We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal, Quebec
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights before a cruise. The bellmen were so friendly when we drove up and allowed us to leave the car as we checked in. Check in was very fast and we were given a room on the 32nd floor of the Harbor Tower which was a Club room. The room was clean although not that large. The bathroom was an average size with nice toiletries. We had breakfast every day on the 33rd floor and they had a very nice selection of hot and cold foods. We had lunch one day at Sally's and the other day we ate in the Seaport Village which was a very short walk. Check out was done on-line and was super easy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debs0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,334
    1,787
    551
    195
    157
See reviews for
1,164
1,256
192
2,793
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,355)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Hotel is in a very nice area of San Diego. Within walking distance of lots os lots of great attractions. I'll stay again for sure. Right on the bay with great sidewalks for walking or riding. The Gaslamp district is just a couple of blocks away with about anything you can imagine in the way of restaurants and entertainment.



Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank R Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My partner and I decided last minute to head to San Diego for his birthday, literally making reservations a few hours before we drove down. We usually stay here when we head down to San Diego because we travel with our little dog. The hotel seems to have gotten better since our last visit. Check in was easy, fast and friendly as usual. They even gave the dog his own bowl and some treats. Since the reservation was made so late we weren't sure what the room was going to be and we were pleasantly surprised. The newly remodeled room was a breathe of fresh air from the last visit. We really like the new modern look of the room. All the staff was friendly, helpful and made us and our dog feel welcome. Even one of the property's restaurant's Sally's was great. When we told the waitress it was my partner's birthday, she came out with a number of desserts for him. So many we had to take most of them back to the room with us. We enjoyed ourselves so much we ended up staying an extra night and being late for work Monday morning. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in a club room which was really nice (the rooms were remodeled since our last stay) with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I recently attended a conference in San Diego and i stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt for 5 nights. I had stayed here a few years ago and had a good experience so when I saw great rates offered for this hotel while surfing the net, I took advantage.

The hotel was just renovated earlier this year so the decor appears current. The hotel is clean and the rooms are spacious with comfortable beds. Pillows are down/feather combo and the sheets are good. The bathroom is roomy. The packaging of the toiletries (shampoo, lotion, conditioner etc) leaves much to be desired; they look like the ones you get in a cheap motel.

The room is equipped with a flat screen TV, a safe and a small fridge. There is a gym/fitness center and 2 outdoor pools. The pool near the Kin Spa is an Adult-only pool which is more ideal for people who want to swim laps. The use of these amenities is free for hotel guests.

There is a daily charge for internet/ wifi. Valet parking cost $40/ day, self-parking is $28/day.

The hotel is closer to the northern end of the San Diego convention center which can be reached by foot in approximately 10 minutes. Add another 5 minutes if you have to go to the southern portion of the convention center. The Seaport Village is located just behind the hotel and it offers shopping and restaurants which are easily accessible to hotel guests. You can also walk to San Diego 's Little Italy but this may take 20-30 minutes. There is a Starbucks at the lobby that serves hot sandwiches, bread/muffins and coffee.

My wife complained about the poor service from housekeeping because they failed to clean our room on one of the days. There is no seating area in the main lobby thus families with kids have to stand while waiting to get checked in.

Overall, this is a clean & decent 4-star hotel that is close enough to the convention center. If you want something even closer, you may want to check out the Marriott if your meeting is on the north end of the convention center. For meetings located in the southern portion of the convention center, you may want to checkout the Hilton Bayfront hotel or the other hotels in the Gaslamp area (Omni or Hilton Gaslamp).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tagliacozzimd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was overall a really nice hotel. I stayed here on business so was not really concerned with cost. It is costly at over 300 dollars per night for a standard hotel room. The room I was in had a nice view of the bay. It was very clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. The beds were extremely comfortable. I probably would not choose to stay here if I was paying myself unless the rate was much more affordable however San Diego in General is very expensive. It is Ina convenient location being just a few short blocks to the convention center and gaslight area. It is adjacent to Seaport Village which had several tourist type shops to look around in .

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views. Stayed in seaport tower on only 12th floor and still had nice v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bluiz1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013


Overall was good. but reason I took out one rating, because of customer service in lobby.

I was standing in line, they were still chatting and did not care customer was waiting. and they gave me look why are you standing there..kind.

I wish they can educate staff more. All other people was great except that section.

So, was kind upset.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BJ0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel Rooms: Ours had recently been renovated and was in great condition. The views from the rooms are fantastic.

Pool: needs an entire overhaul. It is not competitive in today's market. It was actually off putting.

Layout for Meetings: The layout of this hotel as it relates to meetings and events is poor. Everything is spread out and there really isn't an area where everyone can congregate.

Club Room: While the Hyatt does not have the best club room - it did make this hotel a much nicer experience. The breakfast was very good, staff was great. Pre- dinner service was great, although desert service and afternoon service could be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JFSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#10 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,709 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#42 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,205 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#33 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,428 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#26 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing