We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
J Street Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,122)
Filter reviews
8,122 results
Traveler rating
4,652
2,287
714
273
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,652
2,287
714
273
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaport villageharbor toweruss midwayconvention centerhuge hotelwithin walking distanceadult poolcoronado islandgaslamp quartercorner roomself parkingthe gas lamp districtbusiness conferencepetco parkfire pitfloordowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5,663 - 5,668 of 8,122 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Third trip to San Deigo and this was the best yet! Manchester Grand Hyatt was the perfect location. The bayside view is outstanding! The facility has it all, and the staff is very friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Our room appeared to be newly decorated and was very clean and quiet! Best beds ever! The lobby is worth seeing even if you don't stay there. It is a great location! Even though it is a bit pricey the location makes up for the $$$$$. There is no need for a rental car. Take a taxi from the airport for around $15, You can walk to many locations or use nearby public transportation. Walk out the back to catch a ferry to Coronado, cross the street to ride the trolley to Old Townn, or walk seversl blocks and take the #7 bus to the Zoo or Balboa Park. Therre is also a car rental desk located in the lobby if you want to venture outside the city. Did I say that Seaport Village is just behind the hotel where you can eat, shop, fly kites, etc. Great restaurants,baseball, and Midway are also located nearby. This exceeded my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask for Bay view with a room mid level or higher.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patsy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear Patsy C,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel for your third trip. We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms with a spectacular view. We love our premier location in the heart of downtown San Diego and are glad you enjoyed it as well..

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed

Once again, thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed here as a family of four just overnight. we have two children age 5 and 7. We spent our first 7 nights in a rental house on coronado (which was great) and the last night at the hyatt. it was perfect for one night. kids enjoyed the pool. we enjoyed the view, only on the 15th floor in a double queen we had great views of both the harbor and the city. also go up to the top floor in the evening for a great view (kids allowed in the lounge until 8, but areas to view without going into the lounge.) loved the grand breakfast buffet. walked around in the early evening behind the hotel and enjoyed the shows of the outdoor vendors and found a nice seafood restaurant to eat at. the day of departure we toured the USS midway and all enjoyed. parking was expensive, but if we did not stay in coronado first we could have gotten away with no car. overall a great place to stay, without kids could have stayed here a whole week, but with kids one night was fine. All the staff were friendly and helpful. liked that there was a coffee maker in room. although you could have gotten a pot from room service for $8.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mommysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was my first trip to San Diego! This hotel is beautiful! The rooms are large and spacious and most importantly spotless. My room was modern looking with gray and white colors. The pool area was great over looking the San Diego bay. I asked for a room with a view and got one over looking the USS Midway. Beautiful at night and during the day! The one thing that lacked was service. I had two packages delivered to the hotel and it took calling twice to get them sent to my room. I also left a razor at home and had to call 3 times for them to bring me up a complimentary one. I was staying for a convention and many people at the convention complained about the service as well. The location is great and close to a lot of activities. With all this said, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xxdieselxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Walking distance from seaport village, restaurants, shopping, bars, petco park, nightlife. Right across the bay from Cornado island and right next to gaslamp. If your looking for an up scale quieter hotel with great views and service, this is a good pick. You won't be disappointed with great weather year round and an awesome hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jesmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear jesmarsh,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our amazing location, close to many local amenities, restaurants and nightlife. We are especially glad to hear you enjoyed our service, as it has always and will always remain our highest priority for our guests.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed as a family in 2 family rooms for 2 nights in the Grand Hyatt San Diego and had a lovely time.

The service was great - all the staff were genuine and courteous. Doormen, front desk, restaurant waiters, housekeeping staff were all excellent. Valet parking was efficient.

The breakfast in the restaurant was a real treat- lovely buffet with show cooking for waffles and omelettes etc.

There is a Starbucks downstairs as well.

The pool area was really nice for the kids to chill out for a while - it was well-organised and clean.

The back of the hotel is connected to a little "village" with shops and restaurants.

The views were simply amazing onto San Diego bay and the Coronado bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crath2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear crath2013,

Thank you for contributing your candid comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities our hotel has to offer, including our restaurants, our pool decks and our amazing location, steps from Seaport village filled with shops and restaurants. We are especially excited to hear that you enjoyed the service from our staff while at the hotel, as that always remains our highest priority.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to sunny San Diego in the near future.

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews