We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful hotel. Great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 281 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel. Great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel and it was very nice once again. Beautiful location. Very attentive service although I am always amazed when the bell desk doesn't know the area well enough to give you directions to a spot just 6 blocks away....it really should be part of basic training. Otherwise you'll enjoy the grandeur of this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a water facing upper level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,138
    1,705
    528
    182
    147
See reviews for
1,094
1,195
185
2,626
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,314)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Apart from a booking hiccup whereby we didn't have the two rooms the travel agent organised, this place was magnificent. Even though quite large and with a large conference on, the staff were very helpful and extremely polite. Great location, walking distance to the district area as well as the waterfront attractions. Highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We were in the South tower which gave views of the warship and great harbour lights at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is the 2nd time staying at the property. The first time, I was unsure of what I thought, it was 2 years ago maybe and the room did seem dated maybe. The location was still perfect and there are definately beautiful views from most rooms.
My recent stay for 1 night on the way home from a cruise, was awesome! I arrived shortly after 11am and was able to check-in immediately. I was given a corner room that overlooked the marina and Coronado bridge. The room was large, and very clean, functional. My favorite part was the floor to ceiling windows with a couch in front of it. It made a perfect location to spend part of the day, writing annual evaluations I needed to have compete by the weekend. The sun was shining, opened the window and easily pumped out half the evaluations in a couple hours.
The room was perfect and quiet at night....with the exception of city noises you hear in any big city hotel.

Location wise - perfect. I come to San Diego frequently and have stayed at numerous downtown San Diego hotels. Overall, this is my favorite property. You can easily walk over to Seaport Village, it's right outside the doors. Jump the trolley system and get to Old Town, Little Italy, or all the way down to Carlsbad if you want. The Gaslamp district is easily walking distance as well as the convention center. You can also catch the Coronado ferry at Seaport Village and spend the day at Coronado without having to drive, it's my favorite way to explore Coronado. Plus there are great restuarants all nearby. Don't forget to go to the Top of the Hyatt bar near sunset, actually go a little earlier to get a choice seat. Amazing views, good wine selections, and classic drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner water view. I had room 1239 which was at the end of the hallway headed west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azrayne10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

If you are like me when you are visiting a city, you don't want to have to use a cab to get anywhere fun. This Hyatt has it all in location, views and a short walk to a ton of fun food, sightseeing and more.

I was there for a conference which was great because I was able to walk to everything fast and easy. Including the Amtrack train station, only 8 minute wal. PLus San Diego Lindberg airport is only a 8 minute cab ride.

San Diego rocks. And this Hyatt does a good job making it fun for visitors.

Room Tip: Get a west, south or north facing room if you want to see the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adventureguy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Came for a work conference. On the plus side: check-in was smooth and the hotel room was spotless with all the amenities you could need. On the negative side: the hotel room overlooked the main street and the noise made it impossible to sleep. Despite the fact that I was on the 20th floor, I could hear the train bells incessantly late through the evening, as well as significant rumbling. You would think that the hotel would have adjusted the sound-proofing to account for the train. Never again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anokha615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear wanderingchick,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear your check in was effortless and your room was well-equipped with amenities and clean. We do apologize for our location being so location to transit, does encounter such noises. The city of San Diego has implemented a "Quiet Zone" that prohibits the train from ringing the bells any later than 10:00pm. We hope this will help alleviate any public noise that our guests may encounter in the evening.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed at the Manchester over Thanksgiving week, was very nice. The room was great, bed was comfortable, and was at the end of the hall , so very quiet. This hotel is close to the airport, easy to get to, and right next to the marina. Wonderful views and you can walk to the gas-lamp district easily. Definitely enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floyd B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and would definitely stay there again. The rooms were excellent, extremely clean, even spotless. Finally the view from the 40th floor bar was well worth the trip alone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bedfordboy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,600 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#66 of 281 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#40 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
No photo provided
The Westgate Hotel
#24 of 281 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing