We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, some not so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #147 of 279 Hotels in San Diego
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Some good, some not so”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

First, the hotel is in San Diego. How can that be bad? Very waterfront and marina atmosphere, pools that are in a protected area with a slide, restaurant/bar on the water and access to the best of mission bay - boats, boards, waverunners, paths and bikes.

Okay, now for the facilities. Stayed in the suites area so only have observations about those. Not great, heavily used rooms that are very much Embassy Suite remodels. Miniscule, unusable decks with upright chairs. A living room area with a marginal sectional and really nothing else. Bathroom that is as good as possible but, again, think Embassy Suites.

Not sure if this is an issue but housekeeping completely missed one of our rooms on one day and then entered inappropriately twice on the check out day. In fairness, they did over-emphasize our other room the next day.

All of the usual complaints about add-on charges but nothing really different here than any place else.

It was OK, definitely not great.

Room Tip: Can't really recommend any particular room. Might be better in the tower area but no guarantees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    917
    694
    425
    287
See reviews for
1,268
668
85
734
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (666)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Our family stayed at the Hyatt Mission Bay the first part of May for 3 nights. I reserved several Corner Suites on Club Level. Nicely appointed rooms and amazing views! The only drawback to the room, and it was minor, was the curtain that separated the bedroom from the Living Room. When I made the reservations, I assumed the bedroom would have a door. The hotel has a great location with three fun pools to choose from. My family loved the waterslides. As with any resort property, the resort fees and parking can be costly, but, I guess it's to be expected in a city like San Diego.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank TRIPSTER077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverdale, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The grounds are amazing, rooms were nice, and the service from every staff member was amazing! A great place to stay! Beds could have been a little more comfortable but bad. The pool area felt like an oasis. The kids loved the water slides.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank connieb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

First off, I must commend this hotel for its location. It's right in the heart of Mission Bay, with Sea World and Pacific Beach right around the corner. Also, the view from the hotel is either of downtown, or of the harbor. Not too shabby either way.
As for the hotel, I was rather impressed. The service was friendly and prompt, the room was spacious, modern, and had a large balcony. The continental breakfast had a lot of choices, all of which were delicious.
Lastly, and most impressively, was the grounds. I felt like I was in Jurassic Park when I first got there. A dense amount of palm trees among winding paths lead you everywhere you need to go. The pool area had a pool, two large slides with a pool, and a hot tub. This area also had a bar, where I got several craft brews from the area.
Another nice spot on the grounds was the restaurant, the Red Marlin. Their 'all you can eat' breakfast was literally the best breakfast I ever had. I shan't bother listing everything available, just know that it had everything one could think of for breakfast, and it all tasted high end.

In conclusion, my first trip out to San Diego was a great time, but it was greatly enhanced by choosing this hotel. The next time I vacate out to San Diego again, the Hyatt Regency of Mission Bay will surely get my business again.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend the tower. The balconies and views are well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The hot tub, pools and water slides were great. We loved the view and especially enjoyed having breakfast on the deck at Einstein bagels. The Hyatt was very convenient for our day at Sea World. We stayed in a suite which is perfect for families. We look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Laurie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2014

The second time my son's school has held its silent auction here and the first time we took advantage of the great group rate on the rooms. Loved everything about this hotel, especially the amenities. We would definitely come back here for a stay-cation!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cristina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed a couple of weeks ago as a surprise on a trip to San Diego. Super fast Check-in, very quick to deliver a crib and a great size room, we used the room as our home base during the day with our young son and were happy with the amount of room. The shower was as amazing as the views! Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eliza261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay, BW Premier Collection
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Hyatt Regency La Jolla
#8 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Pacific Beach
Tower23 Hotel
Tower23 Hotel
#7 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Property: Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, 32-inch flat screen televisions, iHome alarm clocks and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our multiple swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Hyatt Pure Spa, Blue Marble. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing