We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
J Street Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Island Inn(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Sofia Hotel(San Diego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (8,125)
Filter reviews
8,124 results
Traveler rating
4,653
2,288
714
273
196
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,653
2,288
714
273
196
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseaport villageharbor toweruss midwayconvention centerhuge hotelwithin walking distanceadult poolcoronado islandgaslamp quartercorner roomself parkingthe gas lamp districtbusiness conferencepetco parkfire pitfloordowntown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6,182 - 6,187 of 8,124 reviews
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It has been awhile since I have traveled to San Diego...but I could never forget this beautiful hotel! Everything was absolutely amazing! Upon arrival, check in was a breeze and i immediately headed over to the Spa and was able to get the full service relaxation treatment ( massage, facial, pedicure). It was so relaxing! The whole ambiance of the hotel is just perfect! The location is just breath taking and so serene! The views are incredible and just a block away from the eclectic downtown scene!!!

Very impressive! Hope to return sooner rather than later!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the bayside! You may see a few Naval (?) ships!!!
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Off2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Off2C,
Thank you for the wonderful comments here on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to learn of your recent stay and glad to hear you took advantage of our Kin Spa during your time with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to sunny San Diego!

Warmest Regards,

Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel is pretty elegant-looking. The staff is great. Higher rooms have lovely views. We had one on the 25th floor, that looked out on the bay and the Seaport Village. Weather was cloudy, so the martinis on the 40th floor weren't as enjoyable as they would have been on a clear evening. BUT the next morning it was sunny and clear. If you look at my pics, you can imagine what the view from the top (40th floor bar) would have been!

Room Tip: Ask for one high up, on the water side.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyd G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Instead of staying at an airport hotel for a recent conference, we got a great deal online for 4 nights at the Hyatt Grand last week.

Considering the price we secured for the room, the parking (in-line with comparable hotels downtown) and other pricey amenities were overlooked with this review - if we were looking to save money, we probably wouldn't have chosen a hotel with "Grand" in the name.

The lobby is amazing, the Top of the Hyatt bar a great scene (albeit pricey), and the service staff was wonderful. The location was ideally situated a few blocks from the Gaslamp and an easy drive to Coronado, the Airport, and the northern / western beach towns. The adjacent Sea Port Village is touristy and, again, pricey, but that was half the reason we were there, so enjoyed that environment as well.

We were upgraded upon check-in to the Harbor Tower, which was critical b/c the room had a refrigerator to store our little one's milk (and beer and wine, of course). The room was elegant with a massive TV (50 inch, "tilt-able" flat-screen). The glass table/countertops were aesthetically appealing, and the bathroom left nothing to be desired. We actually had to cover the circular glass table with the extra blanket in the closet to ensure we didn't need another trip to urgent care with the baby.

3 nitpicks with the hotel, one might be explained with the ongoing renovation that was clearly stated in booking.

- The elevators were, at times, painfully slow. No big deal, but sort of expected better. Perhaps this is being resolved with the renovations.

- As a few have alluded to, the service left room on the table for improvement. We requested the pack and play at check-in, then mentioned again when our bags (very quickly) arrived. We left for a few hours and came back to an empty room. After calling customer care, we again requested the pack and play. We left, returned, and it was set up. Again, not a deal breaker, but could have been performed better.

-The second request was the result of waking up morning #1 with pink eye. After getting the necessary treatment, we called to have 1 pillow brought to the room. We were forced to call again 30 minutes later, and after another 30 minutes the pillow finally arrived. This took painfully long for such an easy request.

Other than these couple flaws, we were overwhelmed with the knowledge and courtesy put forth by the front desk upon check in, the bellhop, the parking attendant, and the service staff at the 2 restaurants we enjoyed drinks.

A great stay!

Room Tip: Ask for the Harbor Tower, upper floor. If unaware, become a member of Hyatt Gold Passport for complimentary wifi.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank greener255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed here on Saturday night. I was able to get the winter rate and i stayed in a corner king room. Even with the cheaper rate, it was still $200. The room was nice and had great views, but the bed was not really that comfortable. All of the employees there were very nice and helpful, except for the valet who refused to let me stop in front of the hotel at check in unless i paid him the valet rate. When i told him i would self park, he told me to move my car immediately and have me an attitude. As expected, the drinks and food is way over priced here. Overall, its the Hyatt, is gonna be nice and expensive and i have no major complaints.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lakeside83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Very impressed. Clearly, the location and facilities for meetings are top notch as would be expected of a hotel this size. But what I didn't expect is the friendliness of the service. Every, single employee I passed greeted me. Every, single one. I had stopped expecting that from a busy hotel with several hundred rooms with many simultaneous conventions going at the same time. Bravo - you impressed me - and that's not easy.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahk13d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KHelms, Manager at Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Ahk13d,
We're ecstatic to hear we impressed you! It is our number one goal to provide a lasting impression with each and every guest, and it sounds like you experienced some of this first rate hospitality during your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Warmest Regards,
Kristin Helms
eMarketing Manager
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews