We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stay during convention”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #23 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice stay during convention”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at this hotel during a convention. This huge hotel surprised me with very nice accommodations. They don't always go hand and hand. Staff members were friendly and able to address guest needs. The waterfront location was great and it was a quick walk to the Gaslamp Quarter. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank abmartin71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,980
    2,017
    621
    224
    170
See reviews for
1,354
1,472
207
3,285
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,481)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Parker, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here one night and was very pleased. The location is right next to Seaport Village and a few short blocks to the convention center and the new stadium. If you don't mind staying on higher floors, your view only gets better the higher you are. The front desk was very helpful in helping me with room choices since I was traveling alone. Parts of the hotel had just recently been refurbished and I had one that was very new, sleek and modern decor. So ask for a room that has been updated. The staff throughout the hotel was very attentive. I ate at the Sally Restaurant that is on the marina. Nice and meal was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the bay and harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DollyparkerRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear DollyparkerRN,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with us here on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to here that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, our renovations are near complete as we enter 2013 and we are happy you were able to experience our brand new guest room product! We are happy to hear the staff was attentive as our service levels are our highest priority. Again, thank you for sharing and we hope to see you again sometime soon in America's Finest City!

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've stayed here many times and always been impressed. Location is fantastic, within easy reach of the harbor and town. It is a huge hotel, but nevertheless seems relaxed and efficient. The views from the harbor tower are particularly good, and the top floor bar is a wonderful spot to relax at the end of the day and enjoy the views of the city going to sleep.

Room Tip: Upper level harbor view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Gerard M,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty to our property when you are in San Diego. We agree that the Top of the Hyatt is a lounge experience in San Diego that everyone should enjoy since it truly is one of a kind. Be sure to come see us again soon!

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

The service you receive from the valet service, to the front desk, to the housekeeping staff , etc. at the Manchester Grand Hyatt is Superb. The Kin spa located in the hotel is very nice. Starbucks located off lobby is very convenient. The hotel has many meeting rooms for conventions, which was the reason for our trip to San Diego. I cant say enough about how friendly and helpful the staff were to us. This was our second stay at this hotel and I would not hesitate to return again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Gabrielle,

Thank you so much for sharing your candid feedback here on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate all of the nice comments you have for all of the staff that supported you during your stay. Service remains to be our number one priority, and to see reviews like yours puts a smile to our face. Please feel free to reach out to us on our social network channels and update us on your next stay at our property! Hope to hear from you soon!

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Our first room was renovated but small due to the fact that we had a three year old.We upgraded to a corner room that was much bigger but not renovated, it was still suitable and offered spectacular views. The fridge was handy and the bed was comfortable. Every staff member was friendly, helpful and generally seemed to enjoy working there. We had the Grand Club included in our nightly fee and with our 3 yr old was worth every penny, they should have free wifi in there. Although that would encourage loitering. The hotel is near the USS Midway , the Trolley , small walking park,seaport village,and gaslamp quarter is a 7 minute walk and the convention centre is 4 minutes away.It's been a while since we had such a pleasant stay at a hotel and next time we go to San Diego we will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merritt Island, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

First, it is a pretty hotel, beautiful lobby and nice staff, I just have a few concerns and things I would like to make consumers as well as the staff aware of.
When I booked, I booked a "Premium Bay View" room and the reservation said so. On the day of arrival, I received an email to do online check-in to expedite the process, so I did so, but realized it didn't specify "premium bay view" after I did it, but only "premium view." So I called up and spoke to a nice woman who explained that "premium view can be city or bay view" and I explained that I wanted and my reservation said bay view. She told me the system had me in a city view, but did switch me to a bay view. So I did not like this at all, had I not called, I would not have received what I reserved and what my reservation stated. Seemed quite "bait and switch-y" to me. I also did not like that the photo of a bay view room show two windows in the corner, one directly facing bay and one on side. My bay view premium room had only one window and it was on the side, not facing the bay directly, so rather than my view being the bay and Coronado, it was the building next door, USS Midway, Naval base and a sliver of the bay...again, not what it seemed it would be and again, "bait and switch-y" to me. Other that, it was a nice room, except that the TV didn't work when I got to the room and had to wait for someone (about 40 minutes) to come up and figure out why TV didn't work.
This one is pet-peeve and specific to this room only (2740, if I remember right), but it was a modern sink, a shallow square tub-like sink on a pedestal, and it wasn't level...water would pool in the front right corner and not drain. You could easily see the sink was not level but looking at difference between mirror and sink. How can housekeeping and maintenance not see this?
Proximity to Gas Light District is good, easy walk. Plenty to see and do in area.
Food in hotel seemed a bit pricey, but to be expected considering location and such.
Maid service one day was not until after 2pm, and then she left no new towels, so wife and I were left to a single bath towel. Maid also replaced the coffee used, but not creamer/sugar sets.
It's a pretty hotel, but I left disappointed, and if you read all my other reviews, I am not one to give too many, if any, bad reviews, but considering the cost involved and the "bait and switch" feelings of how all this went on, I am not sure I'd stay here again.
By the way, even from the 27th floor and bay side, you could still hear the bells of the trolley at all hours, that surprised me, being so high up. It must echo off between the two buildings.
Management can feel free to contact me for additional information or resolution.

Room Tip: Make sure you demand what you reserve. Do not expect your reservation to be a bay view just because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKimmey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just spent a week in a corner high room in the Seaport tower, with amazing views over the USS Midway and general harbour vista. So dazzling were the views that wen working I had to drop the lighter of the two blinds to stop myself from being too distracted.

Although attending a conference, so limited direct contact with the restaurants and other facilites, I found everyone I dealt with to be gracious and helpful. The team in the Club Lounge were perfect hosts and made up for the rather sparse offerings at times other than breakfast. (I suppose the comparison to club lounges in Asia isn't really fair).

The setting is great with esay access to the harbour-side attractions and disney-esq collection of restaurants and shops clustered by the marina, all rather manufactured, but quite pleasant. you can head out the main entrance and wal about ten minutes to be in the gas lamp district, which is fun and not-at-all manufactured.

I would definitely want to come back here agian, especially if I could have a similar room, high up on the harbour end.

Room Tip: King corner, high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkhamstedJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear BerkhamstedJules,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room with spectacular views that are sincerely one of a kind. We are also happy to hear that you had taken advantage of our Grand Club lounge which is an area of the hotel I have always recommended to anyone staying at the hotel. We love our centralized location with easy access to many shops and restaurants. Exactly what we like our guests to take advantage of.

Hope to see you again in San Diego very soon!

Best,
Kristin Helms
Marketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,058 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#72 of 279 in San Diego
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#36 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,887 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Downtown
The Westin San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing