We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #165 of 278 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed August 9, 2006

We just returned from four nights at this property. It was a VERY last minute trip for our daughter to visit Sea World. We normally stay at Paradise Point, but they were full. So I booked a corner, 1 bedroom suite on the 11th floor of the tower. When we arrived (the following day from making the reservation) we were informed that we could not open the balcony door due to renovations. I think they could have told me that when I made the reservation. Luckily, the balcony from the other room in the suite was ok, so we took it.

Keep in mind that I paid full price of about 365.00 per night for this room. The shower head was not even attached to the wall so it banged and moved around when used. Carpet was dirty. No fridge at the "wet bar". In fact, the only thing wet about this bar was the inside of the cabinet under the sink from a previous leak.
The remotes for the televisions did not work. All little things, but not something you would expect from a Hyatt property, or one that you pay $400.00 per night for. (with taxes and parking..another fee that they fail to tell you about.)

The veiw is great. Wonderful to watch the Sea World fireworks from the balcony each night. The pool is ok, though somewhat small for the size of the property. Food in Blue Bay was adequate but nothing special.

I would not recommend this property for anyone taking last minute trips and paying full price. If you can get it on priceline or somewhere as people have stated for around 100.00 or so it might be ok.
All of the staff was friendly, except for the front desk personnel. They need a little dose of charm school.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank psjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,467)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,249 - 3,255 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2006

This was our first time using Priceline. Once we had received the name of our hotel we quickly went to TripAdvisor to look up the reviews. After reading some of the bad reviews we were a bit worried. We arrived around 9:30 in the evening and went to check in. The employees were very friendly. We were then told that they had a room with a king bed for us. Well we had our children with us so that wasn't going to work! The lady helping us then found in her computer a free upgrade to an Executive Suite which we agreed to. We noticed right away that we were not in the main tower so we knew that this is where alot of reviewers had noted that they were unhappy being placed in the side buildings. We entered our room and found that it had a living room with a couch that could be made into a pull out bed and then a separate bedroom with a king sized bed. Outside of our room (from the balcony) we had a nice marina view. The bathroom seemed a little dated, but all in all we were happy. We did find out however in the morning that the marina is a very busy place as we listened to many loud boat motors starting around 5:30 am! I always bring earplugs for hotel use so it was not much of a problem for me. We did enjoy our balcony so we still felt that it was worth the boat launchings in the am. The pool looked nice we did not have a chance to use it. The fitness room is adequate with a few cardio machines and weights. No excercise balls or any other extras. All staff that we encountered were extremely friendly. The elevators in the main tower seemed to be very slow so we were happy that we actually weren't in the main tower after all. We had room service twice and they were efficient and the food was restaurant quality. We would stay here again if we got a good rate again. No complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2006

I booked this hotel after taking heed of the comments I read right here on trip advisor. lucky!

so when i booked through expedia, i expressly requested a room in the tower, as opposed to the two-floor "marina rooms," which according to trip advisor members smell like mildew!

the 8th-floor room was adequate, if a little basic. there was no mini-bar (or fridge), nor a safe in the room. there was, however, a coffee machine, which was a life-saver! the view was great, and we got to the seaworld fireworks each night at 9:50pm.

there were, indeed, renovations going on on our side of the tower, although this did not actually disturb our stay. maybe because we were out of the hotel for most of our two days there. it's five minutes away from seaworld, which was nice and easy.

the pool was a little on the small side, but seemed ok for our kids' needs. they also had a nice fish pond, which the kids enjoyed peering into and watching the big fish inside!

the service was courteous and helpful, and they had a computer at the reception desk which we used to do our online early check-in for LAX flights.

all in all, an average hotel. as long as you don't pay the high price, i would recommend it, as long as you request a tower room.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mamaziv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2006

We stayed at the Hyatt Islandia the week of July 24th, and the hotel was great. The service was excellent and every request we had was promptly taken care of. The hotel is going through renovation but it's on the outside, it wasn't an issue. Ask for a tower room so you can enjoy the views. We went to the beach in Coronado which is a 15 minutes drive and it was a great clean family beach as compared to the Mission bay beach where you will run into some shady characters. There is a beach within walking distance (over the bridge) but it's on the bay (no waves). Overall I would definitely recomment this hotel.

Stayed: July 2006
3  Thank golfnsail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We arrived late Saturday night when the Comic Con convention was in town. We had booked on Priceline for $160/night so expected the 'Garden view' or motel type rooms. When checking in I asked for an upgrade but was told all rooms were sold out due to the convention. Upon entering our 'garden' room I noticed a strong moldy smell but thought it might be due to the air conditioning not being very cool (It was hot and humid in San Diego). When I took off my shoes, I noticed the carpet was soaked near the doorway.

Back to the front desk I went and they found a room on the 15th floor that had had the carpets cleaned that day but we were told the had to be sure the carpets were dry before letting us have the room. After waiting a half-hour (we were tired but willing to wait) we got in the room. The room was nothing fancy, but the view was fabulous and allowed us to overlook a lot of room deficiencies.

I would have been very upset had I paid the 'rack-rate' or had we had to stay in the 'garden view' room. The guy in front of me paid $293 and the rack rate on Saturday night was $303. The rooms were average to below average, but we felt fairly satisfied with the rate we paid with the view we had. As mentioned in other posts, they were doing construction on other rooms balconies, but that did not affect us at all.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddbhia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

Beware.. this is place is so old and dirty..when you walk on the carpet your socks will be black from the dirt..The rooms are in very bad shape and the mildew smell is overwhelming....

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank jayzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

This hotel was a good value from Hotwire at 170 dollars a night, but it was not 3.5 star. We stay in the two story building next to the lobby and the room was old and stuffy. We had to air out the room by opening the patio door to a shared common deck. The bathroom was not as clean as it should be and noticed some streaks of fecal matter at the bottom of the tub. The bed was too soft and shakes as the other person gets into the bed. It almost feels like you were on the boat. Parking was not spacious for our SUV, but this is California after all.

I would recommend you stay somewhere else like downtown San Diego. In addition, the hotel did not offered any shuttle to SeaWorld and traffic was a nightmare when everyone tries to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#30 of 278 in San Diego
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton San Diego Bayfront
#75 of 278 in San Diego
4,957 reviews
Mission Bay Park
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
Paradise Point Resort & Spa
#150 of 278 in San Diego
5,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#43 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $151 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing