We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Illinois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Stayed at this hotel for a conference. The best thing about the hotel is the location and it's proximity to seaport village. It is a short taxi ride to the zoo/Balboa park too (about $12). The rooms are general - beds, tv, chair, desk. they had an ipod deck. and when I asked for a fridge and microwave for our 2 year old - they brought them up right away. The bathroom are also pretty big. Not a lot of drawer space, but I used the shelves in the bathroom for clothes too. The pool area is nice with a play area for kids.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ILgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,889
    1,987
    607
    221
    164
See reviews for
1,316
1,450
205
3,213
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Easton, Maryland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We stayed at this property once before, when the new lobby and tower were under construction (2003)--it is as though the rooms in the Seaport Tower have not been renovated since that time as ours appeared worn and tired, particularly the bathroom.

The location is terrific and once again we had a fabulous view of the bay and surrounding area. Not sure what is so Grand about this Hyatt, however, other than the public areas which are very nice as is the pool. Oh, and the price--they must have the market cornered to charge the fees they do for such an average room--thank goodness for the views!

If ever we find ourselves in San Diego purely for pleasure I would not stay here and only did so because of husband's business meeting.

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Worn, old & tired bathroom / room; poor maid service; damaged furniture and light fixtures in room. The most disappointing Hyatt I've seen.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexasAMC3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2008

I have to say, I really liked this hotel. It is so close to everything and the views are just great. I also found the staff very helpful and friendly. The rooms, while not the best I have every stayed in, are nice and very clean. The lobby is spectacular and the stay was quiet and very enjoyable. If I go back to San Diego (and I hope I do because it is an amazing city) I will stay here again. Just one little thing… I like the bottom sheet on the bead to be fitted. A tucked in flat sheet doesn’t do it for me and I wish a nice hotel like this one had not pulled that.

  • Liked — Location and clean
  • Disliked — no fitted sheet
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoGoGo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2008

Stayed at the manchester grand hyatt, San Diego,for 4 nights in august 08. The 4th night was free or else we wouldn't have stayed at 300 a night. The lobby is impressive as others have stated. Everything else is "nothing special." Now, here lies the problem. On two of the 4 nights, the local train tracks are just outside the hotel. The train came by at 12 midnight, and again at 2am., and blows its air horn..super loud. Its their policy because they cross an intersection. Never again will I stay there. Other hotels are in the same fix. The Embassy Suites are right on the tracks, the Marriot is there, Hampton Inn is there also. This bloody train travels along the harbor and behind the hotels. Next time I will stay in the gaslamp area away from the tracks. Also, prices at the hotel restaurants are pretty pricy. We would walk out the back door and go to the seaport village area , a 2 minute walk for dinner. Parking also at the hyatts garage was 20.00 a night. what happen to free parking if you were a quest? Times must be tough.....

  • Liked — location to harbor, and downtown san diego, walking distance.
  • Disliked — horrible train whistle at 2 am, and pricey restaurants.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sanjosejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2008

Came to the Manchester for a convention, have been here all week. Very happy with the room in the Harbor Tower, and with the fantastic view. The hotel is just a couple of blocks to the Convention Center, where the main convention was held. However, the first half of the week was business meetings in the Manchester, itself.

I couldn't be happier with the service for the meetings, the restaurants, the gift shop, and the room. The rooms are thoroughly cleaned each day - I saw the maid actually scrubbing down the wall of my shower. I like the triple sheeting and 6 pillows.

Room service was fast, and a big cheeseburger with all the fixins' and huge serving of fries cost $24, including tip. (I do wish they'd brought a glass of water, though.) Sally's had a great chicken sandwich and blackened tuna.

There is the problem of the one cup at a time coffee maker. I didn't even bother getting a key to the mini bar refrigerator with its $10 a day restocking fee if you use it for your own stuff. I did end up buying one of the $4.50 bottles of water because I don't like the taste of the tap water in San Diego.

The spa is a good deal if you feel like some pampering. My one hour massage also bought me an afternoon with the steam shower, jacuzzi, a private lap pool and dried fruit and water while lounging in the sun and shade with a book. I could have ordered pool side food and drink, too.

The hotel backs up to Seaport Village, a beautiful park and shopping area. (My husband and I bought hats, ate a couple of meals. ) The first day I came, there was an art show along the shore. Just across Harbor Drive is the Gaslamp area with shopping and tons of unique restaurants. (Enjoyed meals at Osetra with their wine fairies and La Bocca.) There's a Ralph's grocery 5 blocks from the hotel.

Watch out for the pedicabs - $30 a person if you don't haggle.

The shuttle from the airport cost me $8 one way. My husband came later and his taxi was $12. We took the Old Town trolley tour for $32 each, getting off on Coronado Island for a walk on the beach, browsing at a book store, and ice cream.

  • Liked — The view of the harbor and Coronado Island
  • Disliked — Coffee pot, no refrigerator
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bnuckols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs,CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2008

The hotel handy for the convention center but while staying I found the owner is the biggest funder of Prop 8 (the one to deny all Californians the right to marry)

I WISH I knew this before giving them my money, San Diego is typically 'family' friendly so this was a shock. This put a cloud over my entire stay - without this issue the hotel was, OK.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LGTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2008

My wife and I stayed there Labor Day Weekend. We love San Diego and chose it based on the brand, proximity to the sites, and the great rate we found.

Our stay started off with a bed sheet with stains that still make my stomach turn. The staff was either embarrassed or just angry about my complaint. Our trip ended with me being accosted by one of the self important staff for slouching in a couch with my eyes shut for a brief moment. Before that, we were woken up at 2:00 AM and kept up all night by a neighboring room full of drunken girls. It took two calls to the front desk a half hour apart and an hour+ of aggravation for them to quiet down.

There were many nice people there, especially at the concierge and bell desks, but the few things that happened were preventable and inexcusable. If you want a deal and potential for aggravation, stay here. If you want a great San Diego visit, go to the Coronado instead.

There was a huge protest outside while we were there. I could see why locals hate the place. Hyatt should be ashamed.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Careless
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank trot19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,981 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#68 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,570 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing