We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Ranked #26 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
london england
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

stayed here for 5 nights from 1 dec. had a club room on the upper floor. could not fault the hotel from check in to departure.great location, views, staff etc. i would only stay in this hotel when i return to san diego. quality.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank micklondonengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,183
    2,101
    656
    236
    176
See reviews for
1,420
1,524
217
3,480
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,522)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clarita, California
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Really enjoyed this for a business conference. SO close to Seaport Village, 10 minutes from Sea World. Better than average gym, cool rooftop pool and firepits. 40th-floor bar was nice and the food at the conference was good. The area was much improved over what I remember for San Diego (5-10 years ago) and there were a lot of people out running and enjoying the area. The hotel is dog friendly. Lots of good places to sit and have mini-meetings, and seemed like lots of good dinner/breakfast places in Seaport Village. As a side note, my family came down the last night and some of the casual dining places in Seaport Village are very pricey (too high for the quality) BUT the carousel is a good deal, open late, and gives kids things to do. A fair amount of places to walk/jog in the area.

Room Tip: You do hear the trolley. I was on 27th floor in Seaport Tower and it had been recently remodeled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCVerMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear SCVerMF,
We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us while visiting San Diego for a business conference. The city has grown a lot over the past few years and downtown San Diego is truly vibrant with all the new additions! Also, you are correct, there are some great running trails along the bay and embarcadero park. Our Concierge desk is happy to provide running trails for all visitors interested. Thank you for the nice feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It has been awhile since I have traveled to San Diego...but I could never forget this beautiful hotel! Everything was absolutely amazing! Upon arrival, check in was a breeze and i immediately headed over to the Spa and was able to get the full service relaxation treatment ( massage, facial, pedicure). It was so relaxing! The whole ambiance of the hotel is just perfect! The location is just breath taking and so serene! The views are incredible and just a block away from the eclectic downtown scene!!!

Very impressive! Hope to return sooner rather than later!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the bayside! You may see a few Naval (?) ships!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Off2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Off2C,
Thank you for the wonderful comments here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn of your recent stay and glad to hear you took advantage of our Kin Spa during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego!

Warmest Regards,

Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is pretty elegant-looking. The staff is great. Higher rooms have lovely views. We had one on the 25th floor, that looked out on the bay and the Seaport Village. Weather was cloudy, so the martinis on the 40th floor weren't as enjoyable as they would have been on a clear evening. BUT the next morning it was sunny and clear. If you look at my pics, you can imagine what the view from the top (40th floor bar) would have been!

Room Tip: Ask for one high up, on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Instead of staying at an airport hotel for a recent conference, we got a great deal online for 4 nights at the Hyatt Grand last week.

Considering the price we secured for the room, the parking (in-line with comparable hotels downtown) and other pricey amenities were overlooked with this review - if we were looking to save money, we probably wouldn't have chosen a hotel with "Grand" in the name.

The lobby is amazing, the Top of the Hyatt bar a great scene (albeit pricey), and the service staff was wonderful. The location was ideally situated a few blocks from the Gaslamp and an easy drive to Coronado, the Airport, and the northern / western beach towns. The adjacent Sea Port Village is touristy and, again, pricey, but that was half the reason we were there, so enjoyed that environment as well.

We were upgraded upon check-in to the Harbor Tower, which was critical b/c the room had a refrigerator to store our little one's milk (and beer and wine, of course). The room was elegant with a massive TV (50 inch, "tilt-able" flat-screen). The glass table/countertops were aesthetically appealing, and the bathroom left nothing to be desired. We actually had to cover the circular glass table with the extra blanket in the closet to ensure we didn't need another trip to urgent care with the baby.

3 nitpicks with the hotel, one might be explained with the ongoing renovation that was clearly stated in booking.

- The elevators were, at times, painfully slow. No big deal, but sort of expected better. Perhaps this is being resolved with the renovations.

- As a few have alluded to, the service left room on the table for improvement. We requested the pack and play at check-in, then mentioned again when our bags (very quickly) arrived. We left for a few hours and came back to an empty room. After calling customer care, we again requested the pack and play. We left, returned, and it was set up. Again, not a deal breaker, but could have been performed better.

-The second request was the result of waking up morning #1 with pink eye. After getting the necessary treatment, we called to have 1 pillow brought to the room. We were forced to call again 30 minutes later, and after another 30 minutes the pillow finally arrived. This took painfully long for such an easy request.

Other than these couple flaws, we were overwhelmed with the knowledge and courtesy put forth by the front desk upon check in, the bellhop, the parking attendant, and the service staff at the 2 restaurants we enjoyed drinks.

A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbor Tower, upper floor. If unaware, become a member of Hyatt Gold Passport for compl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greener255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeside, California, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night. I was able to get the winter rate and i stayed in a corner king room. Even with the cheaper rate, it was still $200. The room was nice and had great views, but the bed was not really that comfortable. All of the employees there were very nice and helpful, except for the valet who refused to let me stop in front of the hotel at check in unless i paid him the valet rate. When i told him i would self park, he told me to move my car immediately and have me an attitude. As expected, the drinks and food is way over priced here. Overall, its the Hyatt, is gonna be nice and expensive and i have no major complaints.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakeside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed. Clearly, the location and facilities for meetings are top notch as would be expected of a hotel this size. But what I didn't expect is the friendliness of the service. Every, single employee I passed greeted me. Every, single one. I had stopped expecting that from a busy hotel with several hundred rooms with many simultaneous conventions going at the same time. Bravo - you impressed me - and that's not easy.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ahk13d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Ahk13d,
We're ecstatic to hear we impressed you! It is our number one goal to provide a lasting impression with each and every guest, and it sounds like you experienced some of this first rate hospitality during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Downtown
Omni San Diego Hotel
Omni San Diego Hotel
#14 of 278 in San Diego
4,256 reviews
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#76 of 278 in San Diego
4,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hotel Indigo San Diego Gaslamp Quarter
Downtown
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
#37 of 278 in San Diego
5,110 reviews
Downtown
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Diego Bay Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Property: Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Address: One Market Place, San Diego, CA 92101-7714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Downtown , Marina
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#13 Green Hotel in San Diego
#48 Family Hotel in San Diego
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Diego
#53 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego 4*
Number of rooms: 1628
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership. The Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego is the ultimate waterfront urban hotel and spa and tallest waterfront building on the West Coast rising high above magnificent San Diego Bay. Panoramic bay and city views welcome you in all of our 1628 newly renovated guestrooms including 76 suites. A 25,000 sq/ft roof top pool deck overlooks San Diego Bay and has 2-whirl pools, a pool bar, cabanas, fire pit and stage area. The Grand lobby is filled with marble, brass, dark stained woods and several grand paintings all lit naturally by 3 stories of windows, which look out over a massive 5 lane porte cochere giving the guest a sense of arrival not seen outside of Las Vegas. The hotel has two marina-view restaurants, a full service Marilyn Monroe Spa and Salon, a sky lounge, a lobby bar, coffee house, a deli and an upscale lounge/restaurant featuring specialty martinis, mojitos and California cuisine. The hotel has over 130,000 sq/ft of meeting space, featuring a 34,000 sq/ft exhibit hall, a 30,000 & 25,000 sq/ft ballrooms next to each other, a 10,000 sq/ft Jr Ballroom and 41 meeting rooms and 45 conference suites. We hope to welcome you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel San Diego
Hyatt San Diego
San Diego Hyatt
Manchester Hyatt San Diego
Grand Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing