We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #25 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Daleville, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Manchester Grand Hyatt for 4 days in late February. Our stay was fantastic. The hotel is close to the water and Seaport Village.
What made it so great was Phillip the concierge. He was kind, friendly and extremely helpful. He took all the time in the world to help make our trip the best it could be.
Kudos to Phillip!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,130
    2,077
    639
    231
    172
See reviews for
1,393
1,502
213
3,438
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,510)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location for siteseeing. This was my first trip to SD and it was great to be beside Seaport Village and the harbor. I was able to easily walk to restaurants and shops. It is the largest hotel (1,600 rooms) in SD but they treat you like you are the only guest. Great service in Redfield's on Valentine's Night due to a missed plane flight. The concierge was excellent every time I asked questions I got friendly & knowledgeable responses. Room was nice with a very good view. The only issue we had is one day our room wasn't made up until we asked after 3 PM. Valets did a great job getting our car on time. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vlohokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5days on a business conference and was pleased with this Hotel. Yes, they are renovating, which can be a little noisy from time to time, but never early in the morning or late at night. A great view of the bay right out the window, easy access to the conference facilities, and lots to do after the meeting makes this Hotel a good destination spot. Restaurants were good, but as in most of these cooking cutter conference centers, they have 5 star pricing and 3 star food. You have to leave the hotel to get a normal breakfast for under $50.00 for two. Front desk was professional and most had a smile. Bell staff acted eager to help, but when the function of actually moving the luggage to the charter busses was suppose to happen, they were an hour late getting it to the curb. That is unexceptible. When questioned, we were told that it was on the way, but that was just a stall tactic. A gratuity included group is not a priority I suppose. We had a refurbished room and they were very nice. I liked the modern look, but a shallow, flat sink may look good on paper, but is really not very functional. Nice touch to have a fire pit by the pool, especially since it was in the low 40's at the time at night. All in all, a little over priced in the food and beverage area, but very well laid out facility. I hope our company comes back.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DannyG985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is a beautiful hotel. Great location, easy access to everything downtown, easy to get there from airport or highway. Staff is unbelievably nice and helpful. Top of the Hyatt lounge is lovely and spectacular views. The 2 towers are separated by the lobby, so be prepared to walk a bit between them.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on a higher floor with a bay view-well worth it! Check for deals on price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The lobby is extremely impressive with very nice paintings/art work throughout. It has the "wow" factor! We stayed on the 32nd floor in the "south" tower in a double room. The room was recently renovated and had a nice modern feel to it. Excellent views of the bay and the Midway. Our floor was extremely quiet and I very rarely heard any noise from other guests or staff. We decided to pay the extra money to have access to the Grand Club on the 33rd floor. I must say that it was worth it. The Grand Club itself is extremely large with lots of seating options. Continental breakfast consistently included a great selection of coffee, juices, muffins, 4 healthy cereals, 1 sweet cereal, hot oatmeal, bagels, croissants, fresh fruit, lox, granola parfaits, Greek yoghurt and a nice egg dish. In the evening, they had lovely hors d'oeuvres that could easily count as a dinner. The refrigerator was well stocked with Pepsi products, bottled water and Perrier. Overall, the food presentation felt higher end and it always felt like there was plenty. The staff there was attentive and friendly. We paid about $75 extra a night for this amenity. We traveled as a family of 4 and we could easily have spent $75 on breakfast alone at the hotel restaurant. We also enjoyed being within walking distance of Seaport Village. The swimming pool was large and there were plenty of lounge chairs. They also have a nice sports area with a basketball court, badminton, horseshoes, shuffle board and 2 full size tennis courts. A great experience. My only complaint is that traffic can get backed up in the parking garage when everyone is trying to leave in the morning for sight seeing. Do not hesitate to stay here!

Room Tip: Be sure to request a Bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jismithll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were there for 2 nights, 3 days. I will say that the room we got was was very nice - last room in the hallway was spacious and clean. with water views -which was really nice. I think that for paying almost $200 a night that I should get WIFI for free. If other small businesses can do that - I understand it is extra income for Hyatt but seriously at $200, i should get it for free.
At checkout, we were charged $5 for a water bottle that we never used or touched!
I had left a reading material - like a workbook and called Lost and Found the night that we had checked out and was told they would call me back the following day -- no calls came. Had to call them again and person who answered call was unprofessional and the call ended with them having no record of finding it or anyone returning it. I believe this simple matter can be handled better since it is Hyatt but I am disappointed as I had expected more being its Hyatt.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossSit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We live a short 55 minutes from The Manchester Hyatt yet when when we stay it is if we are a million miles away from our busy lives. They have recently renovated the "regency room" renaming it "the club", the views are spectacular and the the food and service beyond five star.
We stayed for my birthday with our two sons and families and were able to all stay on the same floor with just outstanding rooms.
The location is the best in the SeaPort village area.
We have been staying at Hyatt's for decade's, this is our favorite.

Room Tip: We have never had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preferredposture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#13 of 279 in San Diego
4,189 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#74 of 279 in San Diego
4,738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 279 in San Diego
5,047 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing