We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Location & Comfortable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location & Comfortable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I wanted a location near the convention center for a four-night stay and am glad I chose the Grand Hyatt. The building is huge and the lobby is quite grand. The location is right on the bay and, for my needs, an easy walk to the convention center. It's also an easy walk to the Gaslamp section of downtown San Diego. My room was clean and big and the staff was friendly. I had room service a few times for convenience and it was tasty and delivered quickly to my room. I used the fitness center every day and the equipment was state-of-the-art and very clean. Most of the cardio machines were positioned with excellent views of the bay. Very easy and comfortable stay - no complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TandS_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,131
    1,705
    528
    182
    147
See reviews for
1,090
1,193
185
2,625
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,313)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Manchester Grand in San Diego. We had a beautiful view of the harbor. The hotel is great. The staff is very attentive and who could ask for more. The location is as good as it gets for any activities in San Diego. We did not eat in the restaurants so I cannot comment on any of them. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Beautiful San Diego has many hotel options. This is an excellent hotel, clean, good service, and they leave you alone if you want to be. The only complaint I have is paying for Internet in this day and age. Beautiful views, decent sized room and a nice rate. Walk able to Gaslamp, the convention center, right on the embarcadero and tons of good restaurants.

Room Tip: Premium view, definitely.
See more room tips
Green Features: Change linens and towels only upon request. Recycling in every room. Not self-evident otherwise.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzalto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed staying with us this past May and hope that we can welcome you back again in the near future. You might be happy to find that starting mid-February of 2015 all Hyatt’s will no longer be charging for internet. It is reviews just like yours that allows us to see in what ways and how we can improve to make your stay even better.
Thank you for choosing us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Delighted in a relaxing 4-day holiday sojourn between Christmas and New Year's at the newly-renovated Manchester Grand Hyatt, a striking edifice toeing San Diego's harbor line adorned with an opulent Entrance/Lobby and Tower rooms affording splendidly 220-degree panoramic views of the Pacific, Harborside attractions, and center city.

From our 26th floor tower room overlooking Seaport Village, we were overjoyed to behold up front and close up the USS Ronald Reagan and the USS Carl Vinson with their support ships at anchor, along with the USS Midway, festooned in all their traditional annual US Navy "Festival of Lights" dressed-ship glory lighting up the Harbor.

You will NOT find a closer, more comfortable, clean, well designed and upscale lodging venue for your San Diego business or tourist visit than the Manchester Grand Hyatt, which is literally across the street from San Diego's prime Harborside attractions and dining, and a mere few blocks' distance from the Convention Center and center city's famous tourist quarters. There will be a minor service glitch or two, which is endemic to hotels of this size, but remedial action is prompt, the Front Desk well staffed, welcoming, and responsive, and Concierge support first-rate.

Room Tip: Tower floors 21 and above are worth your every penny, especially if you insist on a direct ocean vie...
See more room tips
Green Features: Sorry, but I like my linens and towels refreshed daily.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajamora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Rooms were big, clean and very comfortable. We had a corner room with a good view. The hotel is very large and has a lot of conferences there. The bar and shop were quite expensive but we had drinks, food and breakfast out in town.
Venue is great for Petco Park baseball stadium, for downtown and shopping. Car park expensive but easy......approx $28 per 24 hrs!
Good hotel but too big to be very personal. Staff all friendly.

Room Tip: 2002 was a nice room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MevP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Thank you for your candid review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and liked the location of our hotel. We understand you thoughts about parking and are sorry to hear you feel our property is too big to be personal. All of our amenities including parking, internet, restaurants and bars are priced very similar to other hotels in the area. Like most large cities, parking can be higher than outside of the city. We will be sharing with our staff, your thoughts about the lack of making your stay a little more intimate or personal. We want all guests to feel welcome and at home.
Thank you for your review and choosing to stay with us. We hope that one day we can host you again. Until then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for six nights here in May 2014 for a conference. It was wonderful. The room was spacious, I could open the window, it had amazing facilities - big pool, several restaurants, huge fitness centre with diverse equipment, and fire pits! They even sold s'mores kits at the bar downstairs!
The location was good, but actually farther than it looked on the map, equating to about a 15 minute walk to the conference centre and up the gas lamp district. However, it was right beside Seaport Village, which had some great - reasonably priced restaurants.
The breakfast was not included and was $30!!! I thought this was a bit outrageous, but it was good. The first day I sat down at breakfast for two hours getting over jet lag, and I got my money's worth, otherwise, I would skip it. The lobby was beautiful, but a bit sparse, and there did seem to be a lack of seating if you were waiting for people.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank miraclepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us this past May. Our location is nice because there is plenty to do in the immediate area and for farther distances; the trolley is just across the street. For future, check out our website offers page. From time to time we have packages that may include parking, breakfast and/or other amenities with your stay. Some guests find it best to sign up Grand Club Access to get access to food and drinks through the day and save a buck. We have heard other guest’s thoughts about seating in the lobby and will be working on this in the near future. So thank you for sharing this valuable information with us; now we are able to improve.
Thank you for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Great view. Personable staff. Wonderful pool area. Make sure your car lights are off though. They don't keep track of the license plate number with room number. They will give you a jump if you need it we saw someone had left their lights on and tried to get a notification to them but they couldn't do anything for him but say they'd give him a jump later.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeNea C, Customer Service Team at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 18, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, Jennifer. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate the suggestion you made to others about parking and leaving lights on in the car. Maybe this is a way for us to improve so we are able to reach the car owner for future events should this happen. We will share this with our team so thank you for bringing this up and thank you for staying with us this past June. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,597 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#66 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#24 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing