We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kudos to staff; a few fixes needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #31 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Been three years since my last visit. The staff still makes this a gem. Arrived early -- like 6 hours before checkin. But they found us a room (helped for this to be the week after Comic-Con) and, in short order, also replaced the feather bedding as we requested. No matter where you went in the place, the staff were solicitous. Lael's was a great place to have a buffet breakfast. BUT, the hotel needs to update its in-room and other handouts that suggest it serves dinner and other meals -- it doesn't. Redfield's Deli is great for a quick takeout breakfast, sandwich, coffee or snack. However, Redfield's sports bar leaves something to be desired -- understaffed and the menu is, well, scattered and only fair. I like pulled pork, but served with vapid plate of chips for $14 is, well, outlandish. Rooms are comfy, and clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,519 - 5,525 of 7,828 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a family trip after being forced to check out from another property due to problems in booking. The hotel is enormous, but rooms are spacious and well furnished. I stayed at the eleventh floor and the only remark is that facing the pool there is a lot of noise from the road, particularly the bells for the trolley. Also, internet is not free. However it is a nice stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucaSolari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCordova, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear LucaSolari,


Thank you for sharing such nice comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We are glad to hear we were able to make your stay enjoyable despite the situation at your previous property. That being said, we do apologize for the noise from the trolley, but happy to announce that the city of San Diego is now enforcing a new noise ordinance to bring our local area to a quiet zone after 9:00pm. Thank you once again for sharing.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon!
Brian Cordova
Marketing Coordinator
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The room was excellent. We were there for a conference and booked into a double. We upgraded to a higher level with a king bed for $30 more per night. That was a good move. Room was large, very comfortable and quiet. Separate elevator too, less crowded. Window opened to get a bit of fresh air and air conditioning worked beautifully.

Staff were very friendly. Location is very close to gaslight district. There is also a small shopping area outside the back door. Starbucks thee as well opened at 6:30 am. Just a few minutes walking to Midway and Petco field. Too bad the Padres were not in town.

The only downside was that our room was not serviced the last day before we left. We called down and fresh towels were brought to the room within five minutes.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank asalesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Beautiful views, elegant hotel, comfortable rooms, and great location. Was disappointed when I arrived at 3:00 and no room was available for my reservation. Had to wait until after 4 pm. Then we had to wait at long lines for the elevator to get to our room. However things got better after that and it was overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bourbonandginger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCordova, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Bourbonandginger,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments regarding your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews and are very glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself. we do all we can to provide early check in for our guests, but in this case we wanted to ensure your room was as clean as can be for your 4:00pm check in time. We do apologize as sometimes our elevators do become crowded, and we sincerely appreciate your patience with them.

We hope to welcome you back to San Diego soon!
Brian Cordova
Marketing Coordinator
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was only here for one night, pleasure trip for me but business for spouse. Very grand entrance area and greeting staff generally had it together. Easy to get to the room which was very nicely decorated and clean. Room is an average size but the bathroom was large. Lovely views of the marina. I had lunch down at the restaurant down on the waterfront, Alices I think its called. Didn't see too many vegetarian choices on the menu but the waitress told me that she could get tofu on anything I wanted and I ended up with an excellent salad with a jerk tofu on top that was just yummy, full marks to her. One weird note which was kind of a big deal for me since I am a complete coffee hound, there was your standard coffee maker in the room which I like for my first cup of the day as a rule. Powdered creamer!!! I haven't seen this in a three star hotel in years, let alone a Hyatt. Can't stand the stuff. Please.... dear hotel management, please put some of those little liquid creamer things in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoolHouseDesigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel several times in the past. The location is perfect, rooms are comfortable, pool is pleasant, lobby is elegant. Never any complaints before. Maybe they're having labor issues, but I was there for 4 nights. Every day I had to call housekeeping several times to get my room cleaned, & after multiple calls still didn't get the room cleaned before 4 or 5 in the afternoon. In addition, each time the room has been cleaned, something has been left undone. No wash cloths, no clean glasses. All small issues, but they do add up.

Also, the beautiful view of the harbor from our room is spoiled by windows made almost opaque by dirt and streaked with seagull droppings.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucia324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCordova, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Lucia324,

Thank you so much for sharing your candid comments about your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate loyal guests such as yourself and are ecstatic to hear that you enjoy our newly renovated guest rooms, swimming pool and grand lobby. That being said we are very sorry to hear that the housekeeping lacked during your stay. I have forwarded this review to the Director of Housekeeping in order to ensure matters like this do not go unnoticed.

We thank you once again for being so loyal to our hotel and sure do hope you will give us another shot in the near future.

Best,
Brian Cordova
Marketing Coordinator
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I came here for a conference. I have been to many conferences in different locales and find this hotel to be a superior host/location. The staff, from check in to housekeeping to conference services, are professional, polite, and helpful. The room was very neat and amenities supplied were very nice. Larger than average size shampoos. View from the 18th floor tower is terrific- can see mountains, the ocean, and parts of the Gaslamp district. The bellhops are dressed in snazzy hats and classy Hawaain shirts which adds a nice touch. Conference rooms are convenient and easy to find. Gym is nice, great views and open 24 hours a day. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: High floor had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chatnoire1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 286 in San Diego
5,100 reviews
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#22 of 286 in San Diego
4,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#14 Green Hotel in San Diego
#47 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $135 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing