We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Entering the massive reception area you can immediately see that this hotel has more character than the usual characterless hotels found in the States. To the right of reception is a large bar, although the prices were slightly more expensive than bars outside it was still reasonable and the service was good. Next door to the bar there is the 'Hot milk shop' with a dash of coffee called Starbucks, absolutely hate this chain and its products hence I did not use it.

To the left of reception is the concierge desk and another bar which really is very pleasant with lovely decor and character. Information given to me differed to what a colleague was given regarding transport options to a local mall, I was told that a Taxi at $20 approx each way was the only option other than a public bus, my colleague was told to take the MTS at $2.50 each way, make of that what you will...

My room was lovely with two large double beds and a fantastic view of the pool area and the harbour. The room looked like it was new. The beds were comfortable and spotlessly clean. There was also a desk, large flat screen TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities. The Bathroom, although small was more than adequate with all the usual amenities again it was very clean and well maintained. Internet on this visit was included with the room and was very fast with no connection issues.

Overall this was a great stay and all the staff that I encountered were very helpful and pleasant, if there was one thing that I would criticise is that these modern hotels have heavy doors which when left to close on there own produce a loud bang which, for me, is not only very annoying but on my first night I was woken 3 times by inconsiderate guests slamming doors (not the fault of the hotel though).

I cannot comment on value as this was a company booking.

Room Tip: My room over looked the Harbour and pool area which provided fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulwflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,253
    2,135
    663
    238
    180
See reviews for
1,451
1,538
222
3,537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Manchester is a big hotel that had a convention on when we stayed. Despite this, check-in and check-out were quick, and the staff continues to be helpful and friendly. The room we had was a King with a nice view, and was clean, large and comfortable. The only issue we noted was that housekeeping could be rather late in the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was recently at this hotel for a conference for most of a week, and it had a lot of great points and only a few disappointing factors. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, and you can even open the windows somewhat, and I had a beautiful view of the harbor and pool area from my room. The internet was very speedy, and the in-room dining was a bit pricy as expected, but it was very tasty and served piping hot. When I didn't feel well one day, the room service delivery staff were very hospitable and offered to assist me in making the room more comfortable, and it was very kind of the man and much appreciated.

For such a large hotel, the elevators were incredibly fast for all but my checkout time (which was understandably the rest of the conference attendees' time as well), and the concierge, front desk, and store staff were all great. There are also a lot of nice touristy things in quick walking distance, including a great whale and dolphin watching cruise.

The downside to me was the incredibly high price of food and beverages not only on the property, but anywhere in the vicinity. While I expected CA to be expensive, I was not please to pay $6.50 for a bottle of water, over $25 for lunch every time (after 2 days I finally found a Subway and a small sandwich shop within 10-15 minutes' walk, but it took effort to find them), etc. However, the hotel's food was mostly very good and the convenience certainly made up for some of the pricing.

Room Tip: I was on the 20th floor of the Harbor Tower in a corner room and found it delightful - great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayTheBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is big. The front desk staff were nice. The room was newly renovated, and nice, but smelled like it had been recently renovated, and the bathroom was relatively small. The hotel gym is big and has lots of equipment of all kinds. The lobby bar was fine. Service was good, food was good. Top of the Hyatt was nice for an evening drink. Overall, the hotel is good, but because of its size, feels impersonal. If you're looking for something intimate, I wouldn't stay here, but if you don't mind big and commercial, you'll be fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maorish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Recently stayed here for a conference for 4 nights. Everything ran very smoothly. Excellent view of the harbor, rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. Comfortable beds and housekeeping did a great job every day. Elevators do run quickly as well as I know the hotel was hosting several conferences but it is so big, you never seemed crowded. Fitness room is very very good, pool area is beautiful. Location of the hotel couldn't be better. Seaport Village is right out the back door of the hotel with lots of fine dining and casual places to eat as well. Wonderful walking path that goes on for what seems forever along the harbor. The Midway ship is literally a 10 minute walk, ferry to Coronado Island also just a five minute walk. Gaslamp District just a few blocks away and San Diego Trolley is just across the street. Concierge was extremely helpful as well. Would highly recommend this hotel, service was excellent!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

I recently stayed at the Grand Hyatt for three nights leading up to and including the beginning of a major conference staged at the hotel. From the moment we arrived by taxi from the airport with attentive but not groveling curbside help, to the unrushed and pleasant check-in by Kirk (Ft Worth) who took the time to get our room according to our last minute request and pointed out several places to look for lunch, to our check out who despite the long line still was pleasant and jocular. The room was recently renovated and while doesn't get high points from a style point of view it was extremely functional (I still like that one has a window one can open to get fresh air in), the internet was complimentary, and the room cleaning staff friendly, generous and efficient. The hotel is right next to the bay overlooking Coronado Island, one can walk down to the Embarcadero (a small park filled with runners in the mornings) where I sat and watched a seal catch its breakfast and the near by Sea World staff "walking" their dolphin (using a motor boat and small fish to keep it interested). In addition, the hotel is right next to downtown and the Gaslamp District filled with shops and all sorts of restaurants from the bar scene to mexican to even a Ralph's (grocery store).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank centrepa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location is great -- close to shopping, restaurants, and trolley, and is only a short taxi ride away from the airport. Efficient check-in and check-out. I was particularly impressed by the friendly staff -- everyone was courteous and ready to help. My room was comfortable and immaculate, overlooking the beautiful harbour. Internet was fast. In short, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TotoroInForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#18 of 278 in San Diego
4,328 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#79 of 278 in San Diego
4,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 278 in San Diego
5,198 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing