We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel to get away, even while on business”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #164 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed December 10, 2010

I stayed several nights while attending a conference at the Hyatt Regency Mission Bay. I stayed in a room in the tower. The room was very comfortable and had great views of the sun setting over the bay-- absolutely beautiful. I had no complaints with the service.

Even though it was December, I enjoyed the pools and hot tub-- all were mostly empty, but I could imagine that it would get very crowded in the summer. The pool bar had good food and drinks, although typically priced for this class of hotel (mixed drinks $8 and up). I did not try the Red Marlin restaurant but a colleague who did said the food was excellent, though very expensive.

When booking this hotel, be aware of its location! As others have mentioned, although the property itself is beautiful it is not really in walking distance to much of anything. This makes it great for 'getting away from it all' but not the most ideal for tourists without a car. However, if you are like me and don't mind being adventurous, the #8 bus stops right outside the hotel and goes north to Pacific Beach, and south to Old Town. For $5 you can get an all day pass-- much cheaper than taking taxis everywhere! You can also walk from the hotel to SeaWorld-- ask the concierge to point you in the right direction. The walk is really beautiful along the bay, although you have to cross a busy highway at the end (with crosswalk and walk signal). It took me about 25 minutes each direction.

Overall I was extremely satisfied with my stay-- it really exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wr8507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,507)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,975 - 2,981 of 3,507 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2010

After reading some of the reviews here, I wasn't quite sure about this hotel but booked it because of the good rates during Thanksgiving week. What a lovely surprise! Yes, some things were expensive (parking, for instance), but we had a very good time and would enjoy a return stay. Our room was in the renovated tower--quite lovely with fantastic views. The staff was unfailingly helpful and enthusiastic. You can't really walk to any attractions, but many things are a quick ride by car or taxi. And the staff will provide directions to any locale. This is a very nice business class hotel, good for family trips to San Diego, or hanging out by the pool and spa. Not a resort, but a good hotel with reasonable amenities, warm hospitality, and excellent views for travelers looking for a mix of business and pleasure.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dianabb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

We went to San Diego for a fun vacation before we had our first child. This hotel was awesome, however, I only gave it four stars because of the location. They told us it was within walking distance to shops and restaurants, however, it was only close to a couple of restaurants one of which was extremely pricey. We loved the hotel but did not rent a car because we were told that everything we would need was within walking distance. This is true if you wanted to go to a pricey restaurant or a bagel shop but that was it. I would recommend the hotel if you rent a car. The spa was the most amazing spa I have ever been to!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawna33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights recently at the Hyatt Mission Bay resort in San Diego. I wasn't sure what to expect as had read some bad reviews on this site. I guess I was pleasantly surprised - the hotel was attractive, rooms nice, clean, pretty views, and great vegetation - lovely lush greenery, well maintained. On the downside, rooms were expensive and the on-site restaurant equally so. We ate a couple of cheap fish meals at the fish-fry place within walking distance along the marina. Even the wine wasn't too bad there for $3 a glass! I didn't have time to get into the pool but it looked nice and there were some nice poolside areas. The staff was helpful and welcoming. Internet connection in the room was expensive but reliable; they had a very roomy business centre where you could print your boarding pass free - useful. their conference catering, set-up and food were all fine. Being a northerner, I enjoyed the ease of drifting from indoors to outdoors for meetings and networking. Overall, though, not sure it was worth the $200+ nightly rate and it was also out of the way, requiring a $12-15 cab ride to get anywhere in the main part of town. Morning sun glistening on the marina waters is a sight that will stay with me though!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLCAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

My wife and spent 6 nights at this hotel. We checked in at around 6 pm and found our room to be exactly as pictured on the Website, with the bed facing the windows, which looked out on the water/marina, studded with yachts. We had several issues with the room, which we mentioned the next morning. All of the issues were taken care of right away (to our satisfaction) and on top of that, we were given a substantial discount on the first night's bill. The location could not be better - only about a mile's comfortable stroll through parkland to Sea World, right on the water with spectacular views of the sunset. We had a great balcony where we could sit with a drink and watch the sunset over the Pacific. (OK - we only glimpsed the ocean, but it was still wonderful.) We took the Old Town Trolley tour of San Diego - highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ooskus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Arrived on thursday night. The room was ok - though it did smell very musty. Once you were in the room for a few minutes you didn't notice the smell. The room had no dresser space. They charge for parking, internet and they don't have complimentary coffee in the morning. It was very pretty - lots of tropical plants. overall not worth the money - could have done a lot better with a Marriott.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomdaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

When we first pulled up I was a little worried because the buildings are pretty old, but I was pleasantlly surpirsed to see that everythign was very recently remodeled and in excellent shape. The property is beautiful and the pools are great. They have like 5 pools and 3 water slides all are heated. There was a zero depth entry pool that was great for my young daughter.

The staff were great and the service was very good. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and they were very accoomdodating.

We had two rooms in the tower facing the pools. During the week they were fine, but on the weekends we heard every sound from the peoople at the pool late at night. I was about ready to change rooms when I noticed things got quiet by Monday night. The rooms are very simple.....in good condition with flat screen TVs and balcoies and very comfortable beds and pillows. I only had two compliants besides all the noise from the pool area (which I'm listening to now as I type this).....there is not much storage and the thermostats are very inconsistent. We set both thermostats to 72 and one room was freezing cold while hte other one was really warm. The cold room wasn't hte problem....teh warm room we woudl have to set the thermostat to 60 to get it comfortable enough to sleep.

I walked as far as I could in each direction around the harbour and there isn't a single thing worth walking to and there is no where to eat off the hotel grounds besides a single hole in the wall restaurant. If you want to go anywhere you have to drive, which is pretty easy in San Diego, but I thought from the description of the hotel that the beach was only a few minutes away walking and that wasnt' the case.

For what we paid I thought it wa s good value. Just make sure you request to be opposite the pool if you don't want the noise and be prepared to drive everywhere.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoTravellerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#26 of 278 in San Diego
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#152 of 278 in San Diego
5,625 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $142 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing