We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views of the bay, exceptionally friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt for six nights as part of a conference. The first thing I noticed upon arrival was the exceptional friendliness of all the staff, from valet to front desk, to cafe. The hotel is very large, with rooms situated in two big towers separated by the "common areas" of the hotel (gym, pool, check-in, bars, restaurants). My room on the 17th floor of the Seaport Tower had a lovely view looking north/northwest over the bay and a bit of downtown. I could clearly see the U.S.S. Midway, which is now a permanently docked museum. The rooms have been updated relatively recently, with crisp, clean bedding and furnishings. The only thing that wasn't updated was the tub, though the rest of the bathroom fixtures were modern and attractive. The room included a closet with lots of hangers (too few hotel hangers is a pet peeve of mine!) and a small safe for valuables. There are power outlets on the lamp base on the bedside table, which is convenient for charging a smartphone in easy reach of the bed. The bed itself was comfortable. I got a grab-and-go sandwich from the lobby cafe for lunch one day - it was good but as expensive as you'd expect in a big city hotel (about $11 for just a sandwich). The pool is beautifully located on the fourth floor terrace of the hotel, with views of the bay. The ballrooms and meeting rooms were great and plentiful. The hotel is situated adjacent to Seaport Village, a short walk from the ballpark and the Gaslamp Quarter. A cab to the zoo or Balboa Park is about $15. A ferry to Coronado Island picks up from the Convention Center just a few blocks away and charges $4 for a one-way trip. For me, the only downside to this hotel is the size. When travelling for leisure, I prefer to stay in smaller boutique hotels. However, this hotel is lovely and well-situated. I'd be pleased to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the bay (looking north in the Seaport Tower or looking south in the Harbor Tower...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1060WestAddison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (7,551)
There are newer reviews for Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,190 - 5,196 of 7,551 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it. The staff was friendly. The rooms were cleaned well. The location can't be beat. My view was of the harbor and the USS Midway. Sea Port Village was just a couple of minutes away. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSB0164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed for our marathon in June. Wonderful experience. They provided transportation to the starting line, we got to go in the party bus at 6am with music thumping! Haha. The hotel was a walking distance to the expo and from the finish. The room was excellent, comfortable. Pool was awesome. Wished we could've stayed longer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We travelled from the UK on holiday and spent a few days at the Hyatt GM. It is in an excellent location with the Seaport Village right in front and although a little business oriented with many functions taking place, as holiday makers we did not feel out of place. The hotel is only a short distance from Downtown and Gaslamp with a plethora of shops and restaurants to choose from. The hotel staff were excellent and made us feel welcome and the rooms were grand and spacious, just what we expected. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: The best rooms face the sea rather than inland
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n31lH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night, because the Marriott next door wouldn't give us the same room rate we had for the previous 5 days, wished we would have stayed here our entire time. Beautiful room overlooking the bay & the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Staff exceptionally helpful! Thank

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Sometimes we can't get rooms at our favorites in San Diego. So we booked rooms through Price Line. Super deal. Very nice and clean rooms. Great view of the harbor. Caught the rail across the street to Little Italy. We found it better than the reviews.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChinaLake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just spent 4 nights at the Manchester Grand Hyatt in San Diego. I love San Diego! This hotel has great views and a great location. You are right next to the Seaport and the Embarcadero. Restaurants, shops, activities are right outside your door. The Padres stadium is a 10 minute walk. Valet plus self parking is available. We did not eat at the restaurants because our family was close by and there are plenty of places to go , especially in the Gaslight District. Our room was on the 25th floor with a fabulous view (see below). Beds were comfortable. What we found strange was the housekeeping. We had an ironing board but no iron. Whee we called downstairs they brought one up very quickly. We had 2 bath towels (mind you we had 2 double beds), but no washcloths. There wasn't any shower cap so we needed another towel. The next day we had 4 washcloths and 3 bath towels. Soap was not changed until the 3rd day. Shampoo and conditioner was not replenished until the 3rd day. The hotel was really inconsistent in the bathroom amenities department.....kind of strange....Everything was clean and neat but lacking in those extras. Also, we could look down at the pool and saw a chalky dust on their beautiful stone deck. We realized it must be blowing over from the construction next door but did not see anyone hosing it off in the mornings. Was it a stained? Why wasn't it cleaned????? Just strange........

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.....it is really beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Portia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,405 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 278 in San Diego
5,267 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $157 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing