We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Excellent location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #24 of 283 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed there2 years ago. Unbeatable location. My room had fabulous view of the bay. Rooms were little dated at that time. Hope they did some renovations. Lobby is majestic and staff are nice. I might stay there again

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nia573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,588
    1,876
    571
    205
    160
See reviews for
1,236
1,331
197
2,994
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,402)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This Hyatt was generally a disappointment. We stayed for the 4th July holiday and to get a good view of the fireworks. Stay got off to a weak start when the GP desk check in guy assured us all of a great room with a fabulous view of the firework display, only to get to our room for a view of the Coronado Bridge. In other words, a view in the exact opposite direction. Dishonesty/Machievellian behaviour at check in is always a bad sign, and so it was here. The hotel was full to the brim, and it is pretty clear that the hotel cannot properly accomodate and operate when it is full. Rooms poorly cleaned. Excessive wait times for service in bars and restaurants. They just cannot do it. Pool area was mayhem, and filthy. Why is the pool not heated?

So, I would advice folks to avoid this hotel if they can.

Room Tip: Don't take the word of the check-in guy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianCordova, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Purim,

Thank you for taking the time to share your candid comments about your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews in order to grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are so sorry that your stay was not up to our own standard. Though we do believe that our views of our hotel room are spectacular, to be expecting a view of the bay to view fireworks and to receive something different is definitely a disappointment and frustrating. We ensure that we have enough staff to accommodate all of our guests during this busy holiday weekend and do all that we can to make sure every guest is taken care of. I will be forwarding this review to our Director of Room to ensure that the busy holidays are handled better and that housekeeping is aware of these comments so that they are aware of this situation.

Again, thank you for sharing this review as it is very valuable information to us in order to provide the best experiences possible for our guests visiting San Diego.

Best,

Brian Cordova
Marketing Coordinator
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel is located within a 5 minute walk of the Gaslamp District and the trolley to Old Town is right across the street. You will struggle to find a better location in Downtown San Diego.

We arrived early, around 11.30am, but were allowed to check-in and were even upgraded by the very helpful and friendly front desk staff. In fact every member of staff we came into contact with during our stay was helpful, professional and a credit to the hotel. The room on the 4th floor was fantastic, more like a suite than a room it also had kitchen space and a large dining area. The best feature was the view, even on the 4th floor there is an amazing view of the bay.

We didn't eat here as there are so many options to eat in the Gaslamp Quarter, Little Italy or Old Town. The hotel really was great, we don't have a single negative to say and would love to stay there again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Request a bay view on a higher floor if possible, rooms from the fourth floor up have good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RossMcA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located within walking distance to the Gaslamp Quarters, Perform Park, Seaport Village and the Maritime Museum area. The MTS trolley is located across the street. The Old Town Trolley stop is located directly behind the hotel in Seaport Village. The bus stop us only about 2-3 blocks across the street. The staff was very nice and helpful. The rooms are clean and have beautiful views. Are room looked over the harbor towards Cordonado. We were even able to enjoy fireworks from our room, that were being fired on the harbor. Clean, quiet room, helpful, friendly staff, and fantastic location! What else can I say, the Manchester Grand Hyatt, is absolutely perfect! !

Helpful?
2 Thank Rn47
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
All Over
Level Contributor
198 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for a work event as the hotel is huge and very nice. Comfy beds and great restaurants. The conference rooms were great too. At times I felt like the hotel was too big for my taste. We walked so far to get to certain rooms. There was a dance party which was fabulous. The hotel accomodated our organization as we took over their kitchen which negatively impacted their room service orders Im sure. But I guess when the company's paying BIG bucks you kinda take the gripes from your room service guests. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravelSnob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I loved my time at the hotel and was sad to leave. I really appreciated being able to walk to many different restaurants and bars. I didn't realize how great of a location the hotel was in until I arrived. The view from our room of the water and coronado island was amazing. Really great staff at the front desk and housekeeping. Our room was immaculate! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
216 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Manchester Grand is very well located, right next to Seaport Village, walking distance to the Convention Center and Gaslamp District. The convenience and location was very nice, especially since we were there for a convention. Using the Bayfront walkway to the Convention Center and elsewhere was nice. The hotel itself was very grandiose and felt very impersonal. It was almost too big for its own good. The elevator situation was slightly ridiculous, I’ve never waited in line for an elevator to guest room floors before. The parking garage was convenient, and while it was also expensive, the cost was comparable to other downtown San Diego hotel parking. The guest rooms were very average. We were told that our room was hypoallergenic and that we “would notice the difference”, but to us, it was just a hotel room. There wasn’t anything incredibly remarkable about it, aside from the beautiful views of San Diego Harbor. One complaint I had with the room was the way the AC unit was situated. I don’t usually have issues with drafts, so this makes me seem like I’m 200 years old, but the vent blew directly at the bed, with no option to redirect the airflow. This meant that we had to turn the AC off at night in order to sleep, which in turn made the room temperature less comfortable. A small thing for us, but if you are sensitive to drafts or temperature, I could see this being a much bigger issue.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAK314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#15 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,827 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#48 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#35 of 283 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,586 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#69 of 283 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing