We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a convention.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #27 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 25, 2014

California Association of Realtors Winter Meetings 2014 were held here, and it is a wonderful facility. It is easy to get around, and there are some great places to eat and shop just steps away!

My room had been just updated and it was wonderful!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,643)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,044 - 5,050 of 7,643 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

Two huge towers adjoining each other w/ massive check in area & rooftop open main pool area above. Plenty of house restaurants from a deli style / coffee area for a quick bite, to a real pub/sports bar, 2 formal restaurants of which one is by the water & a beautiful top bar on one of the towers w/ sweeping views of SD.

Of course you are right next to Seaport Village & 2 blocks away from Gaslamp Quarter for plenty of shops & other dining choices. Besides the main expansive main pool area there is one labeled
adult. Self enforced, because while we were there a couple brought their kid to splash around.

The room was a corner King not huge but adequate, cost a little extra but worth it. The bed was comfy w/ sweeping views from every angle. The windows however were fairly dirty which takes away some of the wow factor. I guess its a big chore to do the windows on both towers on a regular basis but if you are spending hundreds of $'s per night you have expectations.
We got this on a Travelzoo or Groupon deal so I cant be too picky:)

The sitting furniture I found a little too modern & angular & not very comfy, so you are forced to spend more time in bed. There is a nice desk & exec chair w/ plenty of USB jacks & outlets. Big screen TV too. Bathroom was spacious & modern, plenty of towels & toiletries.

Parking you have two choices: self park $28 (ouch) on a adjoining structure w/ easy access or valet w/ a steep $40 (double ouch) price. Hyatt has always been in the forefront of nickel & diming for everything. One reason I don't visit Hyatt as often unless I get a really decent deal & put up w/ the annoying fees. Yes, water bottles available in your room are an extra $5 & WiFi is an additional charge as well, $10. There is a Starbucks across the street so wasn't a big deal. Some Hyatt resorts hit you with a resort fee as well.. this one doesn't.
The best feature of this is Hyatt is the location right next to a lot of the waterfront attractions of SD. There is a Marriott & a Hilton further down the boardwalk a little further away from Seaport Village. An Embassy Suites across the street as well but not waterfront.

Room Tip: Corner King on Seaport tower gives you sweeping views of Coronado Bridge on one side & USS Midwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socratesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We are staying here for a Realtor convention and to me it is amazing that we have not had to leave the property for any of the meetings. Talk about convenient! The rooms are clean, modern, comfortable and mine has an incredible view of the Harbor. The fact that you don't have to leave the hotel is great - however you probably should get out and just jog down the street to the Gaslamp district and enjoy all the restaurants and fun that it has to offer, or meander to Seaport Village to get some great eats also.

Room Tip: I am on the 22nd floor of the Harbor tower- convenient to all the events etc. The elevators, even t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The hotel is very large and very well laid out very close to the Gaslamp district of the city and next door to the Convention centre. We parked a car which was very straight forward and the breakfast was very good. The Check in staff were very efficient and the concierge were very helpful and always happy to help. The rooms are very very and spaciously laid out. The beds are very comfortable and the wall to ceiling windows are very welcome and the views are great across the city.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel in an idyllic setting and we had a fantastic room with a spectacular view over the river and estuary. We stayed for a week for a conference so had a "package" deal -expensive. This meant we all ate as a group and there were many complaints at the lack of variety (chicken, chicken, chicken) and the quality of the food each day. Sadly the food was never very hot which took away some of the enjoyment. We would have preferred to have eaten elsewhere but, with a group booking this was not possible. However the iv=ce cream and sorbet were great

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view, but ask for a view facing down-river, towards the aircraft carrier Midwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

reception good , check in -quick, bell desk proper, Neat clean bath rooms,ambience good
bar will keep you in good mood. conference hall spacious, food delicious, staff behaviour good
& polite, response is immediate
please remember you will be charged for mineral water kept in room

Room Tip: Sea port view or harbour view are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jagnnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Prior to the trip - Decisions had to be made about what location did me & my friends want to stay. Not really receiving any concrete information from others who visited the city on where to stay - only where to party - I did some research and felt this was the best choice - Guess what - Ding, Ding, Ding - it was!!

After taking the City Tour - highly recommend - I found out that this hotel is the largest in the San Diego area. The room had a great view of the Marina, It has many bars, and it was close to the Gaslamp district and the Seaport Village is behind the hotel. The staff of the hotel was friendly and service was prompt when requests were made.

I checked out the restaurant "Top Of The Hyatt" - to see the views - if you don't eat or get drinks, they don't mind you coming up to check out the views.

Regarding the rooms - standard features - big flat screen TV, clean bathroom, hair dryer, iron, safe in room. You shouldn't worry about the room - because you should be out enjoying the city!!

I say - Stay here ...the location gives you so many choices.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillyShaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,460 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
5,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $144 - $508 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing