We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for convention center meetings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for convention center meetings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel twice in the last few years. It is extremely convenient if you are attending events at the convention center which is just next door, right along the water. Hotel staff are very friendly and accomodating. The first time I stayed there, they offered me a deal upon check-in: a credit for staying in one of their studios instead of a regular room which I did take them up on. The second time, I stayed in a beautiful, spacious room. It was more than enough space for myself and my friend.

The fitness center is large for a hotel with a wall of treadmills and ellipticals as well as weight machines - all were in great shape. Love good fitness centers!

It is in close proximity (walking distance) to Gas-Lamp restaurants, shopping, etc. I would happily stay there again next time in San Diego.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine0608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Hi Katherine,

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The newly renovated gym gives a spacious and more modern feel than what we had previously. Many enjoy the view of the bay from the treadmills and ellipticals and others appreciate the free weights and space for stretching, there is truly something for everyone. Thank you for your loyalty and we are excited to welcome you back to San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,038 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,999
    2,024
    621
    224
    170
See reviews for
1,355
1,473
208
3,308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I book in January 2014 for a stay in in May 2014 and paid for my reservation in full at the time of booking. When I arrived, I was told that there were no rooms available. I was attending a meeting at the hotel at 6 am and needed to be there. After about 45 min wait I was offered a room with only a couch to sleep on. With no other option I have to accept. However, the manager lied to me and told me I would be refunded for the night. I reconfirmed the next day and I was told again I would be refunded for the night in the room with out a bed. I never received a refund and paid nearly $300 to sleep on a couch.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Hi David,
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. It sounds like there were some gaps in communication. The front desk staff should have mentioned to you that the couch in the room they offered you doubles as a bed. If you booked with a third party like expedia.com or hotels.com, there is the chance of running into issues such as the one you had experienced when receiving your refund. We can immediately refund you if the booking was made through us but with third parties it takes some time as the refund would come from them. Please accept our deepest apologies as this is not a typical situation and it seems that it was not communicated in the best way. This will be shared with our front desk staff to make sure that if anything of the sorts should happen again, they are able to approach it in a more informative way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmdale, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

We stayed here for the first time this past weekend. We had such great service, and a wonderful view, we stayed an extra day. A lot of gluten free options at the restaurants. Great location. Highly recommend for kids with families.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Hi Alexandre,
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We do what we can to accommodate those with food allergies, intolerances or certain preferences. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

I don't know what people could want more in a hotel. We are world travelers and this is one of the most beautiful and fun hotels we stay in. The facility, the staff, the neighborhood all worked together to make our multiple stays consistently exceptional.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Dennis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Wow. Thank you, Dennis. It means so much to us that we were able to provide you with exceptional service. Our staff aims to please to make your trip a memorable one. Thank you for choosing us during your stay in San Diego. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for the BIO conference. Loved that the SD Conference center as well as the Gaslamp district are within easy walking distance. The staff are amazing. They seem sincerely interested in the well-being and satisfaction of the guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Hi Ann,
We are so thrilled to find that you enjoyed your trip to San Diego for the BIO conference. Our number one priority is to give the best customer service to our guests. Thank you for your review and choosing our hotel during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Had a great stay, check in and out was no hassle. Room was clean and comfortable. Great walking at night around the bay area and Seaport Village.
Down side: our room was near the elevators and we heard them going ALL night, that was a little disappointing, otherwise it was a nice stay, (but we also had such a great holiday and it would of taken a lot to have reined it!)

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator shaft!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Hi Donna,
Thank you for your candid review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do apologize for the noisy elevators. For future stays, feel free to call the front desk to see if there are any rooms available away from the elevators. Depending on our occupancy, we would happily help move you to another room where you feel more comfortable.
Thank you again for your review and choosing to stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in June with my family. Loved it. Beautiful hotel. Very clean, modern. Staff and service were excellent. Perfect location. I can't think of anything negative to say. My kids loved the pool. They said it was heated. I never got in so can't confirm but I was chilly and enjoyed sitting beside the outdoor fire pits. We loved the s'mores kits for the kids to use around the fire pits. We enjoyed the room service delivery to the pool area. We had a great stay. No complaints. I highly recommend for family or couples.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottemommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, September 30, 2014
Thank you so much for your candid review. Our staff strives to be the best in customer service and we are happy to hear that you appreciated just that. Our pools are in fact heated to make it that much more enjoyable and the fire pits are a fun and tasty activity that anyone can enjoy year round.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us and others. We hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,064 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,900 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing