We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kansas City
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superior Location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while attending a conference. Was delighted as my arrival was 8:00 AM and I was prepared to stow my bags upon arrival with the bellman when he informed me I most likely could get my room due to hotel occupany level. I love it when there is coordination among all employees to the benefit of the customer! Overall a very nice hotel, with a huge lobby and comfy public areas for relaxing. Located right at the harbor, next to Seaport Village so there is an abundance of casual dining options for a quick bite. Across the street from the trolly stop which takes you to old town. Also near Gaslight and the ferry to Coronado so a car isn't a requirement, which is unusual in California!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear PerryCrume,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews to grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are also thrilled that you enjoyed our spectacular location as well as the staff's service to you. We keep service as a top priority here at Hyatt and we are glad to see that our coordination of communication among employees made your stay more enjoyable!

Thank you again for sharing and come see us again soon in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,189
    2,102
    657
    237
    177
See reviews for
1,424
1,525
218
3,484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed in this lovely hotel for two nights for some R & R before a convention else where. So happy we made this choice! Great location, an easy walk from the Gaslamp District and other attractions. The concierge staff was sooo helpful. Very clean, modern rooms, impressive lobby with awesome reception staff at desk and bell staff. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emptynesteralmost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear emptynesteralmost,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews to grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are thrilled that you enjoyed the newly renovated rooms, our Grand Lobby, our spectacular location, and especially our staff. We always keep service a top priority here at Hyatt. So when we receive compliments about our staff and service levels it really shows us that what we are doing to accommodate our guests is working.

Thank you again for sharing and come see us again soon in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was expecting just another convention hotel -- what a pleasant surprise we found in the Manchester Grand Hyatt. I had seen it from the outside many times before, but the two huge towers made it look just the other cookie cutter hotels. This Hyatt really offers a lot more and you can sense it the moment you walk in the elegantly decorated lobby, with lovely rugs and dark wood plus absolutely beautiful floral displays -- it just left us with that "wow" reaction. The service was excellent during the whole week of our stay. In particular I have to mention that room service offered a much better value here than I have seen recently at hotels - with attentive service - on time and hot food. The view from the hotel is great, especially from the lively bar on the top floor that offers panoramic views. We loved the location of the hotel on the Harbor. Last but not least, it was a special treat to bring our small dog along. The hotel is "dog friendly" but don't let that be a concern: the hotel maintenance is outstanding inside and outside where the beautiful landscaping adds to the atmosphere.

Room Tip: Book a room with an ocean view to enjoy the amazing vistas of San Diego and Coronado .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lilian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lilian M,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews to grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are ecstatic that you found our hotel's decorative elements fascinating, as that "wow" factor is something we are always trying to achieve for our guests. We are also glad you noted that the service was great as our service levels always remain a top priority and your satisfaction with our service is something we always look forward to.

Thank you again for sharing and come see us again soon in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. We were greeted by a very friendly person (Izla) at the front desk and were offered three options for rooms even though we arrived six hours before check-in. We stayed in the Seaport Tower. The hotel is in the middle of a large renovation project, however, our room was not remodeled yet. The room was much like other hotels - nothing special. There were stains in the carpet and on the comforter. The concierge and bell staff were excellent whenever we had any questions. The hotel's location is in a great spot in downtown San Diego. The Seaport Village is directly behind the hotel and all of downtown is within walking distance. There are great views of the Navy ships and sailboats from the hotel. The pool area is a great area for lunch or play with excellent views of the bay. There are nice options for food and drinks within the hotel with additional options very close by. I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming to town for work or for pleasure.

Room Tip: You can ask for Bay views but were told that it was an additional $30/night, which we weren't aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RandySSchafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Front desk clerk was welcoming, helpful and when she heard we were there to say goodbye to our deploying son, gave us an upgrade to a room with a spectacular view of the harbor and his ship. I have stayed here before and can vouch for the remodeling - rooms are elegant, contemporary and comfortable with flat screen tv, coffee maker, refrigerator and safe of course. Bathroom was large and spotless. Elevators were swift. Breakfast buffet was included in our stay - wide array of choices including made to order omelettes, waffles, pastries, breads, fresh juices, good coffee, lox, cream cheese and bagels, lots of wonderful fresh fruit including melons, berries, papaya, etc. Service was again terrific. Pools were crowded with lots of families on spring break - but they are much larger than the Hilton Bay View. Towels and chaise lounges plentiful. Had drinks in the top floor bar - strong, fun specialty drinks again with an unbeatable view. Service was spot on. The hotel is within walking distance of many sights, restaurants, cafes and public transport. We felt perfectly safe walking back at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room in the harbor tower on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lasemuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Lasemuse,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback here on TripAdvisor. We pay very close attention to these reviews to help us grow and evolve as needed. That being said we are happy to hear that you had enjoyed your most recent stay with us.

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed the spectacular views that our hotel as well as the newly renovated rooms. We are very excited to be able to have our guests experience them.

Once again, thank you for sharing and please come visit us again soon in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great views. Great location. Stayed here for a conference plus there were many locals for the Wine and Food fest. Front desk service was excellent. I stayed 4 nights, and every day I needed to consult the front desk about local venues, travel directions, questions about my bill, and they were always extremely helpful and super friendly. The culture with the staff seems to be very positive and it shows. Must be great management. Staying at the Hilton down the road in a couple of days. Will be interesting to compare the 2.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spearchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear spearchuck,

Thank you for sharing your candid feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We pay close attention to these reviews to grow and evolve as needed. That being said, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We are thrilled that the service at the front desk was able to offer you great service whenever needed. Our service levels always remain a top priority at Hyatt, so to know that you are well taken care of tells us what we are doing is working. I will be sure to pass these nice comments to the front office manager.

Thank you again for sharing and come see us again soon in America's Finest City!

Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

The room I had was really nice with a great view of the water and city. The view was great in the day and at night. The room was a nice size and good freebies in the bathroom.

Don't really like the fitness room being so far away. It's okay if you're working out after work, but exercising in the morning *sigh*. I'll just work out in the room.

I really liked the club lounge. Had a great selection for breakfast and "dinner". Would love to stay here more often while in San Diego.

There was a deli in the lobby area that had a great roasted eggplant sandwich. Ate there for dinner both nights. Didn't break the bank either.

I'd definitely recommend this place if you have a little status with Hyatt to appreciate all the great perks.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SassyLibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,114 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing