We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walls Are Really Thin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Walls Are Really Thin”
Reviewed June 29, 2008

The public spaces are very impressive, the service is professional BUT the walls are really thin. I was located in the old tower (the smaller of the two), hopefully the new tower does not have this problem.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Very Thin Walls
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank missmaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,250
    2,134
    663
    238
    180
See reviews for
1,451
1,538
222
3,533
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,535)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Bid 153$ a night for a 4 star in San Diego and this was the place we were allocated. Unlike a previous reviewer i was very glad to be offered the 2 for1 breakfast deal at check in as 20$ for 2 adults is a great price. The food at the buffet was excellent and at those prices you would hard pressed to obtain food that was as nice at an outside venue. If you are not offered it I would suggest ask for it!

The room was OK but the queen beds were definitely on the small size, with my wife and i being slim it was not too bad but by American hotel standards I would say they were a bit too cozy. The decor in the public areas is very nice and reminded me of being in the concourse of a posh railway station, all very grand. The rooms at my price point did not have quite the same feel as the public areas but were ok .if a little drab. The hotel seems to cater to a lot of conferences and as a result you may be able to pick up a free wifi signal from your room.

The local area had some great restaurants and was within walking distance of the gaslamp district so you will be spoiled for choice. As stated earlier the buffet breakfast was excellent value at 20$ for 2.
Parking at the hotel is 20$ a day which is about standard i feel.
Other people complained of noise from trains...you can hear it but it never woke me up. Once awake you do hear it and it is loud so you may wish to ask for a room on the " view " side of the hotel. We never slept in past 0800 so there may be no noise before a certain time but you cannot miss it when it does happen.
All in all i was pleased at getting this hotel for the price we paid.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 400driver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

I wouldn't recommend this hotel as value for money unless you get it through Priceline which we did. It is a nice enough hotel but like someone else said - hidden money extras such as trying to con you into buying some gold card thing to get a cheaper breakfast or the other pool/spa/gym is not free. One pool is though.

Great views and perfect location. Clean rooms and so-so staff. The parking starts from approx $20 a night so not cheap. There is no complimentary WiFi & it is expensive (like other big chains).

Give it 3/5 for location on the plus side but lost the 2 stars for price.

  • Liked — Clean rooms & great views
  • Disliked — Expensive parking
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank visceral_lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

I've been to the Manchester Grand Hyatt multiple times and it is one of my favorite hotels. It's pricey but the service and facilities are very good.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Callmephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

We paid $140 a night on Priceline and were upgraded for free when we arrived (Thursday). The front desk staff was EXCELLENT. They were very friendly and accomodating. The 24th floor corner room was fantastic. We had views of the bay and the city lights. The location is excellent and you can walk to many great restaurants. Parking fee seemed excessive, but the room rate more than compensated for it.

  • Liked — Loacation & Property Grounds
  • Disliked — Parking fee
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saruhhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Loved this hotel. I have stayed in lots of hotels and this is by far one of the best. The service was great, the room was fantastic. And not only that you don't even have to leave the area. Behind the hotel is many little stores and live music. My kids and I had a great time. We also loved the pool.

  • Liked — great room
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Manchaster Grand Hyatt in June 2008 for the San Diego marathon. The lobby was impressive. Room was nicely furnished, but was filthy - there were clumps of dust and dirt under the bed and behind the night stands. Room service was mediocre and definitely not up to the standards of a AAA 4 diamond hotel. Breakfast at Lael's was pretty good, but some dinner entree items (e.g. pizza) were very poor. Staff were responsive and polite, but did nothing to remedy the poor quality food.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Poor quality food
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,322 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,195 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing