We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - even for a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #27 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We needed a hotel for just one night before moving on to another location in San Diego and got a great last minute rate at this hotel. It was very easy to get to from the airport which was a bonus since our flight was late and we were all starving. The location is perfect for walking to many shops and restaurants. It's close to Downtown San Diego and the Gaslamp District. We found great food right across the street at The Headquarters. The room was comfy with 2 queen beds. We had a room in the Seaport tower - looking out to the bay and Seaport Village. Great views at night. We enjoyed s'mores by the fire pits on the 4th floor pool area. There are great kids games and activities in the "backyard" area also on the pool level. These were free and kept us entertained for a while. The hotel is big so it didn't feel too crowded even though there were conferences going on in the meeting areas. We would go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Bay views in the Seaport Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oatmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

What a lovely review. We are absolutely delighted to hear you and your family enjoyed staying with us this past July. There is so much for families to experience at our hotel, let alone downtown San Diego. Our “backyard” and Camp Hyatt are perfect for parents to bring the kids to make new friends and play fun games in the sun. Parents can escape to the adult’s only pool if they want to get some peace and quiet, otherwise the 4th floor pool deck is for everyone to enjoy. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and others, as well choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back for more fun in the sun soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,641)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,679 - 4,685 of 7,641 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2014

Hotel is mainly a convention hotel. 2 towers mega place with many rooms. This was a pleasure girls trip, & we had a really wonderful huge suite with access to the club floor, which made the place seem more like a B&B, but very large with good amenities. If you have access to the club lounge, then stay at the tower of the lounge. If you get a suite, ours had 1,500 sq ft, a beautiful large living area with amazing view, and 2 connecting bedrooms, 1 on each side. There is a glitch in that gorgeous room, and it is the elevator noise. Even though the room does not appear to be next to the elevator, the electrical motor, which at first doesn't sound like the elevator, continues and persists all day and all night long, even though I had wax ear plugs :). As this hotel is very busy, this configuration of rooms is not readily available. There were no rooms to move to. If you are attending a convention, this hotel is probably fantastic. The location is pretty convenient to visiting the midway, & most other sights are close. The shopping village next door is great, and there are lots of places to eat within walking distance. Uber works really well in San Diego. I am only suggesting that if you have any special needs, convey them ahead of time to a front desk manager, get their name, & call ahead again prior to your arrival. The room is not cheap! The club room is nice, but the hotel has too many people :).
If you are on a convention, and particularly if someone else is paying, you will love it!
I have to commend this hotel in having overall great staff, and concierge service. If it's just my honey & I, I would go back to la Jolla, possibly La Valencia. I try not to be this long winded usually.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cachirulatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are more than just a convention hotel. Our resort-style offers amenities like family and adult’s only pool, spa, our romantic Top of the Hyatt lounge and Sally’s Seafood on the Water. We do have quite a few conventions that take place because of our large space but we do take in consideration of all guests needs, whether they are here for business or leisure. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back soon to get another glance of life at the Grand Hyatt San Diego.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Back in San Diego for a conference, again we stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt. The location is great for the Convention Center, although it is still a bit of a walk. This visit, we were given a room in the Seaport Tower. This tower faces the Seaport Village area looking toward the Midway and Point Loma. The tower seems to be quieter and may be older than the other one. The bathroom in the room was not upgraded from a tub to the glass shower, but it functioned. No complaints about the room in general, although I do prefer a shower stall over a tub. We were also able to take advantage of the Starbucks in a neighboring shopping center instead of waiting in line for the coffee shop on the Hyatt property. Parking in the hotel is convenient, although exceedingly expensive. We also were able to see the Top of the Hyatt bar this trip (no time in previous visits). I was impressed with the casual atmosphere. At other "top of" and "bars with a view" type places, usually a reservation and purchase are necessary. We were able to walk around and look out the windows without purchase. There is also a great view just as you get off the elevators, no need to even walk into the bar/seating area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so happy you enjoy your stays with us time and time again. The Harbor Tower is closest to the convention center and some guests will request this tower because of that reason. Seaport is our newer tower and closest to Seaport Village. We have rooms throughout both towers that offer either a tub or stand up shower. If our guests have a preference, it is best to ask at check-in, otherwise we are happy to move you to a room that is available with your needs.
Like in most cities, parking is limited and expensive. We apologize that you felt this was high. Our amenities are closely prices to other hotels in our area as well. Because our hotel is so central to downtown San Diego, public transit and only 3 miles from the airport; most guests find it best to forget the car and use Uber or a Taxi to get around if not by foot.
Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others here on Trip Advisor. We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed there for 5 nights and it was wonderful. The check in was quick and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and location is great, you can walk 10-15 minutes to various restaurants and USS Midway is nearby as well. There are 2 pools, one for family and one for adults. We only visited the family pool since we had kids - plenty of chairs and towels, too. At the back of the pool is a green turf play area for kids. Did not personally use the fitness facility, but a family member did and said it's great. Were woken up in the middle of the night (2:30 am) by next door - must be celebrating upcoming wedding, could hear people laughing and screaming "getting married!!!". Called the front desk and I could hear the security knocking their door within 5 minutes and all was quiet in 10 minutes. A great stay:-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IAResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed staying with us this past summer. We apologize for the noise next door but were happy to have resolved this quickly for you. Our 4th floor pool deck is perfect for families. Kids can enjoy fun activities with the Camp Hyatt crew while parents soak up the sun or escape to the adult’s only pool near the spa in our Harbor Tower, the choice is yours. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you and your family back soon for more fun in the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for one night. The lobby area is beautiful, the room was clean and lovely. The breakfast buffet was excellent.

We were given a 16th floor room facing the pool which unfortunately had a large party all evening with a live band that was so incredibly loud, I was unable to sleep even with my white noise machine on and earplugs. I asked to please be moved to a quieter room that was not facing the pool and I was then moved to another room facing the pool. At this point I was quite upset and frustrated as it took some time for someone to come up to our room with the new room keys. We were moved finally to a room that was not facing the pool and did not have the noise problem. I was given a $30 credit for our troubles which was a nice gesture since I had not requested any compensation. However, we should not have been given such a loud room in the first place and really should not have been made to move twice.

That said, the room price was amazing and I would recommend staying at this hotel with the caveat that a room facing the pool might be incredibly noisy if there is an event at the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank dlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry to hear your stay was a little on the noisy side. This isn’t typical for our hotel to be so loud. Our staff is happy to move you to a new room if first trying to work out the noise with security first. We will be sharing this with our staff to ensure we are not promising anything before it is solidified. It can be difficult to move guests when are a full and should not assume that a certain room is available. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others as we will be taking this as a learning experience for us. Again we apologize for the loud noise you experienced. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will be back to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We loved the location of this hotel. Beautiful lobby and nice food choices. Great for exploring the waterfront and easy access to all of San Diego. Our room was large and clean and very comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review, Karen. We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us this past July. You are absolutely right; our hotel is in a great location for exploring attractions downtown and we are happy you did just that. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

We enjoyed our stay. Services were very good and the location was excellent. However, addtional on-site costs were excessive. At times I felt like we were being overcharged for what we were receiving.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 160careye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past July and appreciated our services but we sorry to hear you felt you were being overcharged. Our amenities are priced very similar to other hotels in our area. For your next trip, may we suggest taking a look at our website’s offers page? We offer packages including one or more amenities to help save, also our Grand Club access is a great way to go for free drinks, snack and light meals throughout the day. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,458 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,334 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $145 - $499 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing