We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“On the water, close to almost everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 282 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“On the water, close to almost everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This is a business and convention hotel that seems to clear out for families and couples on the weekends. It's a huge place, with two towers of hotel rooms — so if you're looking for something luxurious *and* quaint, look elsewhere.

The rooms are tastefully appointed. Some nice touches on the furniture, which is done up in masculine whites, dark browns, and grays. The view of the city and the marina can't be beat. Bathroom is spacious, and the shower is massive.

We booked using Priceline, and found the deal to be exquisite. There are plenty of options just blocks away, but the Grand Hyatt lives up to its name. If you want to be in the center of the action, though, consider booking directly in the Gaslamp Quarter instead. (It's about a 15-minute walk from the hotel.)

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor. The views are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Chalega,

Thank you for sharing your nice comments about our hotel and your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy you enjoyed our newly renovated guestroom as well as the spectacular views our location and the city of San Diego has to offer.

We hope to welcome you again sometime soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,356
    1,796
    552
    197
    157
See reviews for
1,168
1,263
192
2,813
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,357)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt during a recent work trip to San Diego. I couldn't have been more satisfied with my hotel choice for several reasons:

1. Price: I was lucky enough to get a Hotwire deal at a daily rate of $196/night. Given the hotel demand, comparable nearby hotels such as the Marriott Marquis and Hilton were priced between $275 to $300/night.

2. Location: The hotel was in close proximity to the airport. It was a short taxi ride which costs me $18 with tip. Perhaps the taxi ride was a bit overpriced, but traffic was congested. Located in downtown San Diego, the hotel is in an ideal location for business and leisure. The convention center is only a short walk away. It is also near Seaport Village (shops, cafes), USS Midway, Gas Lamp District (restaurants, bars, shops), as well as Petco Park (home of the Padres). Furthermore, public transit is readily accessible. The Green line of the trolley system runs along Harbor Drive, which is directly across the street from the hotel. I purchased a 1-day pass for $5 and took the trolley to several places, including Old town and Little Italy. Additionally, you can easily reach Coronado Island using a combination of trolley and bus (#901).

3. First class room and staff: The room was very quiet, clean, and recently renovated. I stayed in the North tower and had a fantastic unobstructed view of the harbor. The staff members were all very helpful, friendly, and polite.

I would definitely stay at the Manchester Grand Hyatt on my return trips to the beautiful city of San Diego!

Room Tip: Higher floors in North tower have excellent views of the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stayed at the Hyatt this week for a conference. This is a stately hotel in a great location right on Sea Harbor.

The staff was very efficient, friendly and attentive. My only complaint is that my room on the 27th floor smelled like stale smoke. It appeared that a fragrance was pumped through the vent toast the smell. I was told that this was a smoke free room. Another conference attendee staying on the same floor mentioned the smoke smell as well. Unfortunately the combination of the smoke and fragrance gave me a terrible headache

My room had a fantastic view of the bay and Sea Port Village.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelSnobMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I recently stayed for a week during a conference and was pleased with experience from a personal and professional experience. During the conference, their AV staff was extremely attentive and helpful, making sure everything ran smoothly. (My rechargeable batteries died right before my presentation and a member of the staff quickly replaced them, saving the day!) The event staff, from the technical side to the food, was top notch.
From a personal perspective, it was also a wonderful stay. There are two large pools to relax in after a long day of conferences. *Tip, if it's a bit breezy for your tastes at the main pool, go up one floor to the Adult Only pool. There is better wind coverage there.
The food in the main hotel bar was tasty and reasonably priced, but you don't feel "trapped" in this hotel and forced to eat inside. There are very inexpensive, water-front cafes within steps of the rear entrance to the hotel. You can wander along the water and have access to a variety of shops and a different place to eat each night.
If you feel like getting out to see more of San Diego, public transportation is short walk from the front door. Great location!

Room Tip: Rooms at the facing the pool/at the back of the hotel are more likely to experience faint ringing fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crowski1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Crowski1,

Thank you so much for sharing your nice comments about our hotel from your most recent stay with us. We are so happy to hear that you were well taken care of and AVT was able to help you during your last minute struggle with your batteries. We are also happy to hear that you had enjoyed our food and beverage option both on and offsite, as we feel our location is top-notch. We hope you have the chance to visit San Diego again sometime soon and hope to welcome you once more.

Thank you again for sharing!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from May 1-4. We had never been to San Diego and decided to splurge to get the corner room with floor to ceiling windows. What a view! At night we slept with the shades up and were surrounded by the beautiful harbor lights of the Midway and Seaport Village. We could also see Coronado Island. It was absolutely close to everything...you could walk..take a trolley...At the urging of friends we did visit the Hotel Del in Coronado. While its location on the beach was fantastic, I would not trade our room at the Manchester Hyatt for anything. Even the lobby was gorgeous [much better than the dark, small lobby of the Del]. I hope we can get back to San Diego and we will definitely stay at this Hyatt.

Room Tip: the corner rooms are a beautiful experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaithPrevails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear ditchdims,

Thank you for sharing such nice comments about our hotel and your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are glad you took advantage of the amazing views our Corner rooms have to offer! The floor to ceiling windows are definitely the way to go. Considering that this was your first visit to San Diego, we are honored that you chose to stay with us and are glad to hear about your intention to return. We hope the hotel contributed to the many memories of your visit and do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is minutes from the airport. Taxi was $13. Hotel has a shuttle and were quoted $16 for two people. Taxi to the zoo was $15. Hotel was next to the Redline and were able to get an all day pass for $5 each. Additional all day passes were less because you first have to pay for the card (I think the card was $2). Two stops to Little Italy and 5 stops to Old Town.

Across the street is Kansas City BBQ. A dive bar with excellent BBQ, cheap beer, and was seen on Top Gun. We were able to walk to the Gaslamp District for dinner where there are restaurants and bars from casual to black tie. Seaport Village is located immediately behind the hotel, which is a variety of shops and cafes/coffee shops/desserts. The Convention Center is a 5 minute walk.

The USS Midway is within walking distance. As is Petco Park, home of the Padres.

The hotel cleaning staff was excellent. I requested a few toiletries on a comment card and all was delivered. Our window looked over the pool and fire pit area. We were able to see the harbor, but not the sunset due to the other tower of the hotel unfortunately.

Hotel has a coffee shop with some breakfast and snack items, as well as several restaurants. We only went to the coffee shop which I would liken to a Starbucks.

Overall, we were happy with the hotel. Didn't spend much time there due to exploring the city in between business meetings. In my opinion was overpriced, however. ($289/night was the discounted group rate).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BocciCrazedIowans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The renovations help to make this hotel a top stop for travelers! The staff is always so helpful and polite! Great location to enjoy a baseball game, dinner at the Gaslamp District, or venture over to Seaport Village and the Midway Museum.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMM60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear GMM60750,

Thank you for sharing such nice candid comments about your most recent stay with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit. We are very please to hear your positive reactions to our renovation and especially to our service. We keep service at a constant top priority at our hotel and are happy to hear that you were well taken care of. Thank you for taking advantage of our fantastic location as well. It appears you definitely made the most of your stay with us!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#12 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 3,717 reviews
Downtown
The Westin San Diego
The Westin San Diego
#43 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#70 of 282 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 stars 4,218 reviews
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#34 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 4,436 reviews
Downtown
The Westgate Hotel
The Westgate Hotel
#26 of 282 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#49 Family Hotel in San Diego
#54 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#54 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing