We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very nice property and great location”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Impressive lobby and staff. My room faced the water and a good view. Room was nice but bathrooms not quite up to standard. Tub stopper didn't work and was not clean if you looked carefully. The staff was nice in sending up extra towels and adjusting the air conditioning.. As the pattern in the Hyatt's the thermostats do not show the real temp. set. Had to have them come up and bypass the "green" setting as it was damp.

Room Tip: Face the water and the end rooms quieter
See more room tips
Green Features: It's fine but I like clean towels every day as I do at home.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harris14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,055
    2,049
    631
    229
    171
See reviews for
1,373
1,480
208
3,377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on the 38th floor with a enjoyable view of the Coronado Bridge. The hotel is on the water and directly in front of the Seaport Village. We also walked to the USS Midway. The room was a good size with two queen beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was bowled over with the views from this great hotel. Room was very nice , we got a room near the top so we could avail of the views and we were not disappointed. Spent an hour watching a cruise liner dock and leave. Also view of Coronado bridge is stunning. Hotel is ideally located and ideal for walks.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the top!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Owen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel is very, very nice and conveniently located. The staff is very friendly, It is a hotel where we will certainly go back to. You can easily walk to a lot of the attractions. Parking is convenient also.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt for a week for both personal and business. My wife and I enjoyed the hotel. The staff was very helpful, the gym is exceptional and the restaurants were great. They even put the hockey game on for me at the Redfields sports bar. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is right along the San Diego Bay with Seaport Village right out the back door. The Gaslamp district is across the street, shopping is nearby, Petco Park is a 10 min walk (great ballpark) and the Midway Museum and other areas are very close. When my business meetings started they were well staffed, food was very good and everything went very smoothly. I'm trying to think of some negatives but other than the giftshop being very expensive I can't think of any.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I stayed at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego for four nights at the beginning of May while attending a conference there.

The hotel is situated right on the waterfront. The area is quite nice with the Seaport Village, Marina and some small park areas. The shops and restaurants of the Gaslamp Quarter are about half a mile away.

Manchester Grand Hyatt has one of the biggest hotel lobbies I've ever seen. It's simply huge! Just see one of the attached pictures. Event with a large group of people checking in, the check-in process was quick and efficient.

I had reserved a corner king room, and got one on the 24th floor of the Seaport Tower. (There are two towers in the hotel, the Seaport Tower, built in 2003, and the Harbor Tower, built in 1992.) Both towers have been renovated throughout, and the rooms are in practice new.

The room was quite nice and pretty big in size. There was ample room to store all my belongings, although I would not have minded having one more chest/armoire available. The bed was firm and nice with plenty of pillow choices. Bathroom was the usual with a tub. Everything was spotless clean and very nice. My only complaint regarding the room was that the exteriors of the windows were quite dirty. Such a shame with those views!

Breakfast at Lael's was excellent, although pricey. I had a couple of quick dinners at Redfield's Sports Bar, and the quality varied a lot. The first night everything was really good but a couple of nights later not so much. Maybe different chefs or just a bad night. The room service food, which I ordered a couple of times, was good and served spot on with the promised schedule.

The Top of the Hyatt bar on the 40th floor of the Harbor Tower has amazing views. Definitely a nice place for some drinks before or after the dinner.

Service was very good throughout the hotel and the restaurants. Because of the variety and quality of the services, I only left the hotel on night during the whole conference!

To sum up, I had a really nice stay. If I return to San Diego, Manchester Grand Hyatt is definitely on my short list.

Room Tip: Go for a corner king room with a view to the sea. Sunsets are amazing if the room faces to the west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THO_Finland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2013

After leaving our lodgings in Escondido and staying our last 2 days in San Diego, it was like leaving a senior citizen home and coming to the Manchester and being treated as VIP's. All the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially, Michael and Stephen at the hotel front lobby check in. A lovely hotel that has very lovely views and a good breakfast buffet which was included in the price of our room. Close to the USS Midway, Gas Lamp district, the Seaport and a very nice Old Town trolley tour. We would definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcm7602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,126 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#73 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,967 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing