We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice secluded hotel with waterslides”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay
Ranked #156 of 286 Hotels in San Diego
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Very comfortable bed. We liked that our room was right off the small parking lot (parking is $$) but because the event tent was up, we were unable to park there every time and if there was an event while we were there, it would probably be pretty loud enough for me to ask for a different room. In addition, the view of the bay from our room was blocked by the enormous tent.

Otherwise a very nice, clean hotel in Mission Bay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TigerGirl805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,466 - 2,472 of 3,624 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

I could not say I had a perfect stay. But, it was pretty darn close. Pool and Spa area are very nice and the staff is very friendly. Very relaxing area and good view. Front lobby was super clean and front desk made check-in easy and even gave us a free breakfast voucher.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location was great. Very close drive to the beach. I'm not a huge fan of Hyatt hotels for a family because the lighting is bad & there is no dresser to put clothes in. The pools were great but there is so much wind by the pool area. They said it is always windy in that area, however the other pool area was not as bad. The staff was great. They didn't have an upgrade, so they didn't charge me for my dog staying in the room. Really appreciated that.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Location of marina is beautiful and lobby looks great until you actually enter the property. Rooms need makeovers, the pools are overcrowded and the atmosphere is a Motel6.
I saw multiple weddings here during my stay and the wedding party was literally getting trampled over by kids in swim gear running in the lobby in/out of the bathrooms. The pool area is filled with beer guzzling men and women who allow their kids to run wild- hotel staff seem to act as if it's normal for kids to be jumping, and adults to be in the pool with beer cans. Someone actually defecated in the pool!! Additionally, I asked to switch rooms 3x due to multiple issues with what I reserved and the room they offered. Cleaning service does not show up until 3-4pm each day (and, we had to call and request it!).
Not relaxing at all. Would not allow my child to swim in pool because the odor was so offensive.
On Site Dining - Red Marlin and Swim were nice and the staff polite and courteous. Too bad the rest of the hotel is so awful.
The spa advertises it's "world class" but the windows face a bustling, busy pool with children screaming. Although, the spa personnel (Angie and Murina) were fantastic. I did have two treatments and they were professionals.

Room Tip: Tower Rooms facing the pool have a wonderful view at sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kimmypul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is while not right downtown is still a great place to stay when doing business or visiting San Diego. Set right at Mission Bay views from the Tower Rooms are excellent if facing west. Great place to watch the sunset on a clear day.

Rooms are typical Hyatt comfortable and clean. Hotel grounds are not expansive but there is a nice pool area in the center of the property. Hotel is set on a Marina and there are lots of boats to check out. Great location if you are going to Sea World!

This is one of my favorites in San Diego.

Room Tip: Get a tower room facing the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFLOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here for a family staycation in August of 2013. The rooms are nice. A little small but that is typical for the beach so it didn't bother us. The rooms overlooking the parking lot happen to get a spectacular view of the Sea World fireworks, it was our own firework show!
The pool is perfect for kids and adults. Our 3 years old loved the little waterslide that she could go down all by herself. The "bigger kid" slides were fun too! Downside is that pool area tends to get a little windy. The hotel is right on the pier overlooking the bay and there is a little rental place walking distance from the hotel that you can rent paddle boats, SUP, and kayaks. Bonus, there is an einsteins bagels walking distance as well. The walk along the pier is nice and you can spot fish, sea lions and starfish. The food at the SWIM restaurant (in pool) was really good for your typical pool food. I ordered the fish tacos and they were outstanding. There is another restaurant (Marlin) on the hotel property as well. I did not eat there but heard from my husband that is was very good. Whatever you do, do not mosey down the pier to the "best fish and chips in town" place. It was beyond horrible. It is not even sub par. Do not eat there.
Overall, it was a great weekend to explore our city which we already love!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pawji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

First of all I'm a hug fan of the Hyatt Resorts and was a little disappointed with this resort. The resort is located on Mission Bay in a Marina that's really beautiful. At night you can hear the seals in the Marina barking. Also, the pool area was really awesome with mutiple pools, waterslides and at night they have a open fire pit to roast Marshmellows for the Smores (extra $ at one of their bars). However, the rooms themselves need to be be updated. Also, the location is very close to Sea World: I believe they run a boat shuttle during the summer to it. Although it's location is not located in the center city of San Diego. It's about a 10 - 15 minute drive to the center. There are many options in San Diego, I've already booked the Manchester Hyatt in San Diego for 2014. I was disappointed with this resort b-c the rooms were not up to the Hyatt standard.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelsWFamilyAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Diego hotels
Mission Bay Park
The Dana on Mission Bay
The Dana on Mission Bay
#45 of 286 in San Diego
2,503 reviews
Downtown
Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mission Bay Park
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
Hilton San Diego Resort & Spa
#104 of 286 in San Diego
3,376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Mission Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Mission Bay

Address: 1441 Quivira Road, San Diego, CA 92109-7805
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Diego > Mission Bay Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in San Diego
#41 Luxury Hotel in San Diego
#75 Business Hotel in San Diego
Price Range: $166 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Mission Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Spa and Marina is located in the heart of San Diego, Mission Bay. The hotel offers casual elegance in the heart of Mission Bay Aquatic Park with panoramic views and superior service. Our 429 appointed guestrooms feature Hyatt Grand Beds, flat screen televisions and panoramic views of the Pacific Ocean and Mission Bay. Experience the thrills of our award winning swimming pools and water slides, take a stroll to the world famous SeaWorld San Diego located less than a mile off property, or relax in the tranquility of our Blue Marble Spa. To indulge your culinary senses, let our staff serve you in our waterfront restaurant Red Marlin or head over to SWIM and enjoy light fare and cocktails by the pool. The Hyatt Regency Mission Bay strives to provide the highest level of guest service and comfort. From the moment you arrive, our staff will welcome you to our hotel and treat you with unparalleled attentiveness to ensure that every stay exceeds your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Mission Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Mission Bay Hotel San Diego
Hyatt Regency San Diego
Hyatt San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing