We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful hotel, needs service that corresponds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel, needs service that corresponds”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I really enjoyed this hotel. gorgeous. service was lacking, we couldn't get anyone to wait on us at the bar area, ended up getting our own drinks. it's a bit of a walk to the gaslamp district, close to the fish market however, I think if we were going back to san diego I'd try something closer to gas lamp

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipw374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,066
    2,051
    633
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,481
209
3,389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for a conference. There are two towers - I suggest staying in the Seaport Tower because it's less expensive, but the rooms are almost identical. The views are great all around. The hotel is centrally located and within walking distance of many restaurants and shops. You can't beat the waterfront location or the view of the USS Midway from the Seaport Tower.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank earthnutvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Did not stay here but did go there twice to the 40th Floor to watch the SunSet. Best view in San Diego. Expensive drinks but worth it for the view. Get there about 45 minutes before sunset to get a seat near the glass.

Room Tip: did not stay there.
See more room tips
Green Features: could not care less about this. Anything that says "green" just means it cost you ore Green.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerryJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Hotel is pretty in a nice location with reasonably clean rooms, hair left in the tub and beer bottles in the trash. For the price they could have a few more amenities that do not cost an arm leg and first born child. Extremely expensive, a child carton of milk was $4 in the gift store ...cost less than a $1 elsewhere .

Restaurants are pricey, it's much more cost effective to walk a few feet from the hotel and purchase food in the local restaurants Great burgers and Greek food in Seaport village.
You are not allowed to take outside food in the pool area they want you to pay $$$ in their poolside restaurant.

Staff are very pleasant and eager to please. This is the first hotel I have stayed in where the hallway for the smoking floor stinks of smoke. It hits you when the doors of the elevator opens.

Room Tip: the higher the better for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Not much to add to the other thorough reviews. I was here for a conference, and it was great for that (sneaking away to the pool, with poolside service, between sessions), but also for ease of access to downtown, public transit,and would be lovely for vacation as well. Easy walks to ferry to Coronado, the Gaslamp, the bus to the zoo, the trolley, and more; close to the airport, etc. Two pool areas, several restaurants, nice meeting facilities, great staff. My only "con" was some of the food at the meals at the conference, but that's par for the course and the waitstaff was fast and efficient.

Room Tip: The two towers do have a range of views and levels - I didn't hear the trains that others mentio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollykmarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hua Hin, Thailand
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

The rooms were small and the price was high for the accommodations. The hotel is geared toward conventioneers and not so focused on tourists. I would suggest a smaller hotel. It is a good location for seeing the city and has good access to Horton plaza and seaport village.

Room Tip: choose the older tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

I attended a week-long professional conference held at this hotel and was very pleased. No real complaints, actually.

Arriving at the airport, the hotel is a short 10-minute cab ride (~$15) from the airport but you can also take a city bus (#992) from the airport to the downtown which is a 10 minute ride then a 10 minute walk to the hotel ($2.35 or $1.10 if you're over age 60). The bus lets you off near the cruise terminal at the intersection of Kettner Blvd and Broadway. It's a snap to find your way to the hotel from the dropoff point.

Checking in and out was a snap. Elevators were fast to arrive and fast to get you to your destination.

The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. There's a wide screen TV with a lots of channels and wired and wireless internet. They normally charge for the internet but they gave it to me for free since I'm a member of the Hyatt frequent-flier club. I clocked the wired internet at 2 Mb which is respectable. The room had a nice desk with a desk lamp to work at, and little refrigerator for dinner leftovers-nice touch! There's a little in-room safe where you can store your laptop or other valuables but it's a inconvenient to get to at the bottom of a closet.

What I liked alot is the ability to make the room really dark at night with an opaque curtain that runs in a track.

You hear the trains when they come through but not a big deal. There is a local commuter rail line and also a third track that handles freight trains that go along Harbor Drive right across from the hotel. Some really, really long freight trains went by in the evenings when I was there and it was actually interesting to watch them go by with livestock and various cargos.

The bathroom was huge, and supplied with high end soaps, shampoos and body lotions. Giant shower head! No miserly little flow-restricting shower head here! The only surprising thing about the bathroom was the sink: It was a modernistic design that was surprisingly cracked and chipped like somebody vandalized it. It didn't leak and was completely functional but was surprising in light of the spotless condition of the rest of the decor.

The hotel is situated along 'hotel row' along the waterfront with other luxury chain hotels but there is also a surprising amount of residential real estate in the immediate area consisting of low-rise and high-rise condos and non-tourist businesses.

'Seaport Village' is right next to the hotel and consists of a few upscale boutiques and restaurants like 'Cheescake Factory'. Next to the water are some fast food sandwich shops, T-shirt, ice cream, and fudge places and such where you can get a wrap or sandwich for a fast and inexpensive lunch. It's tasetful and I would call it 'touristy' but not 'tourist-trappy'

A walkway extends along the water for a few miles and you can take walks along the coastline. It's completely built-up. No deserted beaches here.

The 'Gaslamp District' is about a 10-15 minute walk from the hotel and has countless scores of restaurants. The area is centered on 4th street near Horton Plaza and the side streets coming off of 4th street. Lots of ethnic restaurants. My favorite is 'Thai Time' just North of Horton Plaza where you can get a large bowl of Thai soup for ~$8 and an entree for another $8 for a very filling and delicious Thai dinner for ~$20.

I think the area is safe and I don't think crime is a significant issue. I did see some homeless people and was panhandled a couple times. I probably wouldn't walk around deserted streets alone late at night, like any big city.

I didn't use the athletic facilities or the pool so can't comment. I also didn't eat at any of the restaurants in the hotel either so can't comment.

In summary, if you're here for a conference or vacation, I think this is a good choice. Well appointed accommodations and well-run hotel. No significant complaints. You can't do much better, actually.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishloverdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,976 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing