We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Nearby Hotels
Paradise Point Resort & Spa(San Diego)
$261
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$599
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton La Jolla Torrey Pines(La Jolla)(Great Value!)
$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$219
$183
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Room Service
The Dana on Mission Bay(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$167
$139
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$162
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$149
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bahia Resort Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$183
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Catamaran Resort Hotel and Spa(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$176
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Diego Hotel(San Diego)(Great Value!)
$310
$290
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (8,124)
Filter reviews
8,124 results
Traveler rating
4,654
2,287
714
273
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,654
2,287
714
273
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaport villageharbor toweruss midwayconvention centerhuge hotelwithin walking distanceadult poolcoronado islandgaslamp quartercorner roomself parkingthe gas lamp districtbusiness conferencepetco parkfire pitfloordowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,518 - 5,523 of 8,124 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is located next door to Seaport Village, the convention center, Gaslamp Quarter and the trolley line. A lot of things are within walking distance or the trolley. The hotel is well maintained and beautifully decorated for the Christmas season. The views are amazing from either tower thanks to floor to ceiling windows.

The bellman, housekeepers and hotel staff are very professional, helpful and friendly. The hotel also has a separate adult pool if you want to enjoy a quiet swim.

The room was recently renovated and is very modern and large, however, it only had double beds. There was plenty of room for 2 queens, so I'm not sure why they didn't upgrade during the renovation. The room was quiet, the air conditioner worked well, large flat screen TV offered several channels and pay-for-view movies and the bathroom amenities were nice.

I took away one point for the lack of queen beds, otherwise it would have been a perfect 5 star stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lurcherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear lurcherm,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your trip. We love our premier location in the heart of downtown San Diego and are glad you enjoyed it as well.We are also thrilled to hear that our staff was well accommodating as our service levels are always our highest priority.

We are glad you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms and the fantastic views and amenities that come with them. Just to note, we do offer queen beds in some of our rooms, but they are all based on availability.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel couldn't be in a better location - within walking distance of the waterfront and downtown. We stayed on the 31st floor and had a great view of the city lights and partial view of the marina. Hotel staff was extremely friendly. Check your bill when you check out. They charged us for water and a meal we didn't have. Luckily, I caught it before leaving. Other than that, it was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear D W,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your trip. We love our premier location in the heart of downtown San Diego and are glad you enjoyed it as well. We are sincerely apologetic to hear about the hiccup on your room bill, but glad to hear it was taken care of quickly.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

If you want the nicest hotel in downtown San Diego, this is it. Next to everything you could want to see - Seaport Village, USS Midway, Gaslamp, and more. Very classy. It is a HUGE convention hotel, so there can be some noise and crowds in the halls, lobby, restaurant, trying to self-park or valet....But Hyatt is so good at managing things, somehow they handle it. At one time I saw 16 people behind the front desk! Beautiful lounge on a top floor. Great views. One caveat - the parking garage is run by another company and is not as well run as the Hyatt. There were sometimes long waits to get out of garage. See the USS Midway - I loved it. I would stay here again in a minute!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank longtimeresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear longtimeresident,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are honored to be considered the best hotel in downtown San Diego. We love our premier location in the heart of downtown San Diego and are glad you enjoyed it as well. Our service levels have always been a top priority to our guests and we take pride in being able to handle large crowds without disturbing other guests.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Top notch.... second to none. Walking distance to USS Midway for New Years Eve party. Yes we walked there. Less than a mile and was safe and secure. This was our second time at the Grand Hyatt. Awesome both times. Helpful people, wonderful hotel. Stay here....
Seaport village in directly behind the Grand Hyatt, beautiful stroll on a sunny day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sea_Kayak_Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear Sea_Kayak_Kid,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your trip. We love our premier location in the heart of downtown San Diego and are glad you enjoyed it as well. We are thrilled to hear that both visits went great, and that our staff was well accommodating.

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We spent 5 days here and were very happy with the accommodations. Check in was done quickly and efficiently. They charge $10/day for wifi but if you ask them to remove that they will if you belong to certain loyalty programs so make sure to ask. We asked for a room up high on the harbor side and ended up on the 17th floor, which provided a nice view of the waterfront and the USS Midway. Rooms are spacious and clean, and the cleaning staff is very friendly. The hotel has a very long list of items they will provide free of charge if you've left anything home which is nice. One minor down side was that after 10 pm, the only food in the hotel was thru room service, so you'd have to do that or have a delivery. Not a big deal but I was suprised a place of that size shut down the food options so early. The location is perfect, close to the water and Seaport Village, with a tram stop right across the street, couldn't do much better. I believe the use of the ground floor public computers are charged to your room, but the computers have a nice set up which allows you to print boarding passes at no charge. Price was very reasonable so I see no reason to try anyplace else when staying in San Diego.

Room Tip: Rooms will come with either a harbor view or a view of the city skyline. We were on the 17th floor facing the water and I was a little worried about how much time would be spent waiting for elevator service but that was not an issue at all as there are plenty of elevators.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews