and hope that you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you by welcoming you back again. Thank you for your feedback; it has been shared with the appropriate departments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately we only visited this hotel one night at our "California tour" - it was very nice! We arrived quite late and got very good service, and rooms connected to each other - perfect for our family! We liked the rooms a lot, clean, fresh, large rooms with very comfortable beds. Eat a late dinner, good food and serviceminded staff! Like to come back!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Åsa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Åsa. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed out hotel this past July. It is important to us to do our very best in accommodating to you and your family’s needs while staying with us and we are glad you appreciated our services. Thank you again for your thoughtful review and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#9 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,645 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,141 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#25 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing